We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Julianna

Atmospheric accomodation well located

Review of Desert Camp
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 08 May 2024
Great location very handy for the national park. We also requested the furthest cabin from reception and the view out over the desert gave a great sense of space and isolation. Enjoyed the nearby weaver birds and saw orynx from outside our cabin. Well planned comfortable cabin and the outdoor kitchen was great. The box of utensils has all you need. Note for the park you can no longer buy tickets the day before but if you are in the queue 20 mins or so before the gate opens you should be able to drive straight in when the gate opens as the warden takes a note of the vehicle registration numbers and you pay later as you leave.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Make sure bin at night is tightly closed so jackals can't get in.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taleni Africa, Agency / Consultant at Desert Camp, responded to this review
Responded 10 May 2024
Dear Julianna,
Thanks so much for the 5-star ratings!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed our great location, the comfortable cabins, beautiful views and the natural surrounds with birds and Oryx!
Yes - you can pay on exit when visiting the Park - no need to stop first.
Looking forward to welcome you back again!
Best wishes,
The Desert Camp Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
  • Priceline
4.9 km from Desert Camp
Free parking
Pool
Desert Quiver Camp Units Design
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
1.2 km from Desert Camp
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 5 438
  • Booking.com
39.6 km from Desert Camp
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 6 465
  • Booking.com
53.2 km from Desert Camp
Free parking
Pool
    59.1 km from Desert Camp
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Me and some sand. And a beer.
    • eDreams
    95.8 km from Desert Camp
    Pool
    Bar/Lounge
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Lol.travel
      R 6 699
    • Hotels.com
    22.1 km from Desert Camp
    Free parking
    Pool
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      R 7 390
    • Hotels.com
    4.7 km from Desert Camp
    Free parking
    Pool
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Expedia.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      R 3 785
    • Priceline
    20.7 km from Desert Camp
    Free parking
    Pool
    View more hotels in Sossusvlei
    Reviews (592)
    Filter reviews
    592 results
    Traveller rating
    343
    201
    34
    9
    5
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    343
    201
    34
    9
    5
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews game meat swimming pool the main lodge two nights beautiful setting braai reception gate camp accommodation middle desert canvas utensils kitchenette oryx stars
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    2 - 7 of 592 reviews
    Reviewed 27 February 2024 via mobile

    I had a very pleasant stay here. I was given the first/last cabin at the end of the road so I had an uninterrupted view of the surrounding landscape, with nice views of the sunset and sunrise. Outside my cabin there is a tree with 2 huge nests built by sociable weaver birds and occasionally a gemsbok rests under the shadow of the tree. It's amazing to see wildlife right outside my cabin, in such a dry and barren region. At night, I could see many stars in the sky right outside the cabin. My cabin is spacious and comfortable with air-conditioning, ensuite bathroom, potable tap water, twin beds, sofa and outdoor barbeque pit. To avoid bringing sand into the cabin, I left my shoes outside the door, and kept the door closed at all times. There's no WiFi in my cabin so I had to drive to the reception/bar area to use WiFi. The Sesriem park gate and petrol station is just a 5 minutes drive away.

    Room tip: There is parking beside every cabin, and ample parking around the reception/bar.
    Date of stay: February 2024
    Trip type: Travelled solo
    1  Thank autumncs
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Taleni Africa, Agency / Consultant at Desert Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2024

    Dear Charles,
    Thank you for the fantastic rating and review!
    We are very pleased that you enjoyed the uninterrupted views, the social weaver nests, starry skies and comfortable accommodation unit!
    Looking forward to welcome you back!
    Best wishes,
    The Desert Camp Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 February 2024

    We had the most fantastic experience at Desert Camp! The units were perfect for our family of four. They were well equipped, beds were comfy, and the loyout was fantastic.

    One night we rented one of the cooking bomas and grilled our own dinner. We went to Sossusvlei Lodge for breakfast and one dinner. The meals were extremely good! We also used the lodge for our excursions. I cannot recommend them enough!

    Date of stay: December 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank eerporter
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Taleni Africa, Agency / Consultant at Desert Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2024

    Dear Erin,
    Thank you for the recommendation and superb rating!
    We are thrilled that you enjoyed our well equipped accommodation units, the boma cooking facility as well as the meals and excursions at our nearby Sossusvlei Lodge!
    Looking forward to welcome the Porter family back during your next visit to Sossusvlei!
    Best wishes,
    The Desert Camp Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 January 2024

    Comfortable and clean cabins in the most beautiful setting. The staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the pool and the pool bar. Had all facilities we needed and was conveniently situated very close to the entrance of the Namib Naukluft Park.

    Date of stay: January 2024
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank nicolewexler
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Taleni Africa, Agency / Consultant at Desert Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2024

    Dear Nicole,
    Thanks so much for the excellent rating and review!
    Delighted that you enjoyed our convenient location, the beautiful setting of our cabins, the pool and bar area as well as the helpful service you received from our staff!
    Looking forward to see you again!
    Best wishes,
    The Desert Camp Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 13 December 2023

    Stunning and extremely convenient location, a 5 minute drive to the Sossusvlei main gate and 5 minute drive to the petrol station (very handy after making it all the way out there!). The bedrooms were very neat and tidy and the outdoor areas were perfect to enjoy the sunset with and drink in hand watching the BBQ. Reception has everything needed for you to make your own dinner. The surrounds are absolutely stunning and you can enjoy the views (and wifi) from the pool and bar area. The pool is definitely the best place to be in the afternoon after spending your day exploring. All bedrooms are fitted with aircon which is definitely needed. There is also quite a bit of game (animals) within the area which makes for good viewing, just make sure the jackals don’t steal your bbq meat! Would definitely recommend and stay again!

    Room tip: Definitely head into Sossusvlei in the early morning as the lighting is perfect and it is much cooler
    Date of stay: December 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank Chaz G
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Taleni Africa, Agency / Consultant at Desert Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2023

    Dear Chaz,
    Thank you for the superb rating and recommendation!
    Delighted that you enjoyed our stunning surrounds, the air-conditioned rooms, roaming wildlife and refreshing pool!
    We look forward to welcome you back again!
    Best wishes,
    The Desert Camp Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 10 October 2023

    The camp is located only 10mins driving from the entrance of sossusvlei. Very tidy and cousy rooms. All separate houses. Pool was clean and very refreshing after a hot day at sossusvlei. Dinner and breakfast is in the nearby sossusvlei lodge (5m drive)

    Room tip: You can order meat and vegetables and braai at your room
    Date of stay: October 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Gino_VG
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Taleni Africa, Agency / Consultant at Desert Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2023

    Dear Gino,
    Thank you for the excellent ratings and review!
    We are very pleased that you enjoyed our location, the individual accommodation units, refreshing pool and the meals at our nearby Sossusvlei Lodge!
    Looking forward to welcome you back again!
    Best wishes,
    The Desert Camp Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews