We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$687
US$666
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Infinity on the Beach(Dover)(Great Value!)
US$134
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southern Palms(St. Lawrence Gap)(Great Value!)
US$226
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Divi Southwinds Beach Resort(Christ Church Parish)
US$179
US$145
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Time Out Hotel(St. Lawrence Gap)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$121
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rostrevor Hotel(St. Lawrence Gap)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Gap Hotel(St. Lawrence Gap)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$152
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ocean Two Resort & Residences(St. Lawrence Gap)(Great Value!)
US$240
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (773)
Filter reviews
773 results
Traveller rating
244
336
126
38
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
336
126
38
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe gapst lawrence gapgarden viewsun deckmain buildingbars and restaurantshousekeeping staffbudget hotelrum punch partythe activities deskmin walksmall kitchenwithin easy walking distancesmall hotelfriendly hotelself cateringconvenience store
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 773 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at Dover beach hotel for the first time and was so impressed with the staff and their customer service skills I would go there again. We gad a studio self catering room which had very good kitchen facilities but the rooms do need a bit of re decoration. It does look very tired and worn. I felt let down by the food in the restaurant as it was not very good and very expensive i would say avoid it if you can. If you are short of cash or looking for a no thrills hotel this is for you.

Room Tip: The studio rooms are best.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank annepink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVERIL B, Guest Relations Manager at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for staying with us at Dover Beach Hotel. We appreciate your feedback. We are pleased that our staff impressed you with customer service. Of course, we are disappointed that you did not feel the same way about the food in the restaurant. I certainly hope that you visit us again in teh future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here early May for 10 days.

We had upgraded to a sea view room which was definately worth it. The rooms are pleasant and spacious and very carribean style with the white wicker furniture, plenty of storage space, ie double wardrobe, 6 large drawers in the dressing table and a bedside cabinet each.

Kitchen was old but very convenient, with a microwave, hob, large fridge, kettle and toaster and with a supermarket less than 5 minutes away, we could stock up with cold drinks, basic necessities for breakfast and of course some local rum!

Room was cleaned every day, so no complaints.

There is a bar/small restaurant in the hotel, which is a little more expensive than outside but no where near normal hotel prices, so we did have a few drinks in there and lunch a couple of times, it’s nice to chill when your spending the day by the pool and not feel like your being ripped off.

There is no beach at this hotel but you can walk along and take your towel, unfortunately while we was there, the beach was full of seaweed and was far too choppy to swim in, Sandals is two hotels down and I would’ve been well miffed if I’d paid to go there and still not go to the beach, but Mother Nature can’t be tamed.

Mary in reception is very helpful and will book your trips for you. We booked Oistins Friday night fish fry, which is an experience, it was $15 each for a taxi, I’ve heard people say that they walk there but it must be at least a 45 minute walk and the roads are not paved properly or lit well, so either book a taxi or get on the reggae reggae bus which is $2 each, it can be packed and is used by everyone, but they are everywhere and you can hop on and off or stay on and go round the island for $2!

We also done the Calabreza catamaran afternoon cruise, which was amazing! food and drink was free flowing all afternoon and then a swim with the turtles and a snorkel around a shipwreck, my only gripe was that it wasn’t long enough, time flies when your having fun!

Our favourite beach was Rockley Beach, which was about a 25 minute walk from the hotel, it’s easy to find but the roads are a bit hairy as there is no pavement in places, so hop on the bus, it’s probably safer.

When you go to Rockley Beach enter through the Tiki Bar, you can then get 2 sun beds and an umbrella for $15us each, they then give you tokens to spend in the bar for $60barbados dollars, what a result, drinks food, bathroom facilities, great beach, amazing atmosphere what more can you ask for? We went back on a Friday evening for a meal, there was a reggae band playing, so good food, cocktails and watch the sun go down, perfect!

Location - as you exit the hotel, turn left and just keep walking and you will soon hit the restaurants and bars, there is something for everyone, small huts serving drinks and food in a very relaxed setting, no need to dress up and further along more restaurants. To be honest we didn’t have s bad meal in anyone of them, ranging from £40 in Pronto to our most expensive bill of £135 in Primo, almost at the end of the gap. Pure Ocean is also worth a mention, as great food and a lovely setting. Sharkeys bar is brilliant for cocktails as is Cocktail kitchen.

We loved it here and would definitely recommend this hotel as a great base, getting around is easy. The hotel is not top class but Barbados is so relaxed, just go with the flow and chill. We visited sandals for a day $130us Dollars each from 10am to 6pm and I wouldn’t have swapped our holiday for a stay in Sandals.

Please be careful when out walking, I fell down a pothole on the last night, as the roads and pavements are bad and the lighting is not good and being a small hotel there was no first aider and only had a small first aid kit, so we had to wait until morning until the chemist opened to get fresh plasters and bandages.

Stayed: May 2018
2  Thank Essexfamily_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVERIL B, Guest Relations Manager at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We appreciate the time you took to write such a detailed review. Your feedback is very much important to us and valued. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you at Dover Beach and for providing future guests with such useful tips. We are of course very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel, but more importantly, that you got off the property and experienced the destination and much that it has to offer, which clearly was well worth your while. There still so much more to add to your Barbados experiences.

We hope to see you and your family very soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Love this place!! Will book again and again. Stayed there with my mom and daughter. This is my home town I just wanted to stay somewhere that wasn’t close to family. So clean , professional and in point. Thank you!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank geedwards29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVERIL B, Guest Relations Manager at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for staying with us at Dover Beach and for your comments, which we really value. We are thrilled to have hosted you again. We happy to be your home base while in Barbados and we look forward to hosting you for many years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You get what you pay for, and sadly, Barbados is STILL ripping off "the tourists". Though I don't mind being inconvenienced and disappointed while on holiday in Barbados, but it might take another century or more before the level of reliably good service for MOST hotels finally get it... service... not yet and the prices continue to escalate. The good news is that if you're lucky, you might make it out without too much aggravation.

Room Tip: all rooms have a pretty have a good ocean view
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hypnotique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVERIL B, Guest Relations Manager at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We are a little perplexed as the comments were so general. It's difficult for us to address specifics when none are mentioned. We are not sure if your comments were aimed at the hotel, the destination or others activities. Whatever the issue, we do believe that you do have an affinity for the destination, which must mean something and we do hope that on your next visit to Barbados, you will witness noticeable improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Visited in May with two of my girl friends. We booked through BA and both the hotel and flight were excellent value for money. The location of the hotel is perfect - right beside lots of fun bars and restaurants! The hotel is a perfect size, not too big so you get to know all the staff. The team were super helpful and friendly, Mary helped us organise lots of fun activities to go on, one of the girls on the front desk recommended hangover remedies and the girls in the restaurant/bar always had great chat and recommendations! The rooms are simple but let's face it, you're in Barbados, who wants to spend too much time in your room?!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
3  Thank Sampattyharps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVERIL B, Guest Relations Manager at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for giving us the opportunity to host you and your friends. We really appreciate this feedback, as your comments completely match the core tenets of our brand and the highlights of St Lawrence Gap. We especially appreciate the acknowledgement of the friendliness of our staff...medicinal hangover solutions notwithstanding. You summed it up really well and what that tells us is that we absolutely delivered what we promised. And yes, we completely agree with you that you don't want to spend much time in your room when in Barbados and particularly when you are staying in St Lawrence Gap.
Thanks again, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews