We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We missed the house already at the airport”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of A beach front gem

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Beau Vallon, Mahe Island

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MadMac196...
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice big house”
Reviewed 26 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The house is very spacious and well decorated. We were just a family of four but the house can accommodate up to 8. It is right on the beach and near hotels and restaurants and grocery stores (everything within 10-15 minutes walk). Overall, it is a very nice place to stay.
However, I guess we were unlucky, because the person who usually look after the villa had to leave the island on the day of our arrival. We could not contact anyone and when we arrived, there wasn't anyone there. We had to wonder around for awhile before meeting the person who had the keys. Also, we had requested some very basic groceries to be there upon our arrival, but as the usual caretaker was not there this was not the case.
The house is well equipped, but not everything worked when we were there. For example, the home cinema was out of order and we had a hard time using the music system (once again, because the usual caretaker wasn't there).
The other little issue is that there is a Wifi, but you have to pay for it separately (you have to go to the store and buy the cards with codes). For the price, this could be included. It costs only a few Euros, so the price is not the issue, but it would be so much more practical if you didn't have to spend precious holiday time to go buy wifi cards.
Overall, I think this is a very good place if the usual caretaker is there. We just got a bit unlucky. I'd still recommend the villa for comfort and location.

Date of stay: November 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2017
Dear Guest
We are ever so sorry that Verlaine, pour lovely housekeeper had a medical emergency and had to fly to India, resulting in a wobbly start for you. The home Cinema and music system has now been fixed. It is hard to get parts on the island at times. We are delighted that we have recently been able to get unlimited internet access installed. Surprisingly, but happily, this has only recently become available for Holiday Villas through the main server Cable and Wireless. Another company did offer it but it was so painfully slow that the card system seemed the better of the two evils.
Thank you again for your feedback
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo V
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We missed the house already at the airport”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a very very nice stay at the house, it is truly beautiful, spacious and we enjoyed it to the max. We were traveling with 6 adults and a baby and it fitted perfectly

The house is located directly at the sea, it is a very impressive location. Because of this we could enjoy the sea and swimmingpool a lot. The house is very well maintained, there are people on a daily base to keep everything shining!

Unfortunately we had some bad weather and this pointed out the only disadvantage of the house, that was for us the WiFi. This works with prepaid cards and this was quite a hassle, it is difficult and unhandy. To our opinion there should be a conventional wireless network at the house.

Some extra glasses and plates would be handy as well when traveling with a big group (there were for instance only 5 glasses).

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious and comfort
Liked least: Difficult access to Wifi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Junwin123...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't have asked for better!”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed in this wonderful, bright, spacious home 10 metres away from the sandy beaches for 10 days in February and had simply the best time! The house was well equipped with spaces to relax and entertain. Large dining table made for perfect alfresco dining, outdoor sofa area meant relaxing out of the sun was easy too! Plenty of space to create lovely meals (we opted to have a chef some nights too and the food he created was delicious). There is a large projector for watching films and there is a built in speaker system to listen to music by the pool or anywhere in the house! Can't wait to return!! The only villa I would recommend on Mahe and I've been to many!! Also, super easy to arrange anything with the owners who were extremely friendly and helpful!

Date of stay: February 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Finland, Finland
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Date of stay: February 2015
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Loulou M
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Holiday house, Great location and fantastic interior”
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The house was great, a perfect place to enjoy a holiday with friends or with one or two families. The house was clean and airy and modern, bedrooms generously sized and well furnished, very comfy beds, air con, fans etc. Downstairs the open plan kitchen, living room was perfect for entertaining, with a table seating 14. Kitchen was well equipped. Outside patio was great place to relax in the breeze both day and evening and the built in speakers inside and out proved a great hit! The house is in a secure compound, seconds from the beach and in a great vibrant area.

Date of stay: February 2015
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing