We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
36
27
4
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
27
4
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free ride to the airport ong lang beach nice hotel low season swimming pool rooms are comfortable phu quoc minute walk nice beach bicycles receptionist beds motorbike taxi english island loungers
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2018 via mobile

Vela is a well run resort with friendly staff and a brilliant location a few steps from a safe beach. Rooms were large and airy, housekeeping was very efficient and reception staff were always very helpful and charming. Breakfast was adequate - we didn’t eat other meals at Vela. Good 7 nights for 6 deal while we were there. Would come back anytime.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiên T, Public Relations Manager at Vela Phu Quoc Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Thank you, Brian D from Glasgow! We appreciate your custom! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed here at Christmas time. The time was really great there. The rooms were clean and the staff friendly and helpful. Breakfasts ok. The bungalows are situated in a nice, colorful garden. About 5 minute walk to the beach.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank paulinam677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiên T, Public Relations Manager at Vela Phu Quoc Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Thank you Paulina M for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

The reception staff was lovely and always very helpful and friendly. The location of the resort is also good, close to a nice beach and some good restaurants.

However, this hotel did not live up to our expectations. The impression is that the hotel hade its prime time many years ago and has not been kept up to date since more than the daily cleaning. It all feels pretty old.

The room was dirty, and the beds were the worse I have ever slept in. The pool area consisted of heavy wooden sunbeds which were impossible to move around. The wifi is very poor and worked only in the reception.

It says the resort has a gym, which it should not be called. It hadn't been cleaned in a very long time and all there was, was a non-working treadmill, a few weights (most of them broken/wrong weight compared to what is should be) and an old-school multi-functional machine.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank michaelal790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Vela for 6 nights in December. The ground-floor double room was large and airy despite the faint smell of damp (very common in properties in this climate) and the bed was definitely more comfortable than average Asian hotel mattresses. Breakfast was an adventure every morning, with anything from spaghetti carbonara to beef curry being served alongside a regular buffet of pancakes, fruit, toast, and a variety of eggs cooked to order. Starting the day with this next to the pool was fabulous. Didn't try the restaurant food beyond breakfast, but the menu seemed roughly on par with what surrounding resorts offer.

Ong Lang beach at the end of the road (about a 3 minute walk) was one of the best beaches we found in Phu Quoc, and being so close allowed to spend day after day there. It's possible to eat, drink and rent loungers at the resort on the beach, however Vela provide towels and yoga mats for guests to take with them anyway. The staff were always very friendly and helpful, even though some of their spoken English limited communication of more complex requests. I'd read that bicycles were freely available for all guests, but now it seems they've chosen to rent them for 5k VND per hour instead. This didn't stop certain receptionists letting us take them for free sometimes anyway! We also rented a motorbike for a day from Vela, which was very reliable if a bit more expensive than average.

Like so many places in Vietnam, there were a few rough edges on show during our stay. Particularly irritating were the activities that went on in the car park right outside our door, such as random construction projects at 8:30am and hotel staff (?) practicing their stick-hitting Christmas performance for hour on end. Not much of a surprise for guests when they've been hearing and seeing it for 5 days already, is it? Likewise, things like testing a new Soundsystem at 10pm and removing all poolside deck chairs on Christmas Eve because of the "performance" later in the day didn't seem to take guest's reactions into account and left quite a few of us frustrated.

Not enough to spoil a wonderful stay but still, keep up the good work Vela and keep improving!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

This is a very nice place to stay! The location is great. It takes just a few minutes to walk to the beach. The pool is clean with shaded and unshaded loungers for tanning. The restaurant on site serves a lovely breakfast each morning and lunch/dinner as well. The staff is friendly. You can change our beach/pool towels often/easily at the front desk. Yoga mats are offered to take to the beach to put your towel on in the sand. Bicycles are free to ride around town. Mopeds for rent. Laundry service on site. I would stay again!!

Date of stay: November 2017
Thank TravelingTod26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews