We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
195
47
4
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
195
47
4
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game drives cape buffalo tented camp yum yum the river special dinner scenic flight big boy welcome song wild dogs animal sitings amazing safari experience first stop water buck three weeks spent two nights loved every minute
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 255 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

After 3 weeks of holiday in various African countries the Bush amp Liniyanti Ebony was the jewel experience
It wasn’t a glorified camp with hotel amenities but a camp with real safari experience. The staff were like a family, friendly knowledgeable and caring
Our guide Mr Action was a good organiser for our picnics ,tours and entertainment. At night he even showed us the stars and constellations!
I would highly recommend this camp - even the helicopter and Mokoro rides were included !
Money well spent !

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank rbaxani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemma M, Public Relations Manager at Linyanti Bushcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Hi rbaxani,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Linyanti Bush Camp. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time on safari with African Bush Camps. It sounds as though you had an excellent African adventure- thank you for choosing to spend some of your time with us. We firmly believe that the people on our team are what makes our company special- between the guides, hosts, waiters and support staff, they share their passion and knowledge with you and leaves you with an unforgettable experience that will last you a lifetime.
I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team in camp. It was lovely to have you and your family as our guests and we hope that you come back and visit again soon!
Until then, take care and very best wishes,
The African Bush Camps Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

Accommodations, food and staff all exceeded our expectations. Our guide James (007) was phenomenal – knowledgeable of the animals’ natural histories, behaviors, and where to find them. He worked tirelessly to make our experience special. We were surprised by the abundance, diversity and accessibility of the animals – elephants and lions within feet of our land cruiser. We were told that wild dogs are rare, but James found a pack of adults and pups. Highlight of the trip was an excursion to the Savuti, where James found 19 lions including 3 brothers, two lionesses with five cubs feeding on an impala taken that morning, and another group of four lionesses with cubs. A fascinating scene of wild dogs circling near large male lions. He also found a leopard stalking impala then resting in a tree. Lunch in the bush just near a breeding herd of elephants bathing in a water hole. On the ride to the airstrip we watched a large herd of cape buffalo plowing across a water channel. Giraffe, zebra, wildebeest, kudu, impala, waterbuck, hippo, leopard, elephant, lion, wild dog, cape buffalo, hyena, ostrich, baboon, red lechwe, jackal, phenomenal birds. A five-star experience all around.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jimcloern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Linyanti Bushcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2018

Thank you for this amazing review.... such phenomenal sightings that you were treated to. Wild dogs are a rare sight and to see them interacting with lions, even more fascinating.

Thank you for this wonderful feedback it's so good to hear how plentiful the game viewing was. I will pass on the lovely words to our staff, and James in particular.

Until we meet again stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

Spent 4 nights in August 2018, which is the winter/ dry season. Here's my detailed informational review.

Wildlife:
While there aren't very many big cats here, there are plenty of buffalo, hippos, giraffes, elephants, kudu, and birds to see.

Typical schedule:
The typical day starts around 5:30 or 6 AM depending on the season followed by a quick continental style breakfast, then out for the first game drive around 7 AM. Stop for tea and coffee around 9, then return to camp at 11 for a hot brunch. You'll have some free time until about 3, which most people use to catch up on sleep. Then head out for the afternoon drive. Then your guide will find a nice place for a "sundowner", which means drinks and watching the sun go down while out in the field. Very cool. Then head back to the camp for dinner at 7 pm. Then bed.

You'll also have the option to take a half day for a mokoro, which is basically a canoe ride on the delta. I do recommend this. Some say it's boring, but I felt it was a welcome break from the noise and rough roads of the game drives. Very relaxing. We were lucky to encounter some elephants crossing the delta during ours.

During the high season, they also offer a 30-minute scenic helicopter tour. This was a definite highlight of our stay. Jereme, the pilot took off all the doors and this allowed for an awesome ride with excellent views.

Because this is a private reserve, you'll barely see any other vehicles while out on game drives. The only negative of this compared to other areas is it's much harder to track/communicate with other drivers so sightings are much more left to chance.

At camp:
Our tent was very nice. Inside had its own private shower, toilet, and a sink. A queen size 4-poster bed, and couch. There is a small portable air cooler that helps in the summer. The bed has mosquito netting, which is pretty standard in Africa. They'll pick up laundry from your room while you're out on the morning drive. It's line dried so return times are weather dependent. We sent out laundry every day and had it returned the same evening. The only WiFi is located at the office. It's an intentional decision to not have WiFi in the common areas or private tents to encourage the community aspect. It was actually really great. In the evenings, we would talk and tell stories instead of mindlessly scrolling Facebook.

Food:
There is food provided 6 times a day. It's almost a running joke about how full everyone stays. All the meals were very good and approachable for most people. Any dietary requirements should be brought up to the host at arrival and they'll make sure it's taken care of. Our camp host, Boy is very hands-on and will go above and beyond to make sure your every need is taken care of.

ABC was a great experience and I'd highly recommend them. They give a great authentic African experience that has some of the niceties to make it more comfortable but without the unnecessary frills some competitors have like butlers and plunge pools. They are also cheaper, which is always nice.

Room tip: One side of camp is designed for couples while the other is for families.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 313ronaldl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemma M, Public Relations Manager at Linyanti Bushcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Hi Ronald L,

Thank you so much for this review of your stay at Linyanti Bush Camp. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your safari adventure. We at African Bush Camps passionately believe that your guides and hosts are the key to making your safari a memorable one and our guides and the rest of the team in camp are the epitome of those beliefs. Each one presents Africa to you in a unique manner, sharing their passion and knowledge with you and leaving you with an unforgettable experience that will last you a lifetime.
The helicopter experience is a highlight for all of our guests. We believe that there is much more to a safari than being driven around in the back of a game viewer, so we strive to turn an ordinary safari into an extraordinary one, and the heli-trip is a fantastic way to get a different perspective on the area.
I will be sure to pass on your praise and kind words to the whole team in camp.
We hope that you will be back again soon, and look forward to welcoming you back with our warm hospitality when you do!
Until then, take care and very best wishes,
The African Bush Camps Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

Travelling to a place like Linyanti in the middle of pure nature, fare away from shops, paved roads and digital media might be a chellange for Europeans not used to this environment. Bahavoural rules are quite different: Do not step out of your tent at night, you might meet a hippo or leppard. Stay in the car, in order not to make elephants agressiv. Take time as you never know what will happen within the next moment. Bring everything you need as there is no possiblity to buy missing commodities. In change for these restrictions you will expect spectacular experiances with animals and a stunning nature. You will hope for a feeling of adventure, pure and simple luxury and the sentiment of exclusiveness. And you will anticipate overwhelming silence at night.
Some of these expectations come definitly true when arriving at Linyanti Ebony Camp, but some conditions are quite different.
Linyanti turned out not te be exclusive or stunning just because of nature, animals or the remote place. Undoutetly it was the people of the staff of Ebony Camp that struggeled every day to make our stay a unique experiance. It was charismatic and warmhearted Cassie, who was managing the daily routine in the camp, constantly creating new surprises ... or do you know an airstrip on this planet, where you are served a perfect 4-course menu with view of giraffes, zebras and impalas just an hour before you take off. It was James (007), who is not only a cool African guy but primarily the guide with the most excellent knowlede of african nature we could imagine. I cannot remember a guide in other places of this globe that always try the outragous to make unexpected experiances come true and make hidden treasures of nature visable. It was Jeremy, the heli pilot who has opend access to a birdeye´s view of the Linyanti wetlands and made visable how rich in different animals this natural paradise is. He was not just flying his heli but sourrounding the attractions of the area. It was the chef of the camp who created first class cuisine with no extra supply for weeks. And it was may other people of the staff like Gilbert driving cars and mokoro, a guy that seems to be always in a good mood. I cannot imagine that without these wonderful people Linyanti could be such a overwhelming experiance as it was to us. The enthusiam and inspirtion of the staff was the key the unique adventures we had. And this hospitaliy is even more to appreciate because it is obvious that managing a camp in the African bush in the "middle of nowwhere" is pure hard work. Thanks to you all, we will not forget you in lifetime.
(Remark: Whe reading these lines please consider, that this is the personal impression of the author of these lines. We do hope, that other people will come to Linyanti Ebony and meet the same experiance there.)

Florian Rudolf-Miklau (Austria)

Date of stay: August 2018
1  Thank FlorianRudolfMiklau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemma M, Public Relations Manager at Linyanti Bushcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Hi Florian Rudolf-Miklau,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review of your time at Linyanti Ebony. We are so delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay and safari with African Bush Camps. Our philosophy at African Bush Camps is to transform a standard safari into an extraordinary one- and we believe that there is much more to an African safari than being driven around in a vehicle while passively viewing animals. The helicopter flip is just one way of enhancing our guest experience. However, the credit for delivering an unforgettable safari experience must be given to our wonderful team of guides, hosts and camp staff who ensure that through their knowledge and experience, they unravel a wilderness adventure that exceeds your dreams and that you are hosted in a cultured, informed and charming manner. James 007 is one of our best and most beloved guides, and a safari adventure with him is incredible. James has over a decade of guiding experience, which has developed in him a passion for flora and fauna and the smaller things seen in the bush, such as wildflowers and birds.
We hope that you will join us again soon!
Until then, take care and very best wishes,
The African Bush Camps Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

My husband and I recently spent 3 days At Linyanti Bush Camp. The entire experience was perfect! We spent busy days viewing all the delta had to offer; elephants, giraffes, wild dogs, hippos, leopards, monkeys, baboons and buffalo, nicely punctuated by coffee and biscuits off the front of the truck during the morning, and cocktails and snacks beside a hippo pool at "sundowner." The passion and knowledge that our guide, James (007) and the other staff had for the wildlife was extraordinary! Although dedicated to making your game viewing as exceptional as possible, you knew that if it was a choice between a guest's wishes and an animal's safety they would choose the later... which is as it should be.
While back at the camp the food, accommodations, and service were equally as overwhelming as the game viewing. The staff provides everything they can to make your stay more than comfortable, they make it unforgettable! From porridge and "giraffe" toast over the open fire in the morning, to hot water bottles under a down duvet in the evening, nothing is left to chance. Far and away African Bush Camps provided the most amazing vacation we've ever taken.

Room tip: All six luxury tents are identical as far as I know.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DST1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemma M, Public Relations Manager at Linyanti Bushcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Hi DST1211,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your safari adventure at Linyanti Bush Camp. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful time! It sounds as though you had some amazing sightings! James is a phenomenal guide. He was born and raised in the Panhandle of the Okavango Delta, and he has grown up to become a naturalist with exceptional experience and who knows the African bush intimately and has an amazing knowledge of and a deep love and respect for the wilderness and its inhabitants. The rest of our team is just as amazing- they are all dedicated to making your safari experience the very best it can be, and ensure that you are hosted in a cultured, informed and charming manner.
We hope that you will join us for another adventure soon!
Until then, take care and very best wishes,
The African Bush Camps Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews