We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Post House Country House
Ranked #1 of 7 Greyton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2017

Service that goes back to the times when hoteliers were concerned about their guests, not just their money.
A perfect welcome from a bright and cheerful reception, a guide to our rooms and an explanation on the way about the history of the hotel and its facilities al got the weekend of to a great start. The room was immaculate, warm, cosy, crisp and clean. Its so difficult to to try and be objective when just all you ask for is attended to with such good grace and speed. Sitting in the cosy pub my wife asked the young lady behind the bar if it was possible to switch the channel from sport to a particular program she wished to see, not a problem and switched at the appointed time. After that the restruant and our meal was just sublime, 3 courses each for my wife and myself and one only complaint to think of, the Napolitain sauce on the Penne was to thin. But even that minor complain is being picky really. Brilliant meal, brilliant service and a wonderful atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank franka952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePostHouse, Manager at The Post House Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Dear Franka,

What wonderful feedback! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your oveall stay at The Post House and that we were able to help make your experience here, a memorable one. We do hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Best Regards
The Post House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2017

We were very excited to spend time at the Post House after 20 years. We last visited as students post a Tsitsikamma hiking trail. This time it was to celebrate birthdays and our 25th anniversary. We were so happy that the old world charm remained but that the facilities had been upgraded and modernized. Clean, neat, welcoming, home away from home, full of character. Delicious breakfast spread. Loved the muesli... The evening menu was a bit disappointing - not many choices and the specials did not change. Very friendly staff who seem to have all worked there for many years. Loved the personal touches and local hand-made chocolates on our pillows. We will be back - before 20 years. This time it was to rest - next time will be more adventurous and venture out to enjoy Greyton's trails. We also want to visit the beautiful garden nursery. Craft beer was awesome!

Room Tip: Corner room away from street was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NortjeCoetzeeOlivier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePostHouse, Manager at The Post House Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Dear NortjeCoetzeeOlivier,

Thank you so much for returning to The Post House for a visit! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience here and that we were able to help make your stay with us a memorable one. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best Regards
The Post House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

The location is great. Smack-bang in the centre of the small town of Greyton. So you can pretty much walk everywhere from here.

We stayed in one of the "outside" rooms. It was comfortable with a nice big bed & bath.
The Wifi connection good (by small town standards).
The staff was very friendly and the restaurant served delicious food (we ate there 2 nights in a row)

Their bar/pub has got character and was used as the set for the "Give that man a Bells" advertisement.

There is parking next to the main road.
We didn't experience any security issues.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePostHouse, Manager at The Post House Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Dear Ruan,

Thank you for staying at The Post House! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the wonderful feedback, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards
The Post House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Greyton is a great place, and what better place to stay at than the Post House. The hotel provides great value for money and is a combination of old world charm and upmarket comfort. The service is also excellent.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt20172017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePostHouse, Manager at The Post House Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Dear Matt,

Thank you so much for visiting and for your lovely feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the charm of our beautiful town. We strive for great customer service and our staff will be so happy with your feedback.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards
The Post House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

We stayed at The Posthouse in Room 1 for three nights, from Sunday 9th to Wed 12th April.

We were warmly greeted on arrival by a very friendly receptionist who booked us in quickly and were then shown to our room and everything was kindly explained. An offer was made to help with luggage, but we did not need help.The staff on arrival were exemplary and wonderful.

The room was pretty with fairly nice furnishings, if a little small. The bed was very comfortable with lovely linens. My problem was with the packing space, there were a few single drawers, for instance, on a dressing table and bedside and one drawer at the base of the wardroble. All drawers were difficult to use, they stuck, so that I nearly pulled the dressing table or bedside table over everytime I attempted to open or close the.drawer. The cupboard was pretty but totally impractical and there was simply not enough space to pack our things. It had a strange set of hooks where one had to hang the clothing so that it was hanging from front to back and not in a row so that it was difficult to find anything once it was packed away. Both my husband and my things had to be kind of jammed together. I don't know what we would have done if we had stayed longer. Room 6 has a better cupboard, two chairs to sit in and generally more packing space.

The room only has one comfortable chair to sit in and one teensy tiny little dressing table chair to do make up or hair, but not to sit and read.

the room had no table surface to write comfortably or do art which I had wanted to do.

There is a Tea and Coffee set up with litle biscuits to eat and a coffee plunger as well as instant coffee and various teas.

The shower had a nice shower head with a good water flow and lovely bath products, the towels were fresh and fluffy and everything worked but the shower room itself was VERY small. Perhaps we are a tad large but we had to move into the bedroom to dry ourselves off comfortably.
We have previously stayed in room 6 and that is better appointed with a larger bathroom.

We had booked for bed and breakfast, so we had breakfast everyday. It was fine, a fair if not extravagant choice. The waitrons were so kind and helpful except for the last morning when there was a change of staff and we were left staring out the window for half an hour while the waitron did her accounts. When I finally got up to ask her if the kitchen was perhaps closed, she was rude and agressive and I felt so upset that it actually spoiled the whole stay for us. We had thought we would like to return but that one waitron has changed our minds.

We had a few evening meals and they were fine but not exciting.The waitrons were without exception excellent, friendly and kind. The menu is small. I like the atmoshpere in the dining room where they play old Charlie Chaplin movies with light jazz accompaniment.

Other that the bad experience with the one waitron who is very rude and upsetting, I would recommend the Post House.

One more thing, there is no TV in the rooms. We knew this and wanted to just relax without noise so that suited us. There is TV in the bar.

Room Tip: I prefer room 6 to room 1 which is VERY small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank technobabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePostHouse, Owner at The Post House Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Dear technobabe,

Thank you for your comprehensive review of our property. I am so happy to hear that you mostly enjoyed your stay with us and that despite one incident with a waitron, you would recommend us. I will pass on the compliments to all the staff and have already addressed your review with the waitress that was on duty on the last morning you had breakfast with us.

I have also addressed the challenges you had opening and closing the draws with our maintenance team. Room 1 is a classic room and our classic rooms are not as spacious as our deluxe rooms (room 6). I only wish you had spoken to the duty manager about your packing woes and we would have solved the problem immediately. Once again thank you for your review and I wish you safe travels. Hopefully we will see you again soon and our staff and property will leave you wanting to return time and time again.

Kind regards
Jacqueline Leatt
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greyton
24,7 km away
Caledon Hotel, Spa, Casino
0,1 km away
Old Potter's Inn and Brewhouse
7,7 km away
Oewerzicht
Oewerzicht
#1 of 11 in Greyton
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,3 km away
The Blue Door
The Blue Door
#5 of 11 in Greyton
2 reviews
0,1 km away
No photo provided
Fiore Garden Centre
#7 of 11 in Greyton
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Post House Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Post House Country House

Address: 20/22 Main Road, Greyton 7233, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Greyton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Greyton
Price Range: R1 692 - R2 118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Post House Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Country House in Greyton, offering Bed and Breakfast to the discerning traveler. The property has 14 well appointed on-suite guest rooms and 1 family unit. The original building is beautifully restored and was declared a national monument in 1994. The property is typical of elegant old world country charm with modern comforts. Complimentary afternoon tea, an old world English pub, friendly staff and beautifully maintained gardens are just a few of the reasons our guests love to return. The Post House in Greyton, Overberg is within walking distance to art galleries, restaurants, the Saturday morning market and other local attractions. Greyton is a popular mountain biking and mountain biking destination and The Post House offers enthusiasts of both activities a place to rest after a day of outdoor activity. The property offers guests access to our unlimited 4Mbs wifi hotspot in the main building and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Post House Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing