We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Protea Hotels
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
334raven
Durban, South Africa
Average Hotel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Feb 2020
En-route to the hotel, you travel on gravel which will cast some doubt in your mind on weather you are lost or have taken a wrong turn. We stayed close to the main reception so on route to the pool felt it is was miles away. Room is basic with NO bar fridge. The shower has no privacy apart from a see through glass door, felt a bit weird.
Date of stay: February 2020
Room Tip: If you enjoy swimming ask for a room close to the pool but it can get noisy.
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Vio.com
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
4.0 km from Protea Hotel Umfolozi River
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
4.2 km from Protea Hotel Umfolozi River
Free Wifi
Free parking
Beautiful garden outside the rooms. We were getting ready to attend a wedding
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 1 700
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 700
  • eDreams
    R 1 700
4.0 km from Protea Hotel Umfolozi River
Bar/Lounge
eDreams
    4.0 km from Protea Hotel Umfolozi River
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    getlstd_property_photo
    Vio.com
      3.6 km from Protea Hotel Umfolozi River
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Booking.com
      R 950
        6.1 km from Protea Hotel Umfolozi River
        Free parking
        Pool
        Booking.com
        R 842
        No prepayment needed
        • Agoda.com
          R 842
        6.1 km from Protea Hotel Umfolozi River
        Booking.com
        R 1 392
        • Priceline
          R 1 392
        • Agoda.com
          R 1 392
        • Vio.com
          R 1 389
        6.1 km from Protea Hotel Umfolozi River
        Free Wifi
        Free parking
        Booking.com
        R 2 346
        No prepayment needed
        • Priceline
          R 2 346
        • Agoda.com
          R 2 346
        • Vio.com
          R 2 341
        26.9 km from Protea Hotel Umfolozi River
        Free Wifi
        Free parking
        Room with King Size bed and bunker bed.  Can change to Single beds.  Suitable for 2 adults 2Chil
        Booking.com
        R 1 400
        Fully refundable
        No prepayment needed
        • Priceline
          R 1 400
        • Agoda.com
          R 1 400
        • Vio.com
          R 1 397
        27.0 km from Protea Hotel Umfolozi River
        Free Wifi
        Free parking
        View more hotels in Mtubatuba
        Reviews (139)
        Filter reviews
        139 results
        Traveller rating
        20
        60
        40
        15
        4
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        More languages
        Traveller rating
        20
        60
        40
        15
        4
        See what travellers are saying:
        Selected filters
        Filter
        Updating list...
        1 - 6 of 139 reviews
        Reviewed 12 February 2020

        This hotel was a great disappointment. There is no braaing allowed, No safes in the room. Besides for the pool there was nothing to do. Our bed underneath had spider webs and was dirty from previous occupants. (sweet wrappers). Our room had no privacy two queen beds with no wall for the toilet and shower. just the glass doors. Also the website said kitchenette with silverware . We had 1 teaspoon for 4 people and only 2 cups and a kettle.

        Date of stay: January 2020
        Thank Fatz26
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 17 January 2020

        I arrived with the expectation to see the river from the hotel – or at least have a view of the river from the rooms or dining area. No such luck! But, what I did get at the hotel was a spacious and clean room, well maintained and situated amongst trees, beautiful gardens and a serene atmosphere. Complimentary wi-fi did not reach my room – but the signal is strong in the dining room and reception area. The hotel offers a decent size pool and nice pathways for walks. Bar service was not great – to the extent that I felt sorry for the barman who tried to cut a lemon on a saucer using a knife taken from the dining room! Check in was easy with a friendly receptionist.
        Breakfast was served without any issue –not a buffet due to the limited number of guests, but I could order standard breakfast items from the menu. Check out was smooth. Overall, a good experience and recommended.

        Date of stay: January 2020
        • Trip type: Travelled on business
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        2  Thank ADavis1977
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 8 October 2019

        This location was a little weird in that it seemed to only be accessible via a fairly rural dirt road.

        We checked out the pool before heading back to our room. It was a sizable property, so it turned into its own mini-adventure.

        Our previous Protea stay had been a lot nicer. This hotel did not offer in-room Wi-Fi, but it was really the bathroom area that was most questionable. The toilet was not fully enclosed. There was an opaque glass door concealing the toilet, but it was completely open at the top.

        The shower area was directly next to the beds, and the glass shower door would leave you completely exposed to anyone casually walking through the room. This was definitely a consideration as we discussed ordering room service!

        My husband didn't want to go back out for dinner since there was a gate guard that we had to interact with to enter or leave the property, which added an extra level of annoyance. We checked on food options, and the buffet dinner was $20 USD a person, which is definitely not a good value for us. We checked on room service options, and mu husband had the most frustrating conversation with the guy on the other line. Apparently, some of the menu items weren't actually available anymore, which was the first piece of confusion, then there was a long drawn out conversation about chips v. crisps as we tried to determine whether we were getting what we would commonly know as french fries or not. My husband was about to ask him to describe the shape of the potatoes lol.

        I made sure to finish showering by the time the room service guy showed up with our vegetarian penne pasta, chips with ketchup and vinegar, and fruit slices with ice cream. Somehow there was confusion, and we were brought double ice cream, but we made sure that was taken off our bill.

        Date of stay: November 2018
        Thank tab_wl
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 1 June 2019 via mobile

        As you walk into reception you are greeted by very friendly and professional staff. You feel at home immediately.
        The rooms are modern and spacious and very impressive. A nice hotel to get away from the city and just relax. Also perfect for international tourists.

        Date of stay: June 2019
        Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        Thank Alanjustin
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 4 April 2019

        This hotel was an over-priced disappointment. Despite its name the hotel is not near the river - so any romantic notions of a view over the Mfolosi river were quickly dispelled. On checking in I was told that I had only booked the room (which was quite expensive) and that if I wanted breakfast I would have to pay extra. On asking how much I was told R190 - in my view this is sheer daylight robbery. I declined the breakfast. On entering my rather spartan room I was greeted with an overwhelming smell of some cleaning fluid or freshener spray - very unpleasant, and if you have any chest allergies or conditions you are likely to suffer. The decor is old and tired looking and the bathroom - which had a musty smell - is in need of serious refurbishment. My colleague and I decided to have dinner in the restaurant - and selected what on the menu was called a Turkish Vegetable stew with cocunut milk and savoury rice. What arrived after almost an hour was a few vegetables cooked in a packet tomato sauce - no sign of cocunut milk, spices or anything else even vaguely reflecting Turkish cuisine - plonked on top of a pile of plain boiled rice. We attempted to eat this sad tasteless concoction but gave up after a few mouthfuls and asked to see the manager. She came to the table and listened to our complaint - but could only offer the excuse that the chef was off-duty. This is badly managed over-priced hotel with absolutely nothing to recommend it - to be avoided.

        Date of stay: April 2019
        • Trip type: Travelled on business
          • Location
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Thank philip819
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        View more reviews