We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 470)
Filter reviews
1 470 results
Traveller rating
637
392
237
129
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
637
392
237
129
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmount wolseleyafternoon tealeisure centreaaron loungebar foodbeautiful hotelreception arearelaxation roomfredericks restaurantrestaurant managersteam roomnight breakmain restaurantone night staybar staffkids clubbeef
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 1 470 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

We were going away for a few days and picked a few places to stay and this was the first. On arrival we were impressed with the facility and welcomed by Eva who was very helpful and gave us a very nice room. We had a lovely meal that evening and breakfast the next morning and staff were very friendly and helpful, we definitely will go back!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank gerryandann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison_Kate, General Manager at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your complimentary review of your stay in Mount Wolseley. We are delighted to read that you rate us so highly.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Kate Harrison
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

I booked the hotel as a last minute surprise for my husbands birthday. I chose the hotel because it was family friendly; it had an outdoor playground, an indoor playroom, a swimming pool and it was obvious that children were welcomed. When we arrived it was before check-in time so we went straight to the playground and played on the swings and slides then we went to the bar for lunch. Eating with a 1 year old in the bar was easy- the menu was child friendly, staff were relaxed and welcoming. We were very happy we had chosen to eat there. After lunch we went to reception to see if our room was ready, it was, so off we went to drop our bags and go for a family swim. When we got to our room the first thing my husband did was turn on the t.v. - it didn't work and so I rang down to reception and was told that they were in the middle of upgrading televisions. I asked if it was in anyway possible to upgrade our room, I was told it was and to pop down to reception. We were upgraded to THE PRESIDENTIAL SUITE! A last minute, family night away turned into the most luxurious, relaxed, birthday celebration for us! We couldn't believe the gesture of kindness, our luck and the amount of space we had as a family! We had a fantastic time at the pool- it was just perfect for our 1 year old-there was a children's pool and we had great fun as it wasn't busy. After a swim we went back to our very fancy room where our 1 year old had a nap and we relaxed. We had an early dinner in the bar and a play in the playground before bed. We were so lucky to have the extra space in the room that we had desert and drinks while our daughter slept peacefully in her own space. The next morning we had a delicious family breakfast - staff were so attentive and friendly with our little girl. We went for a final swim before check out. We really were treated like royalty throughout our stay-such a happy, family break!

Thank you kindly to all the staff at Mount Wolseley Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marydublinlireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison_Kate, General Manager at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your complimentary review of your stay in Mount Wolseley. We are delighted to read that you rate us so highly.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Kate Harrison
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

We had a lovely time at Mount Wolseley for a wedding. We stayed two nights and all of the staff we encountered couldn't do enough for you. On the whole, the accommodation was really pleasant. All of the communal areas in the main hotel reception are really nice but the rooms to need a bit of updating. The bed was super comfortable but the mini fridge didn't work at all and we had a very old iron that tool absolutely ages to heat up. The shower was also basically stuck on hot (not idea for a 30C weekend!).
Overall, i would recommend the place to future guests. The function room for the wedding was excellent as was the cocktail/drinks reception before hand.

Room Tip: Make sure you let the staff know if you have any problems, they'll always do their best to help you out.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShutUpMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison_Kate, General Manager at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review it is most appreciated. It is great to hear your lovely feedback in regards to our Staff and we are thrilled that you had a lovely experience with us during your recent stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mount Wolseley in the future.

Kind regards,

Kate Harrison
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Great sized family room for 2 adults, 4 year old and 18 month old. Room was clean and well equipped (even had a fridge in the room which was great for the baby's bottles etc.) and serviced everyday. The kids loved the swimming pool and playground. There are also three different play rooms (babies, children and teens) but we didn't get to use these. We had breakfast in the hotel each morning which was lovely and loads to choose from. Hotel was a short drive away from the likes of Rathwood and the Chocolate Garden of Ireland and also less than an hour drive away from Carlow town and shopping centre. Staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for you. Would definitely go back for another stay.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank col_daz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison_Kate, General Manager at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your complimentary review of your stay in Mount Wolseley. We are delighted to read that you rate us so highly.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Kate Harrison
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in the self catering accommodation. We got a 4 bed large house with open plan layout and all mod cons. There was free entry to The leisure centre and swimming pool. The hotel has many facilities and a pleasant lounge. There's plenty to do and see in Carlow even for those of us who are not keen on Golf. Staff were friendly and helpful. I was surprised that wasn't asked how I enjoyed my stay when I checked out. I would recommend this option for families and couples, friends etc. The hotel is very pleasant.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Aoife M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison_Kate, General Manager at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely post. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the very positive review and comments.

We are looking forward to your return very soon.

Kind regards,

Kate Harrison
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews