We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$244
US$196
View deal
SAVE US$48
Free cancellation until 21/06/19
Booking.com
US$244
US$196
View deal
SAVE US$48
Free cancellation until 21/06/18
Expedia.com
US$244
US$196
View deal
SAVE US$48
Free cancellation until 21/06/19
eDreamsUS$196
CheapTicketsUS$196
PricelineUS$244
View all 17 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (886)
Filter reviews
886 results
Traveller rating
664
161
43
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
664
161
43
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews weaver birds mongolian night pizza main restaurant nothing is too much trouble swim up bar executive suite each evening themed evenings breakfast and dinner mosquito net hakuna matata spent a week asante sana plenty of sunbeds palm trees indian ocean
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 886 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2021

From the time of arrival until our departure it was a wonderful experience staying at Pinewood. Especially during COVID times, we were very happy to have chosen this hotel. All staff members wore masks everywhere (at the beach, outside and inside premises ), there were sanitizing stations all around, social distances were kept. Breakfast and dinner buffets were served by staff, which made us feel safe while we still had a big variety to choose from.
Shortly before our departure back to Germany, contradicting news spread regarding the necessity of a negative test for our flight back. The Manager Pamela went out of her way and arranged everything for us within no time, so that we had the negative results before leaving the hotel.

We really felt more like family than just guests. The hotel staff were very welcoming and it was obvious they really wanted us to enjoy our stay and each meal we had. Food was delicious and the different themes and locations each evening were fun. We highly reccomend the Pinewood Resort!

Date of stay: January 2021
2  Thank letshavefuntogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2021 via mobile

We will always remember every moment at Pinewood beach resort. Evans received as so well and took us to the reception desk which was professionally manned by Meshack. We enjoyed the express check-in from Meshack. Well done Meshack. In the restaurant we met two friendly guys. Wycliffe the waiter and Nixon the chef who made us enjoy the stay even much more. We promise to be back soon. Owen and Linda Ajima. Big thank you Pinewood staff with their big hearts.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank wabucheri123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2021 via mobile

We stayed three nights at this place, including new year, and had very mixed impressions. The hotel itself is lovely, a bit at the outskirts of Diani which makes the beach also less crowded. They are having a nice pool, good beach area and two outdoor bars.

The hotel clearly targets overseas tourists (we are residents), and we had very mixed experiences there.

Really outstanding was the food (we have booked half board). Very evening the dinner was set up at a different area (beach, pool,..), very cool. While we normally not like buffet style
dinners they offered a mix here. Barbecue, cooking in a wok...very nice selection but also very good quality and very tasty (and my wife and myself are foodies). Same applies for the breakfast. Really great!

The dark side was the service sector. The staff was very friendly but also very unattentive and obviously not properly trained or guided.

We ordered a bottle of champagne upfront to be in our room at arrival. Even confirmed by email this was not executed, it took them three hours to organize this after arrival and we got a half warm bottle (which we did not even open). Same picture at the bar: impossible to get a cold beer at the beach bar („problems with the fridge), the smokers did dump the cigarette butts on the floor as no ashtrays were provided and it did not happen once, when we were at the bar area, that somebody asked if we want an additional drink. You always had to go, ask and wait for a fortune of time. Same happened when we moved our room - were told „somebody is coming“, called a 2nd time after one hour and finally I walked to the reception to get this done.

These are the annoying experiences and always shows that there is a management problem - the people itself have been friendly and helpful.

So summarized:
- nice atmosphere, nice place
- excellent chefs and food, outstanding
- poor management and service quality

This leads to a average rating.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 347matthiasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2020

I was disappointed by this place, which was OK but nothing special. Rooms were quite bare, with only one chair and one stool apart from the bed (two singles pushed together to make a double), basic Swahili style shower, and no TV. One quite small swimming pool, which would be overcrowded if the resort was busy. Lots of seaweed on the beach (other hotels rake it up). Food was fine but again nothing to write home about. Solidly only a two or at most three star hotel, but with a four to five star price tag. On the positive side, the staff were very friendly and tried their best, given the difficult situation of COVID-19.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mzungubabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2020

Although we booked for a few days at a relatively low season, we had the best time on any resort so far on the south coast of Kenya - and it was our first time at Pinewood. We have stayed at other resorts on Galu Beach and on Diani Beach but this is the one I will definitely return to. What makes it special?

Excellent staff
Smallish hotel to keep it cosier
Good beach
Excellent views from our first floor room
Good size clean room
Refurbished bathroom with dual showers
Own beach beds on the beach away from hawkers - this is not at all common on the south coast and it makes relaxing so much better.

Very good food - as a vegetarian I get tired of the standard Indian fare in all South coast hotels and the chefs tried to accommodate us very well. The different themes each day also made it interesting and we never needed to order à la carte. Very good salads every evening. The choice of two sittings makes it easier too.

As other reviewers have also pointed out, on all South Coast beaches you need to wear swimming shoes / water shoes for swimming in the sea - certain areas in the sea are rocky and not sandy. However you do not need these for walking on the beach - which too is a lovely long stretch. I think Galu beach is far better for walking than Diani beach.

As a bonus for birders, there is a water area near the breakfast area where weaver birds have built their nests - you can also spot the odd heron and other birds....

The manager Pamela is a gem of a person.

Room tip: rooms at the beach have better views but pricier. ones near lobby quieter in the daytime
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astonangel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews