We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous villa & hosts”
other traveller has booked this property
15 metre pool, with platfrom for small children, spacious terrace and lawn area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
15 metre pool, with platfrom for small children, spacious terrace and lawn area
property overview
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
15 metre pool, with platfrom for small children, spacious terrace and lawn area
property overview
Spectacular Etna views and swimming pool with large solarium
Stunning panoramic views of the Ionian sea
Under the peaks of the mighty volcano
Comfortable lounge area with deep sofas and armchairs and open fireplace
Stylish modern and spacious open-plan living area
Beautiful and functional kitchen with lava stone worktop
All bedrooms have pool and sea views through wide double french doors
Large, modern, airy and light bedrooms
All bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms
Bedroom with spacious wardrobes
Large, modern, airy and light ensuite bathrooms
Very large glass enclosed showers
The colours of the 15 metre pool changes according to the time of day
Pick your own lemons for an afternoon gin and tonic!
The villa is immersed in its own private lemon grove
18 hole golf course a short drive away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Santa Venerina, Province of Catania, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
72rch
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous villa & hosts”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at La Quercia for 2 weeks with our 3 boys aged 13, 11 and 8. Cinzia and Nunzio were perfect hosts, from meeting us off the motorway to show us to the villa, to booking a restaurant for our final night - always helpful and responsive. The villa was beautifully clean, extremely well equipped and very comfortable. The garden and pool area were also clean and well looked after, the lovely pool an ideal place to cool off as well as providing hours of entertainment for the children. Santa Venerina has everything you need, and we enjoyed trips to Mount Etna, Syracuse, Riviera dei Ciclopi and Castelmola, all within easy reach. We definitely recommend La Quercia and would love to return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, and the sense of being in a home-from-home - having everything a family needs
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and house
Liked least: The access is narrow but we got used to this.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MJPearce
Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Superb villa in stunning location”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at La Quercia for one week in September with our 3 twenty something daughters and one boyfriend. It was the first family holiday we had been on for some years and we could not have chosen anywhere better. The villa is a short drive from the village of Santa Venerina which has a few shops, a supermarket and La Mansarda restaurant serving the best pizzas we have had in years. It is the perfect location to explore the surrounding area with Taormina, Mount Etna and the coast all easily accessible. The villa itself is absolutely lovely - the pictures do not do it justice. It was built by a Norwegian family and is a blend of Scandinavian style and simplicity (eg polished concrete floors throughout) combined with a Mediterranean lifestyle. The whole villa is very well equipped - efficient AC, utility room, TV, wifi, dishwasher etc etc. The bedrooms are simple but with good storage and all open out on to the terrace. The bathrooms are lovely with powerful showers and space to put everything out (I hate it when there is nowhere to put toiletries and suntan lotion etc!).The living room is huge, light and airy. But it is the stunning location which makes this place really stand out. Set in the middle of a lemon grove it has a massive covered verandah area with table and chairs for outdoor dining and yet another table and benches under the shade of the lemon trees - perfect for long, lazy lunches. The pool is fabulous with a large sunbathing terrace complete with loungers and views to the sea. Honestly - book this place, you will not be disappointed. However - it is not suitable for young children as 2 of the bedrooms are only accessible from outside, near to the pool and with 4 or 5 lava rock steps leading up to them. Also you would be well advised to book a small car as 100m of the half mile or so approach is along a narrow drive with 2m stone walls on each side. Mind you small cars are sensible in Sicily anyway as roads are often narrow and Italian drivers tend not to slow down! When booking it might be worth asking if the electric gates have been fitted yet as it was quite a mission to keep remembering to take the keys and open and close them the whole time. All in all I would not hesitate in recommending this as a perfect place for a relaxing holiday with teenagers or grown ups.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The covered verandah and the gorgeous pool
Liked least: The drive between stone walls!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna M
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sicilian heaven on a plate”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived from the Agrigento area of Sicily and found our way driving down a tiny driveway surrounded by lemon trees, plum trees and olive trees when we arrived at the house. As soon as we walked into the main living space we knew we were going to have a magical holiday. Local prosecco and homemade marmelades and biscuits had been left as a welcome for us and what a great way to start the holiday it was. We have three children aged 9,8 and 4 and the house was simply perfect for us all. Three bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms, exceptionally clean, a stunning swimming pool that was looked after very well and 180 degree views of the sea. Recommendations by the owners of the property for local vineyards, restaurants, icecream shops were great and helped us find our feet in the local area too. The only thing worth being aware of is that two of the bedrooms are not accessible from within the main living space so you have to go outside to get into them. We were a little worried about this because of the age of the kids but armed with a digital video baby alarm supplied by the owners this sorted out our concerns and we could hear them and see them sleeping every night. The local area is stunning and trips to Etna, food in fantastic untouristy Sicilian restaurants a must. If ever we had a problem with anything (there weren't many) then Cinzia and Nunzio who manage the property were there to sort within minutes. This is a very special holiday destination and we felt very lucky to have enjoyed it for 10 days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning location and quality of the property
Liked least: A few wasps when eating out at lunch but this was of minor concern
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria G
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely base to explore a beautiful country.”
Reviewed 16 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Villa La Quercia is a beautiful house. Clean, modern and spacious. As can be seen by the photos, it has a huge living/dining/kitchen area which is ideal for family living. The 'wall of windows' out to the garden, lemon trees and pool create a bright, airy 'indoor-outdoor' feel, which, by the end of the week I was wishing that I could scoop up and transport back to my house in England.

Many rental houses are dark and cluttered, but this one feels very new and almost minimal, so that you can spread out your own belongings and not feel overwhelmed by tat. Excellent for travelling with children - usually I have to collect all the ornaments and hide them out of reach for the week - none of that rubbish here.

The house is hidden away in a Lemon grove, so you really do feel some privacy and peace. The grassed area has views out to the sea, and even though (at the beginning of April) the pool was too cold to actually swim in, the children did a lot of paddling and we enjoyed many hours outside. A very relaxing place to be.

The villa is very well appointed and the kitchen has everything that you could wish for (except maybe a microwave if pushed), and the extra fridge to keep drinks came in very useful indeed. The bedrooms, again are light and spacious, with lots of storage.

The only downside to this house is that the 2 extra bedrooms cannot be reached through the house - you have to go outside to get to them. We overcame this problem with a baby video monitor, and every night locked our 7 and 5 year old into their bedroom, knowing that we could see they were safe and could hear if there was a problem. We didn't realise when we booked, but without this technology, we personally couldn't have used the other bedrooms, as the children would have had to wander past the pool if they got up in the night. That said, once we figured out a system, it worked for us, but perhaps not ideal for very young children.

The location of the villa is perfect. 40 minutes from the airport, and a similar distance to Taormina. We were very excited about the volcano, and so were delighted to be close by. You can actually hear the rumblings from the house, and if you're lucky enough to be there during the many bouts of volcanic activity, on an evening you can stroll down the lane and watch the red glow from the top of the mountain. Spectacular. We also took a (long) daytrip to Agrigento, which was 2 and a half hours away, but well worth the journey. The local village has an excellent grocer, and the supermarket is only 10 minutes away.

A lovely lady called Cinzia sorts out the booking - she is efficient and extremely helpful. On arrival, even though late at night, she and her husband met us from the motorway to take us to the house and show us round. The villa was spotless, and Cinzia was in contact throughout the week to ensure that we were not having any problems.

I would definitely recommend Sicily - it is not 'touristy' (apart from maybe Taormina). If you are the sort of person who likes to go on holiday to find an English pub and a carvery this is not for you. (In fact if you are that sort of person, you should really stay where you are.) The shops and bars tend to not speak any English, but everyone is friendly and we got by, even on my scattered Italian. It has layer upon layer of astonishing history and the food and culture are amazing. We will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The sheltered patio area with views to the sea and pool.
Liked least: The fact that the 2 other bedrooms are not connected. We felt that this should have been clearer on the website.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing