We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
228
49
5
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
228
49
5
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews african bush camps game drives cape buffalo yum yum helicopter flight sister camp three nights camp host amazing safari experience the river well taken care chobe national park wild dogs welcome song the entire staff last night hour drive
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2023

Our extended family of 7 stayed at Linyanti in mid-June of 2023. We ranged in age from 4 to 76. The lodge and tents were comfortable and clean. The views were beautiful. The food was 5 star and the service was amazing. Selly and staff made us feel comfortable and took care of our needs. Dutch was a wonderful guide and extremely patient with our four year old. I would highly recommend Linyanti if you are looking for a one of a kind enjoyable safari experience.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AshleyMtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
African Bush Camps African Bush Camps, Marketing at Linyanti Bushcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2023

Thank you for sharing your experience with us Ashley. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all your needs were met.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2023


We just got back from a wonderful few days at Linyanti Ebony family camp, there aren't really words that can describe the beautiful experience we had. I don't often leave reviews - usually only the bad ones as a word of warning to others, but this is an exception.
Although it was our first African safari, we have travelled extensively to some wonderful destinations and hotels, so have quite a bit to compare it to. Friends and family thought we were mad taking a toddler on safari but from the moment we were collected at the airstrip with our 'game drive' to camp, to the moment we took off again down a dirt runway, it was everything and more we were hoping for. If you like having your kids out with you experiencing all of the wonders with barely another soul in sight, then this is the company to do it with for sure.

Staff - although we went for wilderness and the animals (and the child-friendly factor), we quickly realised the people at Linyanti are what make it special, and I'm sure it is emulated throughout African Bush Camp properties. We were the only guests for our first three nights but it wasn't lonely - it felt like we were sharing the experience with a group of friends.
Most of the staff are from the direct community of Linyanti (80%), and the rest are all Botswana natives (apart for the Swedish chopper pilot Nico). We loved the authenticity, and could tell everyone was passionate about the company and its charitable causes.
Helga, Jerry and Mattie were the people we spent the most time with and we couldn't fault them or any of other the other staff at the camp. The genuine care and kindness they showed for our little one was touching.
Helga was our host, and aside from being warm and personable, she was always there for anything we needed, never missing a beat and a lot of fun to boot. She facilitated along with Ronny, Bosi and others some really special moments including a surprise sundowner picnic and a lovely lunch on our balcony.
Jerry was our expert guide and Mattie was a trainee guide from the female guide training course that African Bushcamps facilitates. They were a wealth of knowledge, you really wouldn't know Mattie was just in training unless you were an expert yourself I suppose - she has a great sense of humour and quick wit that makes you feel instantly at ease.
Jerry is a knowledgeable guide and tracker, and after spending every coffee stop and meal being enslaved by our toddler and his diggers I have no doubt he is now also an expert construction site manager. He had a professional and kind demeanour, yet seemed to turn into a teddy bear around our 'Junior Guide', always finding the spot with the most sand to stop just for him and his diggers.
He worked tirelessly and excitedly at times by radio with the other vehicle from the Linyanti Bushcamp (sister camp sans children) to track lions, leopard and wild dogs. He also stopped and explained so many little things such as the termites and their hills using scientific names and terms to teach us about all sorts of plants and insects. He knew every bird, and was especially up to date on bird name changes which is apparently very important to passionate birding folk.

Facilities - one of the deciding factors in coming to Southern Africa rather than Eastern for our first safari was that we wanted open game viewing vehicles, and they didn't disappoint. Every time we stepped onboard, our personalised drink bottles were filled with iced water, blankets were folded on seats for chilly mornings, and morning tea/sundowners were packed ready to setup in the most scenic of spots.
We were told by other guests that the other ABC camps had more luxurious tents, however this was hard to imagine as ours was just lovely. The beds and linens were better than some 5* hotels, they were furnished with colonial style antiques, the showers were hot with good pressure and everything was immaculately kept. Daily complementary laundry was fantastic.
The communal lounge and dining tent is comfortable, breezy and stylish with linen sofas, African decor and an open bar with good wine from South Africa, spirits, soft drinks, iced tea etc.

Animals - we knew we'd have a better chance of seeing 'hard to spot animals' in the touristy areas such as Kruger, but we also didn't want to have it handed to us, share a viewing with ten other vehicles or stay at a big commercial property. We chose this more authentic experience but were very lucky to see so much and the diverse landscapes of the Linyanti region were a pleasant surprise. On different days we got close to two groups of lion, (one older group were more at ease with us and we viewed them vey closely for over an hour), a leopard, hyenas, a huge herd of buffalo crossing the river, wild dogs on the hunt (with a hungry hyena in tow) and lots of other more common animals - elephants (everywhere), giraffes, zebras, warthogs, kudu, impala, hippos (one was grazing by our waterhole while we were having dinner on the last night mere metres from the campfire), and so many different birds which I will have to look up to remember!

A few things to note:
- If you don't intend to have your kids with you constantly and want babysitters this style might not be for you, the camp isn't fenced, and you can't let kids out of your sight. We wanted this wild experience and loved it (think hippos, elephants and hyenas right outside your tent at night). We always felt safe in the vehicle, but were well aware there can be animals lurking and got escorted to and from our tent when it was dark.
- Tents do get hot in the middle of the day but there are fans and we were lucky enough to have an outdoor lounge area at our tent and there was also a plunge pool.
- The food is delicious, especially the selection and the baking, but if you're used to New Zealand quality red meat you may be a little disappointed (although they will beg to differ, especially Helga who grew up on a local farm)!
- We took our anti-materials to be safe but really didn't feel it was a problem in May, we didn't get too bothered and sat outside for every sunrise and sunset only encountering a couple of sandfly bites.
- You aren't guaranteed of certain animal sightings. What Jerry said to us every morning was delightful - "we will see what Mother Nature will provide".

Date of stay: May 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Gemmavdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
African Bush Camps African Bush Camps, Marketing at Linyanti Bushcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2023

Hi Gemma, thank you so much for sharing this detailed review of your experience. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you all again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2023

Where to begin?

Our incredibly knowledgeable and amazing Guide, Joe! I don't think there is anything he DOESN'T know about African wildlife! We learned so much from him, and we had so much fun on our game drives. We felt 100% safe in his care, even when surrounded by elephants, or when we found ourselves with a lion on one side, and some not-so-happy (with said lion) elephants on the other!
Jesse and Selly, our Hostesses, made sure that we were so well taken care of.

The Team’s sense of humor, smiles, laughter, and camaraderie were infectious! We loved that they joined us for meals, allowing us a glimpse into their lives. Though we were only there for 3 nights, they felt like family. We felt incredibly spoiled by these lovely and gracious people, and I will miss them.

The tents were very comfortable – comfy beds, nice shower, great views from the deck, the sounds of the animals (hippos!) and birds during the night and early mornings were so relaxing.

The wildlife is RIGHT THERE! Baboons, elephants, antelope so close to camp. We even heard lions during Christmas dinner!

And of course, the safaris! The wildlife we saw was simply amazing!! Lions, hippos, elephants, giraffes, antelope, buffalo, cheetah.... and so much more! With every game drive, it just got better and better. The Sundowners were the best!

Simply put, Linyanti Bush Camp was awesome!

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R1775HYwendye
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
African Bush Camps African Bush Camps, Marketing at Linyanti Bushcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2023

Wow what a lovely review. Thank you for sharing the feedback, we're happy to hear about your stay and hope you'll be back to visit us again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2022

This has been the best trip I have ever done. The staff at Linyanti made us feel so special and cared for. The food was amazing and our drives with Mr. Gilbert were extremely fun. I would go back a thousand times if I could.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 270piaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
African Bush Camps African Bush Camps, Marketing at Linyanti Bushcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2022

Hi there, thank you for your lovely review. We wish you would come back 1000 more times :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2022

This camp is located along the Linyanti River and adjacent to Chobe National Park. Each offers abundant wildlife which we observed with Gilbert as our guide- hippos, hyenas, elephants, giraffes, zebras, buffalo, baboons, and numerous birds. The staff at the camp are so welcoming and the food was superb. We appreciated learning about the culture of Botswana and came away feeling that its people are protecting this vast pristine wilderness for the benefit of the entire world. A true gem. This was the third bush camp of our 8 day visit to Botswana and was a perfect complement to the first two, which were in the Khwai and Okavango Delta concessions.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isagram52
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
African Bush Camps African Bush Camps, Marketing at Linyanti Bushcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2022

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We're so pleased to hear about your lovely experience at our camps and your overrall experience. Travel safe and hope to see you back at one the camps again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews