We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveller rating
163
84
15
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
84
15
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor kitchen sossusvlei lodge self catering swimming pool park entrance ordering food toilet door open plan dune tour breakfast and dinner body wash bar prices are bit crowded special spot booked out power outlets this place is amazing
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 263 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018

A beautiful spot close to everything you need. Beautiful rooms with everything you need for self-catering options. There are animals on the reserve that walk past your room as well as fabulous communal facilities. We absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WhitneyG180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Desert Quiver Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Dear Whitney,
Thank you for the superb rating and review! We are delighted that you enjoyed our units, the communal facilities as well as the roaming wildlife on our reserve,.
Looking forward to welcome you back!
Best wishes,
The Desert Quiver Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

Slept well and no hazzle checking in or out. Wifi at the bar. Only hazzle was that we had to go to a neighbouring site (Sossusvlei Lodge) to have breakfast and dinner. In hindsight we feel we might have enjoyed the selfcatering more as the other lodge felt a bit crowded / que based for meals. As we booked via an agent we didn't get the option to do self-catering. The roads in this area is quite bumpy.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kurt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Desert Quiver Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Dear Kurt,
Thank you for the great rating and review. Glad you enjoyed your stay, the wifi at the bar and the friendl;y service you received from our staff.
Looking forward to welcome you back for some self-catering during your next visit to Sossusvlei!
Best wishes,
The Desert Quiver Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018

This place is really incredible, as it is situated in the middle of the desert. I will never forget the extraordinary desert sunrises and sunsets here. The chalets are also incredibly comfortable and well-designed, with excellent facilities and hot running water despite being in the middle of the desert!

There is also a lovely pool next to the beach bar, where you can watch the sun setting with your feet in the pool - just an incredible experience. Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stephanie2743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Desert Quiver Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Dear Stephanie,
Thank you for the superb rating and review! Delighted that you enjoyed our well-designed chalets, the pool and bar area as well as the extraordinary sunsets and sunrises!
We are looking forward to welcome you back!
Best wishes,
The Desert Quiver Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

We stayed at Desert Quiver Camp for two nights. Upon arrival we were greeted by fabulous staff who were the most hospitable we encountered in Namibia - they were helpful in providing information on visiting the national park and genuinely enthusiastic about camp.

We were accommodated in chalet 13, the closest to reception. Furnishings were modern and to a reasonable standard, with functioning power outlets and air conditioning. Unfortunately, we found the hot water to be a slight issue as its only hot for about ten minutes; naturally, this isn't a huge deal, but certainly an area for improvement.

The camp is conveniently located about 5 minutes drive from the entrance gate to Namibia-Naukluft National Park. Taleni Africa, the company who run the camp, as well as sister hotels Desert Camp and Sossusvlei Lodge, also operate a petrol station and well stocked convenience store at Sossus Oasis, just before the park entry gate.

While the camp is self-catering and rooms are equipped with fully functioning kitchens, we booked the half board option with meals at Sossusvlei Lodge. The drive to the lodge didn't bother us, though it is noteworthy that you will be driving in the dark (in winter at least). Dinner buffet was actually very good, better than we were expecting with reasonable vegetarian choices and pleasant outdoor seating. Breakfast was average - we felt there could have been more choice, though offerings tasted fine.

Activities can also be booked at Sossusvlei Lodge; we did the Elim dune nature walk. Our guide was friendly, though the walk is really quite strenuous and tiring. Wildlife opportunities probably aren't as good as in Swakopmund - we saw only dune ants and dancing spiders, though it was an enjoyable activity nonetheless.

Overall, the camp offers lovely lodging in a splendid location; there's nothing acutely wrong with the place, only a few minor areas for improvement.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank adamt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Desert Quiver Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Dear Adam,
Thank you for the great rating and review!
Delighted that you enjoyed the hospitality you received from our staff, the modern furnishings at our units, the dinner buffet at Sossusvlei Lodge as well as the Elim dune walk. Noted areas for improvement.
Looking forward to welcome you back!
Best wishes,
The Desert Quiver Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile


What a welcoming sight to see after a long day traveling through the desert. Blending in perfectly with its surroundings- the accommodation consists of a row of well designed little houses all with sloping roofs looking out onto a stunning desert scape. There is a lovely swimming pool with sun beds to relax by. Nice modern design with open plan style toilet and shower. Very comfortable bed. You mustn’t flush your toilet paper, it goes in the bin provided. Each room has an outdoor kitchen which is cleverly disguised under a canvas cover which you can roll up. There’s a sink and kettle and small stove and a barbecue on your patio. Breakfast and dinner is at the Hotel Sossusvlei Lodge just up the road which is very classy and upmarket. Dinner is buffet style eaten outside in beautiful floodlit terraces and warming fire pits either side. Starters, salad and dessert is found inside and all the hot food is outside and prepared by chefs.
At night the sky is alive with stars, it is the most magical sight. It’s just you, the desert and the stars.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Happytravellers94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Desert Quiver Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Dear Happy Travellers,
Thanks you for the great rating and review! We are delighted that you enjoyed our beautiful surroundings, the modern design units, the dinner buffet as well as the starry night skies!
We are looking forward to welcome you back!
Best wishes,
The Desert Quiver Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews