We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
32
33
19
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
33
19
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering beer tasting sleepy town upstairs bedroom swimming pool would stay here again lovely weekend watching the world bed and breakfast attention to detail the cottages brewery pottery accommodation lap brewhouse establishment
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Our room (number 4) which was/is one of the most expensive that are on offer per website (Standard King) was extremely disappointing.
As soon as we walked into the room & pungent smell of damp hit us. We immediately opened the all of the windows (2) in the room & left them open.
Upon closer inspection of the room, we saw that the walls & ceiling were in actual fact moldy. This was extremely unpleasant to look it.
The smell of the room was positively nauseating & irritated my throat, sinuses & skin & I spent much of the night awake due to this.
The bathroom too, has no window (which is fine) however the ventilation is poor & mold is growing on the shower stone & the room itself smells of damp.
Luckily the bathroom has a proper sealing door which we could keep shut.

I was grateful & relieved that we had only booked for 1 night.

Room Tip: Dont choose room number 4 & check before booking if your room has mold or damp
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tgerntholtz, Owner at Old Potter's Inn and Brewhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016

Oh dear! So sorry to hear this. Ours is an 1850 monument and needs constant love and attention. Having said that, we do review our rooms regularly. We will attend to this problem immediately and would like to offer you a free night in our establishment in the room of your choice. Please contact me on tgerntholtz@gmail.com to resolve this
Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

We loved the accommodation, rather choose a cottage than a room, it's worth it. There pool area and gardens are beautiful, there is parking at the back which is a bonus. The breakfast was delicious, you can always tell a lot by the quality of coffee: top class!

The brewery is a highlight and loved the cycling trails in the area, we are so glad we stumbled upon Greyton!

I think the best part of the accommodation are there hosts, who are so chilled but really helpful, good people, thank you - we will be back!

Oh and if you book directly with them (they will give you the same rate as any website) plus they have a mid week special if you book two nights, you get the third for free!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tgerntholtz, Owner at Old Potter's Inn and Brewhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2016

Many thanks for your kind words! It was a total pleasure hosting you at our Inn and Brewhouse and hope to have you back again soon. Hopefully the beer will be ready in bottles then for you to take home and prolong the feeling!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016

The owners here are new and this is their first season. Greyton is an interesting place and the Old Potters adds to the village for sure. We went there for dinner. The menu is small but the food (we had steak) is good, as is the décor and cleanliness, and the pricing is good for any budget. The ales being brewed on site are worth trying and the brewer will provide you with small taster glasses of each.
Give it a go, these friendly owners deserve some support in their enterprise.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Very comfortable accommodation. Friendly reception. Breakfast sumptuous and very generous. Very centrally located and easy walk to all of Greyton. Small brewery on the premises. Host could have offered guests a free beer on arrival

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laufs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tgerntholtz, Owner at Old Potter's Inn and Brewhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

Hello there. Many thanks for the review and we are glad you enjoyed it. If you contact me on tgerntholtz@gmail.com, I will personally see to it that you get your free beer! Hope your stay was otherwise good

Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

I absolutely love this tranquil hotel with unique swimming pool, in the centre of this gorgeous little sleepy town. A week at this hotel and you will forget the outside world with all its trouble. The orginial paintings just make it all that more special. Definite place to stay again

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hamishrhaddow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews