We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Post House Country House
Ranked #1 of 7 Greyton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Post House Hotel for two nights. Upon arrival, we were greeted by frindly staff and showed to our room. The size of the rooms are amazing and very tastefully decorated. The huge bed was a bonus which provided a perfect night's rest.
The hotel is very quaint, which fits in perfectly to the atmosphere of Greyton. Inside, there is a bar with a fireplace, and a lounge area for reading and relaxing with an addition fireplace which the staff kept going.
Breakfast was delicious with a wide variety to cater for all needs.
If ever we visit Greyton again, this will be our choice for sure

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 447mariuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePostHouse, Manager at The Post House Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Dear Mariuss,

Thank you so much for visiting and for your great feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff were able to help make your experience a memorable one! We look forward to welcoming you back to The Post House very soon.

Best Regards
The Post House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2017

We spent the night at the Post House with my family and had the most enjoyable stay. The atmosphere is so lovely - got the feel of an old hotel in a sleepy village. The staff are incredible and the room and surrounds had everything we needed. Our accommodation - the family room, was warm, cosy, great beds, had a lovely outside courtyard and was most comfortable. The only negative, which wasn't really a negative, is that this room is situated right next to the staff accommodation so they get up quite early in the morning to get started with the day and it did wake us up - not the children though. The breakfast was lovely and the staff really made us feel so welcome. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and we will most definitely be back. The wifi is not great at all, but maybe that was also a blessing...

Room Tip: There is only one family room, number 15. All the rooms look great though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CazK1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePostHouse, Manager at The Post House Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear Caz,

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff were able to help make your visit a memorable experience. Thank you for the lovely feedback, we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best Regards
The Post House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

When you are allocated a star rating does this happen once every ten years or once a year. Location 5 Stars, Staff 5 Stars. Thats where it ends. Cleanliness 1 Star, Comfort 1 Star,
The internet almost non existing, no TV or Music in the rooms. Four hangers for two people in a cupboard where the doors can't close. Leaks in the bathroom the floor is always wet. Carpets in the room was terribly dirty. Throw on the bed seem that it needs a good clean. Want to sit somewhere after dinner NOT at the hotel as they don't do dinner is non existing. Two seater very low coutch with another two seater wooden bench at a fireplace with a TV next to the ceiling. All this in a room the size of a shoebox. Please don't call yourself a hotel. That you are not. I will stop here but can
carry on for another hour. The ladies in the breakfast room were fantastic and very friendly. Cudos to them. Please clean the place and maybe the rest of the town and there people in the business of hospitality will catch on. The place called Via's is one of the worst eateries that I have seen in a long time and the staff is so fimilliare you would think we were family.

Room Tip: Stay in another town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leonard j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePostHouse, Manager at The Post House Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear Leonard

Thank you for your review. Star grading / property inspection is done annually (ours was done at the end of January 2017) and each year we are awarded stars accordingly. Year after year we have passed with flying colours and been awarded four stars. Unfortunately, none of these issues were brought to our attention during your stay and as such we could not remedy them. All your feedback will be used to help us improve, myself and the team are sincerely sorry your stay with us with less than perfect.
We hope that when traveling to Greyton again you will give us the opportunity to WOW you.

Until then I wish you safe travels.

Kind Regards

Jacqueline Leatt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

On arrival no one at reception after ringing the bell several times. Then 3 staff members came and left, asking the same question - you want to check in - YES Please - now? YES we said again, it's 4:00 PM are we to late or to early to check in ? We were told I'll show you your room. The lady walked pass us to a room , opened the door of the room and said, the key is in the door. Never introduced herself of tell us where breakfast is served - just the key is in the door - needless to say we felt soooooooo w-e-l-c-m-e !! The room was lovely decorated but very very small and the wardrobe is not at all practical - so narrow a normal hanger does not fit in it, you need to leave the door open if you want to hang cloths. The bathroom / toilet in a very small space together is also very uncomfortable. First night turn down service, then no turn down service for the remaining of our stay. Also, Tea/coffee/milk/sugar station not topped up at all, through out our stay. Towels were not replaced with fresh ones and we had to use the same towels for the entire weekend. (in winter (JUNE) and the towels did not dry in time if you shower in the morning and in the evening ) I informed the manager by E-mail a month in advance about dietary/allergy requirements but nobody knew anything about it. No apology. No one even attend to breakfast service on the first morning. No one to order coffee and we helped our self to juice. Hot breakfast took 1hour 15min - we were the only 2 guests at the time of arrival and 2 more guests arrived later. Had to ask for sugar, salt and pepper and a tea cup to drink tea from. Jazz and video playing at breakfast every morning we found irritating. We had to buy tea / milk and sugar in town to make tea in our room and the dirty cups were standing on the outside table in front of our room from 2:00PM till the next day at 10:45AM.

Room Tip: Very bad Wi Fi reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Willemien V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePostHouse, General Manager at The Post House Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Dear Willemien V

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback of your experience with us. Needless to say this review was a difficult one to read and I had to do a little investigation as to why your stay was less than perfect. Sadly you did not experience our usual high level of service, and attention to detail and myself and the team are sincerely sorry. I understand from the team that they tried their best to make you comfortable on arrival, set up a table for you in order enjoy your complimentary afternoon tea and although we had upgraded you to a luxury room on arrival, you requested a room closer to the hotel, which was one of our smaller classic rooms. I can only use this review as an opportunity to grow and learn from our mistakes.
If you ever find yourself visiting Greyton again please give us an opportunity to WOW you.

Sincerely,

Jacqueline Leatt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

We recently stayed at the Post House and received excellent service from the staff. Not only was the facilities amazing, the staff made us feel extremely welcome. They went out of their way to make us comfortable.

I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Greyton.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TVZ89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePostHouse, Manager at The Post House Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Thank you so much for visiting and for taking the time to post this lovely review for us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards
The Post House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greyton hotels
0,1 km away
Old Potter's Inn and Brewhouse
7,7 km away
Oewerzicht
Oewerzicht
#1 of 11 in Greyton
337 reviews
0,3 km away
The Blue Door
The Blue Door
#5 of 11 in Greyton
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,1 km away
Via's Deli & Stay
Via's Deli & Stay
#4 of 7 in Greyton
14 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Post House Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Post House Country House

Address: 20/22 Main Road, Greyton 7233, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Greyton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Greyton
Price Range: R 2 069 - R 2 104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Post House Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Country House in Greyton, offering Bed and Breakfast to the discerning traveler. The property has 14 well appointed on-suite guest rooms and 1 family unit. The original building is beautifully restored and was declared a national monument in 1994. The property is typical of elegant old world country charm with modern comforts. Complimentary afternoon tea, an old world English pub, friendly staff and beautifully maintained gardens are just a few of the reasons our guests love to return. The Post House in Greyton, Overberg is within walking distance to art galleries, restaurants, the Saturday morning market and other local attractions. Greyton is a popular mountain biking and mountain biking destination and The Post House offers enthusiasts of both activities a place to rest after a day of outdoor activity. The property offers guests access to our unlimited 4Mbs wifi hotspot in the main building and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Post House Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing