We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Erinheiskell
Swampscott, Massachusetts

Excellent Safari Experience

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 02 Jul 2022via mobile
My family including kids 12 and 15 stayed at the Linyanti Ebony Camp and had an amazing safari experience. I cannot recommend this camp any higher than if you are considering a Botswana safari add this to your itinerary! Our host Helga was so very welcoming. She always had the biggest smile and my daughter considers her a new sister in Africa. Esse our guide was excellent! Under his expert care we chased buffalo with lions, heard the devilish cackle of hyena after dark crunching the bones of a warthog they stole from a lioness and carefully navigated the emotions of elephants protecting their baby in a way that left me with profound respect for the animals. The camp was not the most luxurious of the ABC properties we visited but it was very comfortable and the food was excellent. Nothing was lacking. Thank you to the entire camp for a wonderful stay. Hope to be back soon.
Date of stay: June 2022
Room Tip: We visited in June. The mosquitoes were not bad at all. The nights could be chilly. Pack warm...
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
African Bush Camps African Bush Camps, Marketing at Linyanti Bushcamp, responded to this review
Responded 12 Jul 2022
Hi Erin, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. What an adventure! We hope to see you back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Our lovely room.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Linyanti Bushcamp
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
36.1 km from Linyanti Bushcamp
Free parking
Pool
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
73.4 km from Linyanti Bushcamp
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Linyanti Reserve
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
229
49
5
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
229
49
5
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews african bush camps game drives cape buffalo yum yum helicopter flight sister camp three nights camp host amazing safari experience the river well taken care chobe national park wild dogs welcome song the entire staff last night hour drive
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 293 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2022

Linyanti was the first camp visited of 5 ABC camps and lodge in Botswana, Zimbabwe and Zambia. It's a standout in many ways. Physically it embodies all the best of a classic luxury bush camp with all the finest elements including a very scenic setting. Especially worth noting are the team at Linyanti, in particular Guide Esse and Hostess Extraordinaire Helga. But they were not alone. As you drive up to the camp, following a memorable transfer from the airstrip (to be further elaborated later on) the entire crew meet you in a joyous welcoming song and dance. Wow, is all I can say. And though it is a recurrent theme at all ABC camps, it is genuine, heartfelt and a great way to be welcomed. Linyanti Reserve is chock full of African wildlife intrigue and excitement. That pulse is felt the minute you step off the Cessna at the air strip and begin the transfer through the Reserve and parts of Chobe National Park. Herds of elephants, giraffes, impalas and two lions highlighted the transfer which was a bonus drive to camp. The moment I hit the tarmac and met Esse we engaged in a banter and exchange that was complete with laughs and a bundle of information as a guide, that made Linyanti unforgettable. He has exceptional guiding skills and knowledge. Couple that with Helga, a gifted, beautiful and highly conversive intelligent team lead, and the days spent at Linyanti were just amazing. ABC knows how to liberally and literally spread the magic dust. Food at Linyanti Bush was excellent, including fine choices of wine at every meal. A blend of gourmet and fresh health prepared menus and meals. The Chef does an outstanding job. Linyanti is a must for any serious safari visit. Most plentiful herds of African buffalo, elephants, baboons, zebras, giraffes, wildebeest, impalas, waterbucks, warthogs. Linyanti is a treasure, and Linyanti Bush Camp provides the ultimate African safari experience.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richjacobson18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
African Bush Camps African Bush Camps, Marketing at Linyanti Bushcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2022

Hi Rich, thank you for your lovely review. You've captured the essence of our camps and we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay, we cant wait to host you again for your next safari adventure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2022 via mobile

We stayed at 3 African Bush Camps during our safari and were blown away by each one. Our hostess was Helga, she was great to chat with and always made sure everyone had a comfortable stay. We still talk about how we wish that Chef Yum Yum could cook for us at home. This camp had our favorite food. From the grilled meats to the sides to the desserts it was just delicious. Our guide Esse was great too! He was great to talk to and knew a lot about the area and the animals we encountered. He always knew when an elephant was just showing off and how to respond with the vehicle to keep everyone safe when they decided to intimidate us. The only downside is that the air strip was flooded last year, so it’s about a 1.5 hour drive to the next air strip, but the guides keep it fun like a safari drive.

Room tip: Fairly buggy due to the marsh.
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ChipElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
African Bush Camps African Bush Camps, Marketing at Linyanti Bushcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2022

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we appreciate it! We're still going to keep Chef Yum Yum in our kitchen but you can definitely return for even more delicious meals, hopefully, we'll be out of the rainy season next time :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2022

I was the leader of a group of 19 family and friend who gathered in Botswana to celebrate a milestone birthday two years late due to Covid. Our first three night were at another camp in the Okavango Delta and this camp was great. We then flew to Linyanti Bush Camp for 3 more nights and were simply blown away. We were greeted at the jeeps with a personalize metal water bottle which was a lovely eco touch and when we arrived at the camp we were serenaded by the staff with a welcome song. The level of service and luxury were evident from the start. In our first group meeting the chef asked each guest about any food allergies which was very professional. The chef was a real master and I have to stay that the food was just incredible at every meal. Everyone was wowed. We had to get 19 people on helicopter rides during our stay and the manager KB when above and beyond to make sure that each party of 19 had the thrill of the 30 minutes helicopter safari. The jeep guides Dutch, Essay and Rams were all excellent and everyone enjoyed getting to know each of them. Our day trip to Savuti was amazing. We were stunned when we arrived for lunch where we all expected a box lunch to find the lodge had sent a separate truck with table and chairs and a full buffet. It was just unbelievable. We saw more elephants than we though possible and so many amazing beasts so close up that it seems unreal. The sundowner drinks were also just beautiful as the sunsets last an hour and each night was more stunning that the last. The rooms were all lovely and lux with large balconies. The rooms were all very well thought out and designed. Overall African Bush Camps is a smooth operator and you are are going to be very very happy if you visit Linyanti Bush Camp during your stay in Botswana. Thank you again for making our visit unforgettably one of the best experiences of our lives...

Room tip: All the rooms were equally lovely and luxurious.
Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dovman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
African Bush Camps African Bush Camps, Marketing at Linyanti Bushcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2022

Wow Dovman, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Each and every one of our guests deserves our utmost attention and we're pleased to hear that, that's what you received. We can't wait to see you all for your next unforgettable experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2022

Hi, we stayed at African Bush Camp Linyanti Ebony for 2 nights with our 3 children (ages 8, 11, 12)
The Lodge was beautiful und right by the water!!! The interior was colonial style, with a fire place by the river, a little pool and terrace.
It is a small but very beautiful camp and the staff is amazing. Also the kitchen by Chef Valentine is really exquisite.

In the evening we sat by the fire and everyone tells the stories from what they saw at the game drives. It is authentic, wild and beautiful.

At night you can hear the hyaenas and the hippos and see the most wonderful stars.

Our guide was called Jerry and he was amazing, great knowledge about nature and animals, patient with the kids, engaged the kids in different activities, found the most beautiful sundowner spots.

We also did the helicopter flight - with no doors!!! It was such a fun experience, a bit scary in the beginning, but unforgettable.

We would always come back!!!

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisysB6565PC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
African Bush Camps African Bush Camps, Marketing at Linyanti Bushcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2022

Thank you for your review Daisy. There's nothing like bonding over a fire and telling stories at camp, we're pleased to hear that you and the kids had a great time. See you next time :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2022

We were a group of six and stayed 3 nights in Linyanti Bush Camp. The stay was very special, as we had rain and thunderstorms on every day and the bushes were very thick. However our guide Joe did everything to show us interesting things and the animals of course. All of the staff in the camp are very attentive and nice. That is why we enjoyed every moment.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaritI_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
African Bush Camps African Bush Camps, Marketing at Linyanti Bushcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2022

Hi Maritl, we're so pleased to hear about your stay and glad that you enjoyed some sightings. We can't wait to see you again for another fantastic safari experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews