We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$211
View deal
Hotels.com
US$195
View deal
Booking.com
US$211
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
TravelocityUS$195
eDreamsUS$211
Prestigia.comUS$251
View all 17 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
155
22
1
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
155
22
1
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washing machine plunge pool poolside restaurant bedroom bungalow lower pool apple crumble home away from home family vacation quiet pool pools are lovely cleaned daily spacious rooms spent nights pool attendant slice of paradise palm trees air conditioning
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2020

My wife and I wanted to visit a location we've never been before and also were tired of the usual All inclusive hotel types of hotels commonly found along the Kenya coast. Lantana Galu caught our attention mainly due to the location. There after we decided to read the reviews on the property which I must say were very impressive. We decided to make the booking almost 8 months prior to our planned date and requested the best room option to accommodate my family. They recommended a two bedroom Villa with the most amazing ocean views of any hotel prior to visiting Lantana Galu. Easily 140 degree ocean views from the large patio that's also well furnished. Living room area was spacious also tastefully furnished. Bedroom's were also very comfortable with air conditioning. I would have loved a bathtub but unfortunately not available for the 2 bedroom villa. Kitchen was well stocked with quality kitchenware. The villa was cleaned daily by two extremely pleasant staff, wish I could remember their names (think Ali and a girl who's name I forget). Gardens were very well kept and the buildings were also well maintained. Pool and restaurant area was equally impressive. We preferred the second pool closer to hotel villa block, which was also very quiet pool to relax. The beach was of course beautiful.
We'll definitely be back very soon.
Special thanks to Kirsty and Diana who made the process smooth from start to end. Also the staff that made our vacation complete. Thank you.

David M.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank munrosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaKOS, General Manager at Lantana Galu Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2020

Dear David M,

Thank you so much for your most amazing review. We are so glad that you loved everything about Lantana. From the location to the magnificent sea views, the spacious villa and it's furnishings as well as the well equipped kitchen. Your warm sentiments have been passed onto the housekeeping, gardening, pool, restaurant staff and everyone else who contributed to making your holiday memorable. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon and wish you a very prosperous 202.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2020 via mobile

What a shame. We've always really liked Lantana and had positive things to say. But yesterday, having been long standing clients, we went to eat at the restaurant for lunch, while not staying in the hotel. On all previous such visits, the kids have eaten their pizza and had a swim while we enjoyed a post lunch coffee. And we've never been charged for the quick after lunch swim. This time, we were forced to pay 500 shillings per child for the swim, on top of the not insubstantial lunch bill. It is apparently the hotel rule, though had never been previously applied. And the manager we spoke to had zero initiative to understand this and be more welcoming to us (and this rule should be revised anyway). Sadly, the lunch was also a bit disappointing, poorly made salads and slow service. Where has the sparkle gone? And it wasn't even very busy that day.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank RoughRoading
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaKOS, General Manager at Lantana Galu Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2020

Dear RoughRoading,

Thank you for your review and we sincerely regret that on this occasion, we did not meet with your expectation. We value all clients and in particular, our regular clients. We're happy to offer incentives that encourage them to keep returning. Guests can swim for free for a certain amount spent per person on meals and we're sorry that this wasn't well communicated to you. We do hope that you will return, we'd be delighted to share with you the exciting plans we have for the restaurant which I am sure, you, our regular client would enjoy. We promise to keep the sparkle bright so please do not hesitate to call in any any time.

Best Wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2019

Lantana Galu stands out as an amazing beach hotel.
My family enjoyed the beaches, spacious rooms, our own chef who fulfilled our every culinary wish at a small cost (but worth it)
Dont mind coming back next christmas.
Well done Lantana Galu!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank W4699ZVlucyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaKOS, General Manager at Lantana Galu Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2019

Dear W4699ZVlucyn,

Thank you so much for your heart warming review. We're glad you enjoyed the beach, the spacious rooms and the Chef's skills. The team is greatly appreciative of you compliments and we would love to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2019 via mobile

Nine family members, four generations, in two luxury villas in this hotel for four nights. Top class luxury throughout. Everything you need is there. Spotlessly clean as well. Couldn't fault this stay.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 961geen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaKOS, General Manager at Lantana Galu Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2019

Dear 961geen,

Thank you so much for the amazing review. We're glad you enjoyed everything and that you rate us as top class luxury with high standards of cleanliness. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2019

Choosing a great hotel to reside at when on holiday that fits all your needs and expectations can be a daunting task for anyone. For us, choosing Lantana Galu was a huge mistake and lesson well learnt.

Good:
1. The spacious rooms
2. Very courteous and welcoming restaurant staff.
3. Transportation to the hotel was well handled by the hotel.
4. We appreciate that we were upgraded to a three bedroomed suite from a two-bedroomed without requesting.

Bad:
1. Response time to enquiries before guests arrive needs to improve. We had to keep sending polite reminders.
2. The actual hotel is not as depicted on your website or online platform. One feels really short-changed as what you expect is not what you get. You need to be honest with your customers about what the hotel really looks like and the services offered as well as hidden costs.
4. Your rooms may be spacious but aren't clean. Are old and dusty and appliances quite outdated.
5. Food is okay. But the staff are very polite and try to make service as easy and smooth as possible.
3. Why do we need to pay the full amount of accommodation by the time we arrive?
4. The General Manager needs to be polite and take feedback in stride, whether positive or negative. Being rude and dismissive when feedback is offered does not endear people to you.

I don't think this is a place I would like to come back to.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank gillothetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaKOS, General Manager at Lantana Galu Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2019

Dear Gilothetraveller,

Thank you so much for the compliments on our spacious rooms, restaurant staff, transfers and the upgrade offered. We sincerely regret that our property did not meet with your expectations. Your inquiry was received and replied within two hours. Your follow up email was responded to within 24 hours. We therefore feel we responded in good time. Requesting for advance payment is a standard procedure for most hotels. It is unfortunate that you didn't mention the other issues while you were here, we would have been more than happy to address them. We were under the impression that you decided to check out prematurely due to a family situation and in such cases, cancellation policies apply. The depiction of Lantana on the website is as accurate as one can be with photos and most guests comment that the pictures do not do us justice. We were made aware of your preference for buffets while we offer an a la carte menu which has been well appreciated by most guests. Our sincere apologies for feeling you didn't quite get the answers you wanted from the Manager. All feedback whether positive or negative is highly appreciated and acted on. It may be that our kind of offering does not suit your requirements, however, we shall look into all the areas you have mentioned and do our best to improve. We sincerely value your feedback and hope that you give us another try in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews