We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“THIS PLACE IS INCREDIBLE & EXCEEDED ALL...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Castara, Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Kate M
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“THIS PLACE IS INCREDIBLE & EXCEEDED ALL EXPECTATIONS”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We travelled as a group of 9 of us and our stay was honestly one of the best ten days I have ever had!

We arrived, in the evening to such a nice welcome, the house looked beautiful with lit candles, fresh flowers and the lit up pool. The house, pool, outdoor bar and huge garden were so gorgeous we spent a lot of our time just hanging out there very content!

The other amazing thing about this place is that it is 5 minutes away from Englishman's Bay which is definitely one, if not the best beach on the island - its so tranquil and chilled!

Would highly recommend staying here to enjoy the paradise of beautiful Tobago!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcJ17
Paris, France
2 reviews
“Exceptional villa and great staff”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed at the villa for one week as a group of 6 friends from France and French Guiana and we are still amazed by this villa overlooking the phenomenal beach of Englishman bay and the great village of Castara!
High standards and charming swimming pool in this villa.
A special thanks to Glynnis,Adam and Django for their kindness!
Please come to visit the "magnifique" island of Tobago, especially Castara and its vicinity!

Marc ( Paris, France)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa,swimming pool and staff
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndale, Michigan
Reviewed 8 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gaden and pool.
Liked least: No internet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cecib1863...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heaven; beautiful villa in peaceful surroundings”
Reviewed 22 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We couldn't have had a better time staying at the wonderful Tanager Villa. The house itself is hugely comfortable with lots of room for a large group to have their own space or indeed, spend time together. Based in a Nature Reserve, the villa offers all guests exceptional and uninterrupted peace. Sitting on the balcony watching the sunset was an great treat, as was walking into the tropical gardens to pick bananas for breakfast smoothies and fresh limes for evening cocktails. 5 minutes from the beach, Jango, the gardner, took us on a great fishing trip returning with fresh tuna for the bbq. The owners were a pleasure to deal with, the pick up from the airport was smooth, renting cars made so easy, nothing was too much hassle. I wouldn't hesitate but to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful surroundings
Liked least: mosquitos but that was all of Tobago, less mosquitos as Tanager than down in the town
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khalid A
London
1 review
“A beautiful, secluded slice of genuine paradise away from the gazes of anybody's eyes”
Reviewed 13 February 2012 for a stay in August 2010

On landing in Tobago I have to say I was quite apprehensive about getting to the house after such a long flight. However we were met at the airport and driven about half an hour along stunning coastal roads revealing postcard bays and typically Caribbean villages. We were transported up a hill and through a gate and we'd arrived at a beautiful sprawling house surrounded by Tobagan jungle. The sounds of the birds and animals immediately put me at ease. The house itself is separated into the main house and another annex . The main house opens out onto a swimming pool and a small outside bar, perfect for mixing a few rum cocktails and fruit punches when the sun sets. The annex which has a large bedroom and a bathroom has a wonderful balcony view over the rolling jungle which descends from the house. All of the house was clean and the kitchen and bathrooms were ample good enough for anyone's needs. The local village of Castara is a colourful, typical fishing bay with a jetty reaching out into the water and a couple of shops where you can stock up on local groceries. If you want a day out on the beach be sure to take a trip to Englishman's Bay - five minutes by car or about fifteen minutes by foot from the house- you won't be disappointed! All in all, I would highly recommend a stay at Tanager Ridge, I can assure you that it's a place that will stay with you for a lifetime...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing