We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Theona S
Santa Barbara, California

Fantastic experience!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 08 May 2024
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our 2-night stay at Desert Quiver Camp and did not want to leave. The setting in the middle of the desert was stunning, and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. We would not hesitate to stay here again!
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taleni Africa, Owner at Desert Quiver Camp, responded to this review
Responded 08 May 2024
Dear Theona,
Thank you for the fantastic ratings and review!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed our unique Desert setting, the friendly service you received from our staff and your overall experience!
Looking forward to welcome you back for a longer visit next time!
Best wishes,
The Desert Quiver Camp Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
  • Priceline
3.7 km from Desert Quiver Camp
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.2 km from Desert Quiver Camp
Free parking
Pool
R 5 475
R 4 641
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 475
  • Hotels.com
    R 5 460
39.9 km from Desert Quiver Camp
Free parking
Pool
    59.5 km from Desert Quiver Camp
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    R 10 172
    R 9 326
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • Hotels.com
    22.1 km from Desert Quiver Camp
    Free parking
    Pool
    R 7 449
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      R 7 449
    3.6 km from Desert Quiver Camp
    Free parking
    Pool
    R 3 815
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    • Expedia.com
      R 3 815
    21.6 km from Desert Quiver Camp
    Free parking
    Pool
    View more hotels in Sossusvlei
    Reviews (398)
    Filter reviews
    398 results
    Traveller rating
    254
    111
    26
    2
    5
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    254
    111
    26
    2
    5
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews sossusvlei lodge self catering park entrance pool and bar area breakfast and dinner same company air conditioning magnificent view great sunset close proximity braai area amazing place a great place to stay bbq fridge reception camp
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 398 reviews
    Reviewed 20 February 2024

    The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful.
    Had a great 2 night stay.
    Room comfortable and cool.
    We self catered using the 2 ring plugin electric hob and braai. A box of crockery can be collected from reception for a N$300 deposit.
    Late afternoon at the pool is bliss. They provide towels.
    My only recommendation would be for a shaded parking for car.
    The camp is 5min drive to the Park gate.
    From gate to Sossusvlei is approx 60km. There is a speed limit of 60 but certainly heading out to the dunes the av speed was 100!!!

    Date of stay: February 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Guide03828180319
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Taleni Africa, Owner at Desert Quiver Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2024

    Thanks so much for the superb rating and review!
    Delighted that you enjoyed our location, the comfortable cool rooms, the self-catering facilities and the relaxing pool area!
    We look forward to welcome you back again!
    Best wishes,
    The Desert Quiver Camp Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 10 February 2024 via mobile

    A great place to stay with the park nearby. Staff is always friendly and helpful. However I do have suggestions to improve. Have multiple bins for recycling the trash instead of one big bin (at least near reception as in your other lodge). Install solar Panels so you become independent which would be very easy at that location and with aircon on 24/7 that is a must in my eyes. Else all good 👍

    Date of stay: February 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Hans L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Taleni Africa, Owner at Desert Quiver Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2024

    Dear Hans,
    Thank you for the fantastic rating and feedback!
    Very pleased that you enjoyed our location and the friendly service you received from our staff!
    We already have a huge solar plant closer to Sossusvlei Lodge which we put back into the grid exceeding consumption of our properties in the area. Will look into your bin suggestion.
    Looking forward to welcome you back again!
    Best wishes,
    The Desert Quiver Camp Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 21 January 2024

    Excellent place to stay on your journey through Namibia. We stayed here for 2 nights. The chalets are very clean and beautiful and most of all very spacious. As we have teenagers we had to rent two houses, next to each other which was perfectly fine. From the camp you can easily get to the Dunes, though be aware that you can't enter the park before sunset (little mistake from my site). However, for us this was fine.
    We also book the early morning walk wit a guide, which was absolutely amazing to search and find little criters. As it is winter in July/August don't expect to find much

    Date of stay: August 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank 80michelk
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Taleni Africa, Owner at Desert Quiver Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2024

    Dear Michel,
    Thank you for the wonderful ratings and feedback!
    Glad you enjoyed our spacious clean accommodation units and the morning walk!
    We look forward to welcome you back again!
    Best wishes,
    The Desert Quiver Camp Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 January 2024

    Our family of 5 spent 2 nights in 3 of these self-catering huts which are very simple, clean and well constructed. The kitchen set up is outside and we borrowed the kitchen kit so that we could cook for a few days to take a break from all the fancy lodge food that we had been eating. The ACs worked fine in the extreme heat of the summer and the pool was lovely in the afternoons. WiFi only works at the bar but you can hang out there all afternoon to have internet. Just 2-3 km from Sessriem and the entry gate to Sossussvlei but much more scenic spot to stay with the rock outcroppings.

    Date of stay: December 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank KimShum
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Taleni Africa, Owner at Desert Quiver Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2024

    Dear Kim Shum,
    Thanks so much for the excellent ratings and review!
    We are very pleased that you enjoyed our scenic location, the AC for the heat, refreshing pool, the bar area and our equipped self-catering facilities!
    Looking forward to welcome you and your family back during your next visit to Sossusvlei!
    Best wishes,
    The Desert Quiver Camp Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 December 2023 via mobile

    Super cool place to stay. In the middle of the desert, huge rooms and a !!pool!!! which was very welcome after a day out in the sun. I would definitely recommend this to my friends. Staff was welcoming and the location was great, just try to arrive when the sun is out

    Date of stay: March 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank KK352
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Taleni Africa, Owner at Desert Quiver Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2023

    Dear K K,
    Thank you for the superb rating and recommendation!
    We are very pleased that you enjoyed our location, the spacious rooms, pool and service you received from our staff!
    Looking forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Sossusvlei!
    Best wishes,
    The Desert Quiver Camp Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews