We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Susan B
Stevensville, Maryland
Simply awesome!
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Aug 2022
This camp is located along the Linyanti River and adjacent to Chobe National Park. Each offers abundant wildlife which we observed with Gilbert as our guide- hippos, hyenas, elephants, giraffes, zebras, buffalo, baboons, and numerous birds. The staff at the camp are so welcoming and the food was superb. We appreciated learning about the culture of Botswana and came away feeling that its people are protecting this vast pristine wilderness for the benefit of the entire world. A true gem. This was the third bush camp of our 8 day visit to Botswana and was a perfect complement to the first two, which were in the Khwai and Okavango Delta concessions.
Date of stay: August 2022
Nearby Hotels
Our lovely room.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Linyanti Bushcamp
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 6 282
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 6 282
  • Vio.com
56.2 km from Linyanti Bushcamp
Free parking
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
36.1 km from Linyanti Bushcamp
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Linyanti Reserve
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
228
49
5
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
228
49
5
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews african bush camps game drives cape buffalo yum yum helicopter flight sister camp three nights camp host amazing safari experience the river well taken care chobe national park wild dogs welcome song the entire staff last night hour drive
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2022 via mobile

Linyanti Bush Camp was one of the three African Bush Camp locations my husband and I visited during our nine-day safari. Linyanti was very remote compared to the other two locations, which we absolutely loved. Elephants, baboons, mongooses and so many beautiful birds would cross right by our tent porch. We rarely saw other vehicles while on game drives.

Gilbert was our guide and he really knew his stuff. We learned so many fascinating things about animals, trees, culture and geography from him. I’m especially interested in birds and he was able to find so many I hadn’t seen before. We had lots of questions, and he had all the answers! We saw large herds of elephants and buffalo, which was fascinating. Several incredible sightings of lions. I found the smaller creatures just as interesting. For example, Gilbert was able to find a teeny-tiny reed frog (that could make a whole lot of noise!) while on our mokoro excursion.

The staff of Linyanti Bush Camp went above and beyond to make us feel at home and like family. My husband had come down with a head cold while we were in Cape Town and unfortunately developed a fever (not COVID—he tested three times!). Well, the hostess Evelyn and every other staff member made sure he was comfortable and well taken care of. I’m not sure if all the African Bush Camps sites have paramedics on site, but I think they do. I wish I could remember the name of the paramedic at Linyanti, but he was great and I always felt completely at ease knowing my husband was in good hands, even though we were in a very remote corner of the bush. He recovered quickly thanks to the excellent care, and was able to join in with all the activities within a day. I actually can’t think of a better place to convalesce—surrounded by nature, in a luxury tent, with delicious, healthy foods. Thanks again to Evelyn for making every moment of our three days so special.

This was our once-in-a-lifetime trip, so I did extensive research on different safari operators. Turns out most safari operators take the majority of the money they make out of the continent, since they are actually based in the U.S. or Europe. We chose African Bush Camps because their commitment to community, conservation and education is truly the best. Their dedication to sustainability is also clear—from their use of solar power to the reusable stainless steel water bottles we were given. I cannot recommend African Bush Camps enough!

Room tip: Since July is winter in Botswana, it does get chilly in the early mornings and evenings. Bring a winter hat and gloves for the game drives.
Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Amarantah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
African Bush Camps African Bush Camps, Marketing at Linyanti Bushcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2022

Game drives are amazing because you not only get to see amazing sightings but our guides also share their wealth of knowledge. We're pleased to hear that your husband was taken care of and that you enjoyed the rest of your time. We appreciate your review and recommendation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2022 via mobile

Amazing 3 night stay that was too short. The camp manager Evelyn,
and the entire staff were phenomenal! They went above and beyond to accomodate every need. Their welcoming, friendliness have left a life-long lasting impression. The tents and public areas are comfortable and well appointed. From our tent deck we watched the daily parade of hippo, warthogs, baboons, impala, elephants etc. We were welcomed by a female elephant and baby munching the brush outside our bathroom window.
On our second night, we had 5 lion establishing territorial dominance right outside our tent!
Our guides Rams and Gilbert were the best. Rams went above and beyond to take us out to see the wild dogs and pups and other animals of high interest. He was
very intuitive, knowledgeable and funny! Gilbert was very attentive to the animals we enjoyed most and was sure to find them. He found the Genet that we wanted to see! We called him the birdman as he found so many.
We were truly immersed in with the animals in camp. We did not have numerous other camps and jeeps rushing to sightings.
Our stay was magical. We can not wait to return!

Room tip: Book this Camp!
Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank srsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
African Bush Camps African Bush Camps, Marketing at Linyanti Bushcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2022

Thank you so much for this lovely review! We can't wait for you to return either, it seems like you had an incredible time, such incredible sightings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2022

Our family/friend group stayed at Linyanti Ebony Camp in early June and the entire experience was so much more amazing than we could have ever imagined! Our host KB was welcoming, the staff (Maatla, Villah, Priscilla) were wonderful, and the chefs prepared the most amazing food. My son has a severe tree nut allergy and after several incidents during our journey to Africa, we truly, truly appreciated the staff accommodating him so he could eat and enjoy our trip without worry. We stayed in the family tent and it was by far the most luxury camping we have ever done. The camp overlooks the river with a lovely view towards Namibia and we listened to wildlife while falling asleep.

Our guide Rams was simply amazing, both knowledgeable and personable, and he kept our two 15 year old boys interested and engaged during game drives. Rams understood photography and always parked the vehicle in the best spot so we could all see the animal and it was in the best light for photos.

The Linyanti area is very remote, and it felt like we had the entire area to ourselves. We saw only a couple other vehicles during our time there. We saw large groups of elephants, cape buffalo, impala, red lechwe, baboons, and hippos, as well as giraffes, zebras, hyenas, an African wild cat, wildebeest, and many types of birds. We also did a no-doors helicopter ride while we stayed there.

I highly recommend both Linyanti Ebony Camp and African Bush Camps. This camp was part of a trip that was easily the best vacation we've ever had.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 647sheria
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
African Bush Camps African Bush Camps, Marketing at Linyanti Bushcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2022

Hi Sheria, thank you for your lovely review. we're glad your son was well taken care of. We appreciate the recommendation and hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2022

Linyanti Bush Camp was an unexpected wonder. Staying so close to elephants and hippos was amazing. We arrived to just one of the staff songs they shared during our visit. They have a song for everything even when we leave their good-bye song was wonderful. Our camp host was Evelyn. She was accommodating in every way. We all received our very own ABC water bottle, we used during our entire stay in Africa. Our chefs good, especially desserts. There were 11 of us comprised of family and new friends. Both Chester and Esse our guides were amazing. Chester was our groups appointed guide. His stories, and knowledge of the animals there was nothing he could not name and tell about. He was a tracker learning from his grandfather and father. Great sense of humor, taking time with us viewing the animals and finding unexpected gems such as the Eagle Owl. We were always the last back to camp but well worth it. The camp "Home" as described by the staff. They catered to us and we enjoyed them just sitting down with us individually in the group living room to just chat about their country and culture. They are a very warm and giving people. Would highly recommend

Room tip: Bed were comfortable. Went in the winter, they put hot water bottles in the beds. They are called Bush Babies.
Date of stay: June 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
African Bush Camps African Bush Camps, Marketing at Linyanti Bushcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2022

Hi Kimmar, thank you for your lovely review. Camp truly is home because once you visit any of our camps you become part of the ABC family! Please do return :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2022 via mobile

My family including kids 12 and 15 stayed at the Linyanti Ebony Camp and had an amazing safari experience. I cannot recommend this camp any higher than if you are considering a Botswana safari add this to your itinerary! Our host Helga was so very welcoming. She always had the biggest smile and my daughter considers her a new sister in Africa. Esse our guide was excellent! Under his expert care we chased buffalo with lions, heard the devilish cackle of hyena after dark crunching the bones of a warthog they stole from a lioness and carefully navigated the emotions of elephants protecting their baby in a way that left me with profound respect for the animals. The camp was not the most luxurious of the ABC properties we visited but it was very comfortable and the food was excellent. Nothing was lacking. Thank you to the entire camp for a wonderful stay. Hope to be back soon.

Room tip: We visited in June. The mosquitoes were not bad at all. The nights could be chilly. Pack warm jackets, ski hat and gloves.
Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Erinheiskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
African Bush Camps African Bush Camps, Marketing at Linyanti Bushcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2022

Hi Erin, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. What an adventure! We hope to see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews