We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (887)
Filter reviews
887 results
Traveller rating
665
161
43
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
665
161
43
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews weaver birds mongolian night pizza main restaurant nothing is too much trouble swim up bar executive suite each evening themed evenings breakfast and dinner mosquito net hakuna matata spent a week asante sana plenty of sunbeds palm trees indian ocean
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 887 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018

On arrival at Pinewood our greeting couldn't of been more friendly and professional.
The staff were absolutely first class and looked after you impeccably, nothing was too much trouble.
The resort was beautiful, with gardeners working every day. The site was clean and well kept. The pool and bar areas were lovely with amazing views across the perfect beach. The rooms were clean and comfortable with tea/coffee making facilities. Beds were comfortable, bathroom and veranda all excellent.
The food was first class. a couple of times a week they held a theme night (cooking from different countries) held around the pool.
Breakfast and Dinner had a vast selection of food, some cooked there and then infront of you.
Lunch was served next to the beach with beautiful salads, local fish, burgers and their speciality was the amazing pizzas made to order.
The staff were so lovely and friendly and it sounds soppy but you got to know them so well, it was upsetting to leave them!
The resort was fairly quiet, but never boring and had a lovely happy atmosphere.
My sister and brother in law who we travelled with had been there 7 years previously and loved being back and even recognised some of the staff, and more importantly, the staff recognicsed them! Lovely, lovely holiday.

Room tip: There were rooms looking out across the beach, but all the rooms looked out into the gardens.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AvonlineLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

Me and my wife visited after going on safari. We stayed for 5 nights and were really pleasantly surprised. All of the staff are so happy and so accommodating. They never hang around waiting for tips they are just nice people. The food in the main restaurant is really good, they do excellent curry’s, oh and Mongolian night was great.
We were on all inclusive and all the drinks good including the local spirits, and the cocktails which were really good. It’s very quiet at night which is good but with all the different bars we felt they could do more with. For example the beach bar is virtually unused in the evening, could have been a music bar,for those who like a drink with some music.
The room we had was a suite which was lovely, however the bathroom needs some updating as do the towels, and pathways. It would have been nice as well to have had a night when you had a menu and a choice of food and table service as they virtually do it anyway. Mention to nimrod at the beach bar along with Hamadi and the lady who does breakfast and the beach bar all really good staff but too many
Too mention. The beaches were empty but pure white as good as many beaches I have been to in Mauritius. However word of warning there are rocks in the sea, you need to wear beach beach shoes as it they can be sharp, but didn’t ruin the trip. They had a water sports section on resort but there was not a single thing for free. Would have been to have maybe one or two things free it would have been good and got you using the equipment. The brilliant thing at our beach was hawkers are not allowed to come near you in the little walled beach area and they respect it. When you go out to the sea they will come to you, be firm and respectful and they are fine. I had a massage from Maria from the hawkers for an hour at 700 shillings, so £4. I felt safe and it was good. Be prepared to haggle. We had a small issue with a seafood dish at the beach bar restaurant, he food was obviously defrosted but not properly and was cold. However when I told the manager Pamela she was really genuinely apologetic and said she would get it removed from my bill. She then came and found me at the beach the next day to say she had looked into it and staff admitted it was poor. I liked that she made the effort to look into it and again tell me about it and apologise. She is genuinely interested in listening and making improvements, so thank you Pamela. Overall we had a great relaxing holiday and I would recommend it.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Prayag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

We visited as a fully inclusive family trip for 3 days after a busy Safari. It was about 1.5 hour drive from Mombasa in the evening through some dubious areas of Mombasa. You could get a Safarilink plane closer to the hotel if budget allows. The best point about this hotel is the staff, they are so friendly and accommodating. The hotel itself is a little tired and could do with some TLC . Minor points such as the keys having masking tape with room number written on it, some of the paths are broken up , the showers and towels are old but these are minor points and could be rectified. The food was plenty with various options, we worked our way through the cocktail menu, the pool and beach area were good. There were beach hawkers but they weren't too overbearing and you could have a laugh with them, say thank you but no thank you and they would move on. The rooms were cleaned every day and in the evening the beds were turned down with mosquito nets pulled. We left feeling refreshed after a busy safari.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank claired227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

One of the most wonderful things about Pinewood was the lack of musak. No bad Belgian jazz by the pool, no noisy pop songs in the bar just peace and quiet to enjoy the sounds of the sea and the calls of the birds. We weren't hassled on the beach and the service was amazing. I had read a couple of negative reviews before booking but I can only assume these people were at a different hotel. The food was varied and well cooked the drinks served by smiling helpful people and our room was bright and clean. Watching the weaver birds building their nests in the trees by the fish pool as we ate breakfast was another highlight. Only one thing spoiled it the shower in our room which was either scalding hot or cold and only came out in a trickle but I am sure this will be rectified as the hotel is renovating certain areas and adding wifi into the rooms. We had a fabulous time.

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank valer1e143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

After our fourth visit to Pinewood (a three week stay) we can only say we will return yet again. Why? The whole experience is unique. The setting,the staff, the food, the beach, the wildlife combine to create an ambience that is so different to the typical branded corporate beach hotel. An idyllic haven in which to relax.
Like many guests we meet at Pinewood we are in danger of becoming addicted to Pinewood having travelled widely and promised for many years that the world had too much to offer that return visits were not for us. How wrong we were.
Thanks to all the staff for making every aspect of our stay so wonderful. Pamela you are a gem ! Polly you are the producer of perfect puddings and what a mover to 'Happy Birthday'. Herbert and Eunice you are superb.
We hug and smile on arrival chill for three weeks and shed a tear on leaving. Guess that says it all.


Date of stay: February 2018
3  Thank boybilly_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews