We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our trip!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sossusvlei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2017

We arrived at this gorgeous oasis to a hospitable staff, a beautiful lodge and spectacular rooms. There are no words to describe how beautiful the dunes are - climbing "Big Daddy" and running down was something we'll never forget. You can sleep out under the stars on the roof of your room - it was a bit windy so we opted for a short lay under the stars before bed. The quad bikes were a great way to travel around when we first arrived and the hot air balloon ride was the perfect finale. The meals were delicious and watching the incredible change in weather from brilliant sky to crazy sand storm was amazing. Thanks to all the staff!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Thank you Susan G for your beautiful review, we are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and thrilled to have been able to share this amazing dune experience with you. We look forward to sharing your beautiful words with all the staff in camp.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
There are newer reviews for Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 216 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
65
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

We spent 2 nights and had a fabulous time. It's remote so the service and food was all the better in the circumstances even if the service was a little rough around the edges at times. The staff were great and genuinely keen to help, big you sometimes do need to speak up and ask for what you want. We were a little disappointed with our guide as we were paired with others who had already done the dunes, the 'must do' trip! But we spoke up and it got sorted in the end. It's the best place to stay if you want to visit Sossusvlei.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

Thank you for the great review, we are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. we are extremely grateful to see that you spoke up with regards to the guide you were initially paired with and glad the staff could make alternative arrangements for you. We are very lucky to have such a beautiful location and thrilled to have been able to share this with you.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We have just returned home after a four night stay at Little Kulala which was simply superb. The lodge is beautifully decorated using natural wood and stone throughout and fits perfectly into its surroundings. The rooms are very comfortable and well designed with indoor and outdoor showers, am outdoor plunge pool (cold!) and a roof terrace complete with a double bed for sleeping under the stars which is an incredible experience - the starry night under the desert sky is a once in a lifetime experience. Although all the eleven rooms are identical, I would recommend rooms 9 or 10 which enjoy a more interesting view and are closer to the main lodge and swimming pool - an important factor when one is walking back in the sand in 40 degrees of heat after lunch! Our guide, Forster was excellent - he was knowledgeable, interesting and interested in making sure we had the experience that we wanted. For example, when we went to climb the stunning red sand dunes at Sossusvlei, we told him that we wanted to climb dunes away from other people and we did just that and had the most wonderful experience. We have now named this dune, the Forster dune and, for us, it beat climbing Big Daddy or Dune 45 where everyone else was headed. He was very patient with my husband and daughter's passion for photography and also knew great photography spots away from the beaten track. In fact, on the last evening, he raced us back to the dunes to catch the changing colours just before sunset. Other activities we loved included quad biking in the desert at sunset, an amazing balloon ride at dawn (organised at additional cost through Namib Sky but so worth it), dune climbing, visiting Sesriem Canyon, sundowners on top of a mountain and star gazing. All the staff were fantastic, from Manfred, the barman, who organised a last minute wine tasting in their beautiful cellar to Munya who was charming and ever present to Joel, the high fiving barman with a wonderful smile to Michael, the recently appointed veteran manager who kept us entertained with fascinating historical stories. The staff all seemed really happy and there was a great atmosphere between them all. The food was tasty and home made. Initially I thought that the limited choice would be an issue (food deliveries are made every Tiuesday from Windhoek, a six hour drive away) but everything was delicious and beautifully presented. On occasion, when our daughter and I, who are vegetarian, didn't like something, an alternative was proposed without any problem. My one recommendation to management, which was well received, was that there should be indoor activities such as lectures, cooking demonstrations, nature films etc offered in the afternoons as all the outdoor activities at this time of year take place early in the morning or early evening to avoid the midday heat so there is a long gap in the middle of the day. Wifi was poor which frankly was a bonus and allowed us to unwind and enjoy the great outdoors even more. All in all, a perfect stay in a stunning part of the world. We were there for four days and felt like we had been away for a month!

Room Tip: Choose a room such as room 9 or 10 if you want to be closer to the main lodge, a bonus in the desert...
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 101ROD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

Dear 101ROD,

Thank you for the brilliant review, we are delighted to see how many great memories you have of your stay with us and will be sure to pass along your regards and praises to everyone in camp. Especially the wonderful Forster, who we will have to get to take us all out to "Forster Dune". Thank you for the great recommendations, really wonderful ideas and will have to look into that a bit more to see what we can do.

Thank you again
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017

We stayed 2 nights at Little Kuala during our recent trip to Namibia and had a wonderful experience.

To a person the staff was warm, caring and engaging. The interim manager, Michael, who is a Wilderness veteran, was knowledgable, attentive and extremely buttoned up. Our guide, Forster, was fantastic as was the rest of the staff. Always a friendly greeting. The staff seemed to genuinely love their jobs and it shows.

We loved the aesthetics of the lodge. Comfortable, chic and warm. The rooms are extremely spacious, wonderfully appointed. Definitely try the roof bed. The plunge pool is a great amenity, but can get very sandy. But the sand (and occasional stand storm) is all part of the experience. Great bathrooms and the outdoor shower is a must.

We did Big Daddy inSossusvlei, which is highly recommended. The lodge has its own entrance in to the park which is a big help. The drive in (which is beautiful) is about an hour. W also did the quad bikes which are a blast. The food was great and the kitchen was extremely accommodating for my vegan wife.

All in all, Little Kulala is a special place in a unique part of the world. Would highly recommend as part of any trip to Namibia.

Room Tip: We had room #1 closest to lodge. All rooms are stand alone and extremely quiet
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Thank you Mike for your amazing review, we are thrilled to see how much you and your wife enjoyed all the elements of your stay with us - from the adventure in the dunes to a quick dip in the plunge pool. We will be sure to share your wonderful sentiments with Michael, Forster and the entire team in camp.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016

After a great trip with Wilserness to Botswana, we chose them again for our trip to Namibia. 12 years ago we had a bad experience at Ongava but the Botswana trop renewed my faith in WS.
We stayed 2 nights at Little Kulala , 2 nights at Desert Rhino, 3 nights at Hoanib.

LK was by far my least favorite.
Firstly positives: large rooms, very large comfortable bed, nice big bathroom and outdoor shower.
Nice swimming pool in main area.
Good food
Well visited waterhole with oryx, jackals, ostriches. Lit at night over dinner.
Great guide ( Petrus)

Not so good
No good manager, he was a nice man but rather awkward and did not manage the staff who were less than attentive. Very slap dash service at breakfast. No care or attention.
Rooms look slightly dated
Sky bed disappointing with small double beds and rickety stairs
Plunge pool tiny and sandy
Not enough activities. 1 or 2 night stay would be enough. We didn't do balloon safari. Was never offered to us. I don't like quad bikes so only activities are nature drive ( not game drives, not enough animals ) and walk the dune.
This lodge is still 40 km from dunes. Don't expect a view of the big red dunes.

We did enjoy our stay. It wasn't awful but I was happy to leave to a more exciting place.
Also there is WIFI. I thought WS policy was no wifi but hey we aren't safe anywhere anymore.
Do I advice a stay: yes if you want to see dunes and Sossusclei. They are both lovely and scenic flight on the way to Swakopmund was nice.

Room Tip: We chose a room away from main area, I advice this in case of noisy groups.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chocolate74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2016

Dear Chocolate74,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent visit to Little Kulala. While we are thrilled that you liked the rooms, the food and your guide, as well as the waterhole in front of camp, it is of concern to us that your expectations were not met in other areas. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it is only through our guests’ experiences that we can improve on our offering. Wilderness Safaris does spend a huge amount of time on training and we are sorry to hear you found our service at Little Kulala less than exceptional. Rest assured this has been shared with both our Operation and Training Teams for their prompt attention. In addition, our Guest Experience Manager is currently in camp and will spend the next few weeks assisting with additional training, as well as reviewing the sky bed offering. Being exposed to the elements, the quality of the beds on the roof are not of the same quality as the furniture in the room however, once the sky bed is set up, it is quite lovely and our guests so enjoy the experience.

This is not a prolific wildlife area so the nature drives and other activities focus on the splendour, solitude and stark beauty of the Namib Desert and surrounds. Our set camp activities include excursions to Sesriem Canyon, the dunes at Sossusvlei, quad-biking, guided walks, nature drives and scenic sundowners. Other activities on offer at additional cost include in-room massages, horse riding at Desert Homestead, ballooning (subject to availability and weather conditions) plus on a 3 night stay, a visit to Neuras Wine Farm. Ballooning in particular should ideally be pre-booked due to its popularity, however, the Managers are able to book it in-house should guests request it. We do apologise that it was not offered to you and this will be addressed with the team on the ground.

With regard to Wi-Fi, Wilderness Safaris do indeed believe that it is important to “Disconnect to Reconnect” and as a result, most of our camps are Wi-Fi free. That said, we are also cognisant of the fact that being connected is important to some of our guests, so there are a few that do have Wi-Fi – Little Kulala being one of them.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sossusvlei
23.2 km away
Betesda Lodge & Camping
Betesda Lodge & Camping
#3 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
89 reviews
22.0 km away
andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
15.3 km away
Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
504 reviews
15.6 km away
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
#2 of 9 in Sesriem
817 reviews
16.7 km away
Desert Quiver Camp
Desert Quiver Camp
#2 of 12 in Sossusvlei
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala

Address: Sossusvlei - Kulala Wilderness Reserve, Sossusvlei, Namib-Naukluft Park, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park > Sossusvlei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Sossusvlei
Price Range: R1 973 - R21 475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest luxury camp to the remarkable Sossusvlei dunes, Little Kulala's exquisite fittings, pastel tones and use of natural light merge into the timeless desert landscape. Aside from excursions to the dunes, the unadorned beauty of the Namib is explored via game drives and walks on Kulala Wilderness Reserve, providing sightings of desertadapted wildlife and plants, from ungainly ostrich to charismatic bat-eared fox. Scenic sundowners take in awe-inspiring views that stretch endlessly to a distant horizon, while a "star-bed" offers slumber under some of Africa's clearest skies. • 11 rooms (1 family) • nature drives and walks • Sossusvlei excursion (via private gate) • Sesriem visit • sleep out deck • quad biking • massage treatments • hot air balloon ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Kulala Hotel Sossusvlei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing