We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
97
129
51
24
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
129
51
24
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews long beach wooden bath modern wing phu quoc sun beds around the pool waters edge small window snapper flight times bars and restaurants lovely guy great air con breakfast was delicious vietnamese soup rooms are comfortable cheap beer to ho chi minh city
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 321 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2017

Let me start by saying I have no idea about the surrounding resorts, I can only base this on my stay here. I stayed here 3 nights. I want to say I loved it but I can't. It has HUGE potential, it's a small older resort, but that's fine, I wanted a non commercial and authentic feel. You do get this here, but it's just missing on all levels. It's tranquil and if you want to lay on the beach and go in the water or swim in the pool then your fine. Just don't expect any extras. The lounge chairs are uncomfortable, if you can find one, you are hard pressed to find anyone trying to serve you a drink on the beach and when I went to get my own at the "beach bar" the guy was asleep, after I woke him and ordered 2 pineapple juice and rum drinks he came and told me " they are out of Pineapple. Seriously. .. as I watch the women carrying fruit up and down the beach I wonder how this is happening. There is a small bar next door on the beach, there are friendly and interested in business, something the Long Beach seeems to not get. It's like a ship with no course. Could be a gold mine but they just don't understand what they have and how to use its charm. It's a shame really. In addition and again I'm not sure if this is cultural thing or just what I should expect on an Island but the beds are HARD like we are talking HARD HARD not a mattress not even foam, my guess its weaved together palm branches. I'm serious, it was painful , I woke up so sore everyday. Thank goddess for the massages on the beach again offered by the hotel next door.
I can say that everyone is friendly, I honestly think they just need guidance. "Joey"was great, a young kid who helped with check in, got us a room that was less closterphobic in the beginning but again there is just something professional missing. Friendly, check, business, not so much and comfort missed the mark by 100 miles.

Room Tip: Ask for ancient room not in the middle.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank debsdebomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 February 2017

Dear Debsdebomb,

Thank you for your feedback during your recent stay. Our apologies for the inconveniences caused and the issues highlighted will be forwarded to all department concerned for further improvement.

We are glad that you find our staff friendly and special mention to Joey our GSO who has always extended his gracious hospitality services to all.

Wish you a lovely day.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the ancient side, and the architecture was stunning. Rooms are fully wood-paneled and full of custom wood-work, including wood tub, wash basin, and wood-paneled shower stall. We felt very cozy. If you are sensitive to noise, let them know ahead of time. The first room we were given faced a neighbor's crowing rooster. This bird never stopped. While we might have tuned it out after a bit, my fiance didn't want to take a chance. The first person we spoke with at the front desk wasn't fully sympathetic, and then a guest services guy named Joey showed up. He arranged another room for us and personally took us to make sure we were happy. Facing another direction, this room was silent.
Joey gave us excellent attention throughout our stay. As other reviews have noted, the rest of the staff's English is poor - we relied on Google Translate.
The ocean-facing pool is lovely and kidney-shaped, though built before the more modern infinity types. While I'm usually sensitive to deferred maintainence, I didn't note any of the issues other reviewers complained about.
The location is a $2 cab ride from town, which wasn't an issue for us. The beach here us a bit more low-key as a result, with a classic tiki bar right next door. We both enjoyed 150,000 D massages right on the beach, at sunset. It was stunning.
The architecture in the ancient side makes this place special. Thanks to Joey, for the money we spent, we are able to give this hotel four stars.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank BlueMarbleRox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 February 2017

Dear BlueMarbleRox,

Thank you for your feedback during your recent stay. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay overall and like the Ancient architecture which only Long Beach Resort has.

We will share your compliments to Joey and we look forward to your next stay with us when you visit Phu Quoc Island for holiday!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

Arrived early afternoon and were picked up by the hotel minibus. Our room was lovely, an ancient suite over two floors, all wooden with two bathrooms. Unfortunately we had to stay in the room for a couple of hrs whilst some one tried to fix the air-conditioning. We ate in the restaurant that evening and there were only two other couples there, the food was OK and not expensive. The staff are pleasant enough but apart from at Reception, their command of english was v poor, admittedly I don't speak Vietnamese but at a tourist hotel one would expect better English.
The beach was very pleasant, but all the sunbeds were shoddy and some broken. The supplied beach towels were holey and torn. The whole hotel looked run down and in need of a little care and attention.
Breakfast was a little old-fashioned and dishes which should have been hot were cold, their food heaters allowed to go out. The butter was bizarre - with garlic! The bacon was v tough and fatty. However the coffee was good. The orange juice was in fact orange squash.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LeavesdenMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016

We came here in November for a quick 2 night break . The hotel arranged for us to be met at the airport and we were checked in immediately. The antique rooms were very nice and comfortable. The pool area is nice ,but the beach is the best part.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ericg68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Long Beach is a beautiful resort, you can tell they really thought about the location. My friend and I stayed there for 3 nights. The staff was after our every need, we felt very pampered, very special. Sadly on the 3rd evening, everything went down hell.
We went to reception to pay our bill. The receptionist asks us about a soap dish that was broken in our room. Indeed, the second day, we come to use the soap, and discover the soap dish is broken right in the middle, in half. Neither me nor my friend had a reason to even pick it up, and we didn't break it. But he felt the need to check, fair enough, I explain to him we found it like that, and he smiles and says he will double check that story with the cleaning ladies.
Really? At a 4 star hotel, you will verify my story for a soap dish? I would get it if it was the bed, the TV, the mirror, the chair. But soap dish?
Anyway, continuing, talking about cleaning ladies, I was rather surprised that during our whole stay, our sheets weren't changed. Not once.
Again, I expect that from a 2, 3 stars hotel maybe, but not from a freaking 4 star resort.
Finally, we had some company to join us in our room.
There is no privacy whatsoever, a family with a child that I would say is probably under 3 years old came in the room next to ours. We knew straight away, first with the smell of the food they brought in, then with the cries of the child, and the parents talking/yelling at the child and talking amongst them.
As we had noticed that the hotel was not very crowded we thought to mention it at reception, hoping they would take the matter into their own hands. Sadly, when bringing that up, we were told that the building was made in such a way that when in every room, we would be able to hear every little noise. 'Sorry about that' and for that man at reception the matter was closed. I talked about the fact that we could also smell the people next door. He did not make any effort to let us enjoy the rest of our stay in the most comfortable way.
Although the location is amazing and the view is absolutely beautiful, I would not return because of this huge lack of privacy. And the way our complaint was handled just doesn't feel like the price we are paying is justified, or like we are staying at a 4 star hotel. For that service, I can just go in a standard hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sephora A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews