We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect anniversary week-end away!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Post House Country House
Ranked #1 of 7 Greyton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2017

We booked for the week-end to celebrate our 5 year anniversary and we really surprised when we arrived and were upgraded to a luxury room and they had champagne ready for us in the room! The service was fantastic and the two ladies on duty for the week-end were so helpful and friendly and gave us all the info on what to do in and around Greyton. We can really not fault Post House on anything. We had a really good time and will definately go back.

Room Tip: The luxury room was fantastic - good size with everything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 489meganj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2017

Charming stay at an old Post House renovated to an Inn, from the 1800's. Interesting, well worn quirky building filled with historical vibes situated in a pretty rose garden on the Main road of this beautiful quiet but vibrant Village. Loved it!
The staff were so friendly and helpful and welcoming it made our stay all the more enjoyable. The breakfast was of a high standard, in fact probably the best ever and they catered for VEGAN!. Their mid week special was a great deals and made it possible for us to experience this piece of history, we will be back!

Room Tip: The classic garden rooms are charming, spacious and private - lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank peacesoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePostHouse, Manager at The Post House Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear Peacesoul,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us this wonderful review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that we were able to help make the experience a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
The Post House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

My 17 year old daughter and I stayed here for a getaway weekend. The accommodation was great and the staff really were excellent - polite, friendly and efficient. The first night and breakfast were great and we enjoyed our Saturday around town. In the afternoon we became aware there were a number of guests attending a wedding that evening and a bus arrived to collect them mid-afternoon - all fine. The bus arrived back at about 3:30am with drunken shouting in the street, the bus - Dup’s Transport apparently from Genadendaal - hooted on departure, turned around somewhere in the village and hooted again for good measure on passing the Post House. Then one of the guests showered for ages or ran a big bath and there was a deafening plumbing noise for about 10 minutes thereafter in my room by which time that was my night’s rest over. Weddings and drunken behaviour etc happen but why I am disappointed is that I discussed this all with the duty manager the next morning and she undertook to raise it with the owners but no one has seen fit to contact me since then - 5 days ago - even simply to acknowledge the unfortunate circumstances. A couple of days later I received the standard email requesting feedback so here it is. Great staff, questionable management/ owners. Take your chances with weddings and dodgy plumbing.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePostHouse, Owner at The Post House Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear Niel P

Thank you for taking time to review your stay. Greyton is such a lovely town and with an influx of visitors who all have a different agenda for a weekend away, accommodating this can be a challenge.

Despite it being a standard operating procedure, this incident was not brought to my attention and for this I apologize on behalf of my team. When I checked in with the Duty Manager after reading your review, she informed me that you had both agreed and accepted there was nothing she could have done about the noisy guests and as such she believed the matter was resolved.

I do hope the next time you visit Greyton your stay is wonderful and until then I wish you safe and happy travels.

Regards

Jacqueline Leatt
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile


It was our first visit to Greyton and the setting of the Posthouse was the perfect start.
The staff where great and always had a smile and accommodated the whole family
Breakfast was fantastic and the perfect way to start the day after a morning run in the reserve.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePostHouse, Manager at The Post House Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear John,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write this lovely review for us. We are pleased to hear that we were able to help make your visit to our beautiful town a memorable experience and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards
The Post House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

Had an incredible stay at this hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful . Room was very comfortable . Lovely heritage . The breakfast was Delicious.

I would highly recommend the post house. The price was reasonable

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank mrBarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePostHouse, Manager at The Post House Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Thank you for your feedback mrBarky and for visiting The Post House. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards
The Post House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greyton hotels
0,1 km away
Old Potter's Inn and Brewhouse
7,7 km away
Oewerzicht
Oewerzicht
#1 of 11 in Greyton
337 reviews
0,3 km away
The Blue Door
The Blue Door
#5 of 11 in Greyton
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,1 km away
Via's Deli & Stay
Via's Deli & Stay
#4 of 7 in Greyton
14 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Post House Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Post House Country House

Address: 20/22 Main Road, Greyton 7233, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Greyton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Greyton
Price Range: R 2 072 - R 2 107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Post House Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Country House in Greyton, offering Bed and Breakfast to the discerning traveler. The property has 14 well appointed on-suite guest rooms and 1 family unit. The original building is beautifully restored and was declared a national monument in 1994. The property is typical of elegant old world country charm with modern comforts. Complimentary afternoon tea, an old world English pub, friendly staff and beautifully maintained gardens are just a few of the reasons our guests love to return. The Post House in Greyton, Overberg is within walking distance to art galleries, restaurants, the Saturday morning market and other local attractions. Greyton is a popular mountain biking and mountain biking destination and The Post House offers enthusiasts of both activities a place to rest after a day of outdoor activity. The property offers guests access to our unlimited 4Mbs wifi hotspot in the main building and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Post House Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing