We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
174
22
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
22
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests at home cape vidal st lucia before dinner game drives great place to stay perfect hosts beautiful garden night stay gated community every evening stayed here for nights lovely breakfast game park hippo tour very nice stay
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2017

We stayed here for 6 nights. Lovely accommodation in a gated community, ideally situated for the Wetlands and Hluhluwe Imfolozi Game Park. The owners Jenny and Gavin run a very friendly establishment, meeting guests every evening in their bar giving the opportunity to meet the other guests and discuss the days adventures. We made lots of friends over our stay. Food delicious. Very kindly they sourced sugar free desserts for my diabetic husband. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Marilyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendys123, Owner at Wendy's Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Thank you very much Marilyn. We had so much fun with the 4 of you and appreciated your evening "help" with refreshments! :-)
Hoping to see you back sometime soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

We were pleasantly surprised about the friendliness of all staff members and the hosts. Jenny was a constant help and the game drive with Gavin was an absolute highlight.
The room was clean and spacious with a covered seating area to chill and relax. The dinners were superb, always served with a smile. The breakfast was various and filling. I loved the subtropical garden and the cats of course. We’ll be back for sure and can highly recommend this guest lodge.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Helga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendys123, Owner at Wendy's Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Thank you very much Helga.
We loved having you here and enjoyed our many garden chats.
Together with Mpika and Luna we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

Just a treat all round. From original correspondence in terms of booking and sorting things out to arrival and booking in to closing out. All handled very professionally by a team of people dedicated to ensuring that their guests had a great time. And great bedroom with air con that worked, clean facilities and the most AMAZING FOOD, as in beautifully presented, great tasting and decent portion sizes. Any issues? Yep..... wifi was very poor in my bedroom and ok in the main building near the office, but I gather it is being upgraded in the new year. We managed to go on safari, the team made all the arrangements and they were perfect

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank TedS582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Great personal service from hosts Jenny and Gavin. All staff incredibly friendly and accommodating. The food is always fantastic. Rooms all have a great deal of charm and are spotless and well appointed. Never a bad experience. Set in wonderful gardens. Look forward to returning whenever possible.

Room Tip: Have stayed in at least 4 different rooms at various times and loved them all. Each had its own charm.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank gavinmc204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

We are having a wonderful stay at Wendys. Jenny and Gavin are amazing hosts, so accommodating for our late arrival but we are super glad we made the effort in the dark. Lovely breakfasts, super comfy beds but so nice to have a chat in the bar and share experiences. Very helpful with arranging tours in the area

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank janeyshana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews