We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We Loved Franks Cottage.”
other travellers have booked this property
Part of the welcoming committee.. They are always on the look out for visitors and carrots!!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Part of the welcoming committee.. They are always on the look out for visitors and carrots!!
Come join us...and relax :) 'Franks Cottage'
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Part of the welcoming committee.. They are always on the look out for visitors and carrots!!
Come join us...and relax :)
'Franks Cottage'
A peek at the newly designed twin bedroom
Country kitchen - seating for 6 and looks out into the green fields. HIghchair also available
The road outside the cottage - perfect for a walk or a cycle
The other part of the welcoming committee enjoying a sunny day
Traffic :)
Shower room - with electric shower
Utility room - with washer/dryer, cleaning supplies and hi-vis vests!
Relaxing by the fire with a glass of wine and a dvd!
The cosy sitting room with wood burning stove (including a starter supply of turf from our bog)
The double bedroom is roomy enough to add a single bed or a cot or toddler bed!
Lovely snow....
Can you find the pot of gold at the end of this rainbow?
The loft area of the sitting room.
Beach at Louisburg, Co Mayo
Enniscrone
Cliffs of Moher, Co Clare....do-able as a long day out (2 1/2 - 3 hour drive) well worth the visit
Strokestown Gardens
Beach at Enniscrone
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Charlestown, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Bongosong
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We Loved Franks Cottage.”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Franks cottage was perfect for us. We just wanted to have a few restful days away in Co Mayo and this was perfect. Okay its off the beaten track but easy to find and the shops are just 10 mins away. Charlestown has everything you need for shopping etc. We travelled to Swinford just down the road which we thought was excellent to. The cottage was well prepared for our arrival and the owner Seamus came to say hello from just next door the day we arrived. Can't fault the place. Ideal for anyone, even young children. The cottage has everything you will need. We will return another day and have no problem recommending it to anyone. We flew home today from Knock airport which is just 15 mins down the road. How cool is that. Well done Franks cottage. Another great place we have found to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We needed a quiet few days away and this was just right for us.
Liked least: Wifi was a little hit and miss. But hey we all spend to much time on the web anyway.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny R
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely relaxing break”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We are just back from staying here. This is a lovely cottage, well furnished with everything you could possibly need. It is located in a remote part of co.mayo which makes it even more charming if you are looking for a relaxing break. We didn't meet Judy but appreciated the scones left for our arrival. Seamus was a great host providing us with peat for the fire which smelt lovely. We especially enjoyed feeding the horse, cat and the donkeys every day. This cottage proved to be a great base to see the rest of Co. Mayo since the main road is just around the corner! We also received a lovely welcome at Davy's Bar and the best pint of Guinness ever!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen811
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A home from home - and a great base for travelling around Mayo, Roscommon and Sligo”
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I travelled with my husband and our 4 year old son. We stayed in Frank's Cottage for a week whilst visiting family who live in Mayo. We could have stayed with them, but we wanted somewhere as a base but also a comfortable home to relax, cook and spend quality time together as a family. It was ideal for us, and as my boys had never been to Ireland before we travelled around seeing beautiful sights such as Lough Key in Boyle, Strandhill beach and Sligo town, and the remote but breathtaking Achill Island. We also popped into nearby Swinford for lunch in the Gateway Hotel, which was a very filling and tasty carvery, and visited the National Museum of Ireland in Castlebar. We went into Charlestown to see family, get food from the Centra supermarket, and have a few pints in Johnny's Bar whilst watching the football. We even got a Chinese takeaway from the Golden Sea restaurant on our last night!
The cottage was comfortable, clean and the welcome basket a lovely touch. Plenty of beds to choose from for our son, but he opted for the small one in our room! Kitchen was a great size and plenty of cooking equipment including veg steamer, George Forman grill, etc. My husband had fun creating the turf fire every day! Seamus (we didn't meet Judy) was around if we needed him but very 'hands-off' which we really appreciated, so we felt like the cottage was 'ours' for the week. The horse, donkeys and cat were all friendly and enjoyed the odd carrot, apple or piece of chicken that was going spare!

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoneWieg...
Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Just like home”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We booked Frank's Cottage to stay in after we finished a ten-day tour of southern Ireland. After the last two days of the tour in Dublin we were more than ready to get to the countryside and Frank's Cottage. We arrived and were quick to meet Seamus, the owner with his wife Judy. Seamus had the turf fire going in a heartbeat.
The lovely stone exterior is deceiving as to the size of the interior, which is good sized and was quite perfect for us. The kitchen is huge and well stocked with cooking utensils, pans, bowls, etc.
Lovely views are out of any of the windows, and perfect to see if Sugar and Chip, the resident donkeys, are close to their gate. We enjoyed feeding them carrots and apples. We also fed the horse some treats too.
We have three cats back home and were missing them. Judy said no worries as they had four cats. We got our cat fix in with two of the cats.
Frank's has every possible thing you could want for a countryside cottage. There is a DVD/TV but who wants to watch a movie or television when surrounded by the beautiful Irish countryside?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgeeee...
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing Country Getaway”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Not knowing what to expect we arrived on Wednesday for a 2 night stay. The minute you park the car you relax. The cottage has everything you could possibly want and more. We had 2 children with us and they loved their stay. The quiet road was very safe for them and they liked the donkeys, horse and cats. The beds were cosy, the cottage is clean, the owners were friendly, there are DVDs for children and adults and board games. There is an open farm a few miles up the road which makes a lovely day out. Would go back again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;