We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Cubfan Sharon

Amazing Camp!!!!!!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Jul 2022via mobile
Amazing 3 night stay that was too short. The camp manager Evelyn,
and the entire staff were phenomenal! They went above and beyond to accomodate every need. Their welcoming, friendliness have left a life-long lasting impression. The tents and public areas are comfortable and well appointed. From our tent deck we watched the daily parade of hippo, warthogs, baboons, impala, elephants etc. We were welcomed by a female elephant and baby munching the brush outside our bathroom window.
On our second night, we had 5 lion establishing territorial dominance right outside our tent!
Our guides Rams and Gilbert were the best. Rams went above and beyond to take us out to see the wild dogs and pups and other animals of high interest. He was
very intuitive, knowledgeable and funny! Gilbert was very attentive to the animals we enjoyed most and was sure to find them. He found the Genet that we wanted to see! We called him the birdman as he found so many.
We were truly immersed in with the animals in camp. We did not have numerous other camps and jeeps rushing to sightings.
Our stay was magical. We can not wait to return!
Date of stay: July 2022
Room Tip: Book this Camp!
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
African Bush Camps African Bush Camps, Marketing at Linyanti Bushcamp, responded to this review
Responded 04 Aug 2022
Thank you so much for this lovely review! We can't wait for you to return either, it seems like you had an incredible time, such incredible sightings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 30 293
  • Booking.com
    R 30 933
  • Priceline
36.1 km from Linyanti Bushcamp
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
R 1 920
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 920
  • eDreams
    R 1 920
53.0 km from Linyanti Bushcamp
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
R 7 949
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    R 7 949
  • Agoda.com
    R 7 928
51.8 km from Linyanti Bushcamp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 6 286
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
56.2 km from Linyanti Bushcamp
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
R 2 120
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
68.2 km from Linyanti Bushcamp
Free parking
Pool
Deck overlooking the Kwando floodplain
Booking.com
R 1 932
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 932
  • Priceline
73.2 km from Linyanti Bushcamp
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
R 3 034
R 2 250
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 034
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 867
78.0 km from Linyanti Bushcamp
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Linyanti Reserve
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
229
49
5
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
229
49
5
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews african bush camps game drives cape buffalo yum yum helicopter flight sister camp three nights camp host amazing safari experience the river well taken care chobe national park wild dogs welcome song the entire staff last night hour drive
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 293 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2022

Our family/friend group stayed at Linyanti Ebony Camp in early June and the entire experience was so much more amazing than we could have ever imagined! Our host KB was welcoming, the staff (Maatla, Villah, Priscilla) were wonderful, and the chefs prepared the most amazing food. My son has a severe tree nut allergy and after several incidents during our journey to Africa, we truly, truly appreciated the staff accommodating him so he could eat and enjoy our trip without worry. We stayed in the family tent and it was by far the most luxury camping we have ever done. The camp overlooks the river with a lovely view towards Namibia and we listened to wildlife while falling asleep.

Our guide Rams was simply amazing, both knowledgeable and personable, and he kept our two 15 year old boys interested and engaged during game drives. Rams understood photography and always parked the vehicle in the best spot so we could all see the animal and it was in the best light for photos.

The Linyanti area is very remote, and it felt like we had the entire area to ourselves. We saw only a couple other vehicles during our time there. We saw large groups of elephants, cape buffalo, impala, red lechwe, baboons, and hippos, as well as giraffes, zebras, hyenas, an African wild cat, wildebeest, and many types of birds. We also did a no-doors helicopter ride while we stayed there.

I highly recommend both Linyanti Ebony Camp and African Bush Camps. This camp was part of a trip that was easily the best vacation we've ever had.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 647sheria
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
African Bush Camps African Bush Camps, Marketing at Linyanti Bushcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2022

Hi Sheria, thank you for your lovely review. we're glad your son was well taken care of. We appreciate the recommendation and hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2022

Linyanti Bush Camp was an unexpected wonder. Staying so close to elephants and hippos was amazing. We arrived to just one of the staff songs they shared during our visit. They have a song for everything even when we leave their good-bye song was wonderful. Our camp host was Evelyn. She was accommodating in every way. We all received our very own ABC water bottle, we used during our entire stay in Africa. Our chefs good, especially desserts. There were 11 of us comprised of family and new friends. Both Chester and Esse our guides were amazing. Chester was our groups appointed guide. His stories, and knowledge of the animals there was nothing he could not name and tell about. He was a tracker learning from his grandfather and father. Great sense of humor, taking time with us viewing the animals and finding unexpected gems such as the Eagle Owl. We were always the last back to camp but well worth it. The camp "Home" as described by the staff. They catered to us and we enjoyed them just sitting down with us individually in the group living room to just chat about their country and culture. They are a very warm and giving people. Would highly recommend

Room tip: Bed were comfortable. Went in the winter, they put hot water bottles in the beds. They are called Bush Babies.
Date of stay: June 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
African Bush Camps African Bush Camps, Marketing at Linyanti Bushcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2022

Hi Kimmar, thank you for your lovely review. Camp truly is home because once you visit any of our camps you become part of the ABC family! Please do return :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2022 via mobile

My family including kids 12 and 15 stayed at the Linyanti Ebony Camp and had an amazing safari experience. I cannot recommend this camp any higher than if you are considering a Botswana safari add this to your itinerary! Our host Helga was so very welcoming. She always had the biggest smile and my daughter considers her a new sister in Africa. Esse our guide was excellent! Under his expert care we chased buffalo with lions, heard the devilish cackle of hyena after dark crunching the bones of a warthog they stole from a lioness and carefully navigated the emotions of elephants protecting their baby in a way that left me with profound respect for the animals. The camp was not the most luxurious of the ABC properties we visited but it was very comfortable and the food was excellent. Nothing was lacking. Thank you to the entire camp for a wonderful stay. Hope to be back soon.

Room tip: We visited in June. The mosquitoes were not bad at all. The nights could be chilly. Pack warm jackets, ski hat and gloves.
Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Erinheiskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
African Bush Camps African Bush Camps, Marketing at Linyanti Bushcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2022

Hi Erin, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. What an adventure! We hope to see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2022

Linyanti was the first camp visited of 5 ABC camps and lodge in Botswana, Zimbabwe and Zambia. It's a standout in many ways. Physically it embodies all the best of a classic luxury bush camp with all the finest elements including a very scenic setting. Especially worth noting are the team at Linyanti, in particular Guide Esse and Hostess Extraordinaire Helga. But they were not alone. As you drive up to the camp, following a memorable transfer from the airstrip (to be further elaborated later on) the entire crew meet you in a joyous welcoming song and dance. Wow, is all I can say. And though it is a recurrent theme at all ABC camps, it is genuine, heartfelt and a great way to be welcomed. Linyanti Reserve is chock full of African wildlife intrigue and excitement. That pulse is felt the minute you step off the Cessna at the air strip and begin the transfer through the Reserve and parts of Chobe National Park. Herds of elephants, giraffes, impalas and two lions highlighted the transfer which was a bonus drive to camp. The moment I hit the tarmac and met Esse we engaged in a banter and exchange that was complete with laughs and a bundle of information as a guide, that made Linyanti unforgettable. He has exceptional guiding skills and knowledge. Couple that with Helga, a gifted, beautiful and highly conversive intelligent team lead, and the days spent at Linyanti were just amazing. ABC knows how to liberally and literally spread the magic dust. Food at Linyanti Bush was excellent, including fine choices of wine at every meal. A blend of gourmet and fresh health prepared menus and meals. The Chef does an outstanding job. Linyanti is a must for any serious safari visit. Most plentiful herds of African buffalo, elephants, baboons, zebras, giraffes, wildebeest, impalas, waterbucks, warthogs. Linyanti is a treasure, and Linyanti Bush Camp provides the ultimate African safari experience.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richjacobson18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
African Bush Camps African Bush Camps, Marketing at Linyanti Bushcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2022

Hi Rich, thank you for your lovely review. You've captured the essence of our camps and we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay, we cant wait to host you again for your next safari adventure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2022 via mobile

We stayed at 3 African Bush Camps during our safari and were blown away by each one. Our hostess was Helga, she was great to chat with and always made sure everyone had a comfortable stay. We still talk about how we wish that Chef Yum Yum could cook for us at home. This camp had our favorite food. From the grilled meats to the sides to the desserts it was just delicious. Our guide Esse was great too! He was great to talk to and knew a lot about the area and the animals we encountered. He always knew when an elephant was just showing off and how to respond with the vehicle to keep everyone safe when they decided to intimidate us. The only downside is that the air strip was flooded last year, so it’s about a 1.5 hour drive to the next air strip, but the guides keep it fun like a safari drive.

Room tip: Fairly buggy due to the marsh.
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ChipElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
African Bush Camps African Bush Camps, Marketing at Linyanti Bushcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2022

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we appreciate it! We're still going to keep Chef Yum Yum in our kitchen but you can definitely return for even more delicious meals, hopefully, we'll be out of the rainy season next time :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews