We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
173
22
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
22
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests at home cape vidal st lucia before dinner game drives great place to stay beautiful garden night stay gated community every evening fantastic hosts stayed here for nights lovely breakfast comfortable room game park friends and family
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2018

Service is excellent. Breakfast and dinner outstanding. Management and staff very friendly and helpful. Location close to other tourist attractions - Cape Vidal, Bird Park etc. Cannot wait to return for our next visit.

Room Tip: You will not be sorry if you choose Wendy's Country Lodge.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank henrypozyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

I've stayed at Wendy's for both work and pleasure, and have been so sad to leave after each visit. The rooms are comfortable, gardens green and lovely, and food delicious. Most of all, Jenny and her wonderful staff make guests feel so at home -- arranging details of your stay beforehand, making sure everything is comfortable throughout, and providing recommendations for nearby spots to visit on your onward journey. Wish we could have stayed much longer!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jakane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

Our first time at Wendy's Country Lodge and hopefully not our last. We were on our way from Durban to Tembe Elephant Park and this makes for a great break. Gavin and Jenny are friendly and enthusiastic hosts who help make your stay as rewarding as possible. Gather round the bar in the evening before dinner and Gavin creates a 'party' atmosphere where guests soon become friends. In fact all the staff are very friendly and are a great team. Dinner on our second night was rudely interrupted by a storm but the staff quickly moved us all inside with no fuss (by the way the gardens are a lovely place to take dinner and a glass of wine). Wendy's is a clean and comfortable guest lodge and we would heartily recommend a stay if you are in that area.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank robandrosanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

Super comfy beds and lovely breakfast
Helpful caring staff
30 min from St Lucia tho we were told 20 and it’s not great driving back from St Lucia after 6.15pm. Road is dark and drivers aren’t the best
Accommodation is basic and clean
Yucky Persian style carpets next to beds give us the creeps
Bathrooms old
Don’t book excursions through the lodge if you are from SA - google them yourselves

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

You won't get a warmer welcome than at Wendy's Country Lodge in Mtubatuba plus the food is delicious and well presented. Gavin and Jenny Udal are wonderful hosts.
Wendy's is perfectly positioned for visiting Umfolozi/Hluhluwe, Isimangaliso, Cape Vidal, St Lucia, etc, etc or as a stop-over when travelling to Tembe Elephant Park or Mozambique. Gavin is a very knowledgeable tour guide and can take you to any of the local parks.
Wendy's is positioned in Riverview on the outskirts of Mtubatuba in a secure gated community. The garden is fabulous and full of birds and there is a pool for the hot Zululand days.
We have no hesitation in recommending Wendy's Country Lodge.

Room Tip: We had a suite with its own patio. Lovely to sit out on with an early morning coffee or tea and listen to the birdlife.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews