We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden route stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Post House Country House
Ranked #1 of 7 Greyton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Quaint and quirky hotel in great backwater location from the Garden Route. Excellent staff, clean rooms, excellent breakfast. We also enjoyed our short stay in Greyton with it’s excellent pub with a microbrewery.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank macdonaldgerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2018

We booked for 3 nights, and eventually extended to 4 as we had such a pleasant time. The rooms are well appointed around a massive king size bed that is truly comfortable. The Inn provides a good breakfast menu, and is really well cooked and prepared. There are also some cold buffet items. The pub was old and historic, and a great place for a sundowner or nightcap. The other great thing about the Post House is its excellent location in Greyton. It is within easy walking distance of all the pleasant restaurants, as well as the market, OK and little shops. I would recommend it as a base to the charming and interesting village of Greyton.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveR13512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

We first visited The Post House 2 years ago. What a wonderful stay. This time, although nothing to really complain about, it seems to have lost lots of its charm and service levels. Previously service at the pool. No service at the pool. In fact only one other couple there but all used towels and empty bottles everywhere. We used the area for about an hour and a half with no one coming to clean up. Used towels and bottles just stayed there. Bar running out of supplies, no dinner. All in all not a recreation of the magic little place we visited 2 years ago. Pity.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

We booked for the week-end to celebrate our 5 year anniversary and we really surprised when we arrived and were upgraded to a luxury room and they had champagne ready for us in the room! The service was fantastic and the two ladies on duty for the week-end were so helpful and friendly and gave us all the info on what to do in and around Greyton. We can really not fault Post House on anything. We had a really good time and will definately go back.

Room Tip: The luxury room was fantastic - good size with everything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 489meganj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Charming stay at an old Post House renovated to an Inn, from the 1800's. Interesting, well worn quirky building filled with historical vibes situated in a pretty rose garden on the Main road of this beautiful quiet but vibrant Village. Loved it!
The staff were so friendly and helpful and welcoming it made our stay all the more enjoyable. The breakfast was of a high standard, in fact probably the best ever and they catered for VEGAN!. Their mid week special was a great deals and made it possible for us to experience this piece of history, we will be back!

Room Tip: The classic garden rooms are charming, spacious and private - lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank peacesoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePostHouse, Manager at The Post House Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear Peacesoul,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us this wonderful review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that we were able to help make the experience a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
The Post House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greyton hotels
0,1 km away
Old Potter's Inn and Brewhouse
7,7 km away
Oewerzicht
Oewerzicht
#1 of 11 in Greyton
337 reviews
0,3 km away
The Blue Door
The Blue Door
#5 of 11 in Greyton
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,1 km away
Via's Deli & Stay
Via's Deli & Stay
#4 of 7 in Greyton
14 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Post House Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Post House Country House

Address: 20/22 Main Road, Greyton 7233, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Greyton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Greyton
Price Range: R 2 072 - R 2 107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Post House Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Country House in Greyton, offering Bed and Breakfast to the discerning traveler. The property has 14 well appointed on-suite guest rooms and 1 family unit. The original building is beautifully restored and was declared a national monument in 1994. The property is typical of elegant old world country charm with modern comforts. Complimentary afternoon tea, an old world English pub, friendly staff and beautifully maintained gardens are just a few of the reasons our guests love to return. The Post House in Greyton, Overberg is within walking distance to art galleries, restaurants, the Saturday morning market and other local attractions. Greyton is a popular mountain biking and mountain biking destination and The Post House offers enthusiasts of both activities a place to rest after a day of outdoor activity. The property offers guests access to our unlimited 4Mbs wifi hotspot in the main building and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Post House Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing