We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
78
16
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
16
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sweetfield manor plantation house the main house every morning swimming pool dining room old house beautiful garden toast koi pond coffee and tea island room high ceilings antique furniture sea view captain's quarters omelet
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2018

We had a wonderful four night stay at Sweetfield Manor. A lovingly restored and upgraded Plantation house, with antique furniture and tasteful contemporary touches. You can tell that a great deal of attention has been put into the restoration and accommodation for guests.

The staff were excellent and could not do enough to look after us. The breakfast varied every day and was world class. I have stayed in numerous boutique hotels around the world, and Sweetfield Manor is definitely one of the best.

The grounds are beautiful, and we loved the free form pool surrounded by tropical planting.

Everything from restaurants to beaches are only a few minutes drive away.

Wonderful place...and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo_SKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweetfield Mano... B, Manager at Sweetfield Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Thank you for this wonderful review. We are so happy you loved your stay in our little corner of paradise. It is especially nice to hear that our staff made your experience so fantastic. We look forward to welcoming you to Sweetfield Manor again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed only one night and the staff was most accommodating. The grounds are lovely and rooms are clean and most charming. Staff called for a taxi so we could partake dinner at an authentic Barbados restaurant. Breakfast served at a table for two was extensive and the food was very yummy. We are very happy we choose this Inn although our stay was brief. We would definitely come back!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank fairlawngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

This historic inn is tucked back in a quiet neighborhood in Bridgetown on a deceptively large property. Upon our arrival, my wife and I were warmly greeted by the staff and I was provided a delicious and refreshing mango cherry juice; special kudos to Michelle. However, the warm welcome began long before we arrived. Once we booked the room we received an email with information about the inn. In the days leading up our arrival Sandra provided information about parking as well as a dinner menu and option to make reservations for dinner at the inn the day of our arrival.

After being escorted to our room, Sandra gave us a tour of the grounds which really are quite lovely. In keeping with the traditional nature of the inn, our room, the Mignonette Room, had wood floors and was well appointed with antique furniture. The bed was very comfortable as was the climate control. In addition to the remote controlled air conditioner, there was a ceiling fan. The bathroom was also well appointed with complimentary toiletries.

There are a total of 10 rooms available at the Sweetfield Manor. Our room was in the main house. There are also outer cottages available which garden views and in couple of cases, more space. However, I found our room to be quiet with sufficient space and privacy throughout our stay.

The meals at Sweetfield Manor were truly outstanding. Dinners were offered; though not inexpensive, the Saturday dinner I had was a delicious, multi-course meal. I started with a salad consisting of tomato, fresh mozzarella and basil with a balsamic vinaigrette. The entree was baked dolphin with peppers and asparagus on a pan fried cauliflower cake. The dolphin was outstanding, but I was very impressed with the cauliflower cake which was tasty and unique. The meal ended with a slice of chocolate cake with a chocolate mousse filling.

Breakfast was included with our stay and were also multi-course and excellent. They included fresh fruit salad, toast and fresh baked bread, omelet, egg soufflé, poached eggs, pancakes and cherry French toast. Not only were the meals delicious, but the staff serving the meals and describing them to us were outstanding. Coffee and tea were also available during the day; complimentary snacks were also offered when we enjoyed our tea on the porch.

I found it very convenient to have rented a car during our stay. It allowed us to get around Barbados easily even though Sweetfield Manor is close to a beach and restaurants. Sweetfield Manor provided secure parking with easy access to and from the property.

The grounds of the Inn are expansive and provide several tranquil areas, including the lagoon like pool and Jacuzzi area as well as a few sitting areas. I particularly enjoyed the seating area over a koi pond stocked with lovely large tropical fish. However, the real showstoppers are the peacocks who roam the grounds and appear to be the unofficial mascots of the Sweetfield Manor. I must have counted more than 20 peacocks of varying sizes, male and female. The male peacocks gave us several shows while preening with their plumage. Yet they never intruded into our personal space.

Sweetfield Manor helped to make my first stay in Barbados very special. I look forward to returning to Barbados and will definitely be staying at Sweetfield Manor when I return.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jonahNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

We chose to stay at Sweetfield Manor for the last four days of our trip to Barbados in which we sold our house of 28 years standing. The last few weeks had been very hectic and emotional dealing with the house sale and saying farewell to the many friends we had made over the years.

Having to vacate our home four days prior to our flight back to the UK we decided to find out what was behind the gates of Sweeetfield Manor, which we has passed so many times and had never ventured into.

We made the perfect choice as it turned out.

We started communication by e-mail with Sandra and Michelle who replied immediately with any enquiry we had about our pending stay and who could not have been more informative and accommodating regarding our booking. Booking was easy and confirmed immediately.

We chose the Captain's Quarters for our stay, purely on the basis of the size and location with a sea view. We can highly recommend this room which is large, with both a garden and sea view, king bed and a very large and well appointed bathroom with luxury dressing gowns and L;Occitane toiletries. Additionally there is a tea and coffee making facility, TV, well stocked mini bar and Wi Fi which worked throughout the hotel.

We can highly recommend this room. Having had the opportunity to see other rooms we would choose the Island Room should the Captain's Quarters not be available..

The manor itself houses a dining room, lounge and verandah area, all furnished with local antique furniture and is very tastefully decorated. Additionally there is a small shaded patio with comfortable chairs.

Meals can be served in the Manor or at tables located on a deck adjacent to the hotel.

Furthermore for a special occasion you could probably arrange to have your meal in one of the secluded areas in the garden for a more private experience.

The gardens offer a tranquil setting although you have to share with many peacocks who live in and around the hotel grounds. There is an expansive deck at the bottom of the garden giving a panoramic view of Bridgetown from the Garrison Savannah to the Deep water Harbour from where you can view the cruise liners leaving in the early evening. .

There is a freshwater lagoon which is quite unique and a whirlpool offering a refreshing break from the sun-loungers located on the lawn nearby..

The Gourmet 4/5 course complimentary breakfasts are just that and offer a very different approach to standard British and American full breakfast, but if there is any one course that doesn't appeal an alternative was always available upon request.

At breakfast you will be shown the Dinner Menu for that evening so that if you wish to partake you book a table then. The menu changes daily but there are normally only two main courses, plus a vegetarian option to choose from. We liked what was available on two evenings and can say the food was superb and on our first evening we were the only people dining in a plantation style setting that made it feel it was your own homerather than a hotel.

From Sandra and Michelle who are so approachable and always willing to help, the entire staff were so friendly and went the extra mile to make our stay so memorable.

The Manor is an ideal location for exploring the island and should you wish to dine out on some evenings there are many eating establishments in the area. Additionally it is a only a few minutes drive into Bridgetown or to probably two of the best beaches on the Island, namely Pebbles and Carlisle Bay, the latter especially for those with young children

We were lucky during our visit that there were only two small functions which took place one a cocktail party early evening and the other a children's afternoon event for two hours for an Easter Egg Hunt, which was very entertaining as it turned out.

However for a return visit we would want to ensure there was not a large event planned ie a Wedding as the set up for this would without doubt change the access to much of the garden area, restricting access to the large deck, lawn and Lagoon as these areas would become taken over by the Wedding. If they dined in the Manor and not in a marquee on the lawns this would be even more restricting to hotel guests, but this could happen at any hotel if you are not aware of such an event. However here this is a small boutique hotel so could impact more.

We believe in the future this will not happen once they renovate a replica house next door in the overall grounds to accommodate larger functions.

However that would be are only concern and if and when we return to Barbados our first move will be to head to Sweetfield Manor.

A wonderful experience with all the staff going the extra mile to make our visit so memorable.

Room Tip: Suggest Captain's Room or Island Room in the Manor
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank richardrawlinson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

We had our wedding there April 2017 and a year later my husband and I and our guests are still talking about it. From that 1st day reception, the experience was wonderful. The grounds are lovely and well maintained, the rooms are nice and uniquely decorated and the overall experience is a good and pleasant one.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Goldandwhitewedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews