We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$210
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/09/24
Agoda.com
StayForLong
Snaptravel
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
179
14
6
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
179
14
6
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private villa the owner indian ocean seafood pizza ocean suite main pool main building an amazing place shimba hills beach house an amazing view little piece of paradise small cliff memorable stay blown away world class
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2021

I have spent 3 weeks at Msambweni Beach House. It was a unique travelling experience! I needed a moment to reconnect with myself and this was the right place. Everything contributed to create a feeling of total plenitude: the room, the beach, the pool, the high quality food, service and staff. I can’t wait to go back with my family to share with them this hidden treasure.

Room tip: The Villas are the top. I stayed in the Main Beach House where from my room I had a superb views of the pool, beach and ocean.
Date of stay: May 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Thank s_nam_a2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse Wambugu, Marketing at Msambweni Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2021

Hi Sename,

Thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are thrilled that you loved your experience; our staff will definitely be happy to read all that you wrote. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day. So thanks for your positivity and kind words!

We look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2021 via mobile

We had an extended stay here over Easter. The main beach house and rooms are stunning, with superb views of the pools, beach and ocean. We moved to a private Villa for a few nights which was also stunning with private pools, relaxation areas and ample space. The food from breakfast, lunch to dinner was exceptional and highly varied. And the cocktails - world class. But above the beauty and quality of the place, what stands out the most is the team. Frederik and Terry lead an amazing team of people who made this stay extra special. Can’t wait to be back at the next opportunity. And whilst it would be tempting to be selfish, perhaps next time we should bring the children as there is something for everyone at Msambweni Beach House!

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank robg417
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse Wambugu, Marketing at Msambweni Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2021

Dear Rob,

It was a pleasure serving you. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and being so open with us.

I'm glad you enjoyed the views, got to unwind and found peace while at Msambweni Beach House. Indeed there is something for everyone and next time, the children should get a taste of the msambweni magic as well

We hope you'll come and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2021

In a word, wow! We spent three amazing days and nights here and were blown away by the experience.

The staff is so wonderful, attentive and caring. Even going so far as to ask us after our first night if our mattress was comfortable enough, or if they needed to swap it out for another (it was plenty comfortable!) We were lucky enough to get to meet and chat a bit with the owner Frederick, he's a delight!

We stayed in the main house in master suite #1, which was massive! The view from the veranda was incredible and we were lucky enough to enjoy breakfast up there one morning. Speaking of breakfast, the food at every meal was incredible. From the fresh fruit each morning, to the fresh caught seafood each night, we were truly spoiled! We were also surprised at how many options there were at the bar, from local beer, to wines and delicious cocktails, there is something for everyone!

The beach and pool areas are both wonderful. We enjoyed walking along the beach and enjoying the natural beauty. We also were able to do a lunch on the beach one afternoon, we definitely recommend this!

Lastly, we want to note how incredibly helpful the entire staff was in ensuring our safe travels home. Thank you so much for a memorable stay, we can't wait to visit again!

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MelanieandJoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederik Vanderhoeven, General Manager at Msambweni Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2021

Dear Melanie and Joey,

Greetings from an always sunny Msambweni We are grateful for your safe journey back home.

Thank you so much for the wonderful review of Msambweni Beach House. The entire team will be delighted to hear of your marvelous stay with us. Indeed Master Suite I has one of the best sunrise views and it's our joy that you got to experience it. On your next stay with us, how about you try the Private Villa? We guarantee more magical moments for you!

Lots of love from the entire MBH team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2020

This place is absolutely terrible. Although all the members of staff went out there way to make us comfortable they didn’t have the capacity to make the changes needed. It’s is a 2 star at best hotel charging 5 star rates.
The kids club is a trampoline.
The food is terrible and you will be lucky to be severed what you have ordered. Out of the 9 nights we spent at this hotel at least one member of our group went to bed hungry every night except the one night we chose to dine out. The salad I ordered on the first day looked as though it had been sitting in the fridge for a few days. Upon showing the managed the famous granola healthy breakfast and fruit platter management themselves agreed they wouldn’t eat that and said “in Belgium people would never touch pineapple that looked like that”. Orders are constantly forgotten. Children’s food was always at least an hour late. When we complained about the missing or incorrect orders the chef remarked “why can’t they eat what I have served them?” Or “I am not here to cut mangos for guests”.
I was AMAZED when I heard sea food would be served at a surcharge! So at $2000 a night be prepared to fork out extra for sea food. Management later agreed to waive that surcharge, but 60% of the time the seafood we asked for was unavailable. After being told constantly to order the crab, it was unavailable and then the famous ginger crab was served to us on a side plate and had not even been cleaned!!! Of the 3 crabs we only found 4 claws!
There are NO COVID protocols being followed in the kitchen. None of the chefs or kitchen staff wore gloves or masks. Management themselves don’t wear masks. Salt is served in little bowls without any spoons so if anyone needs to add salt to the extremely bland food you will have to use your fingers, these bowls are shared by all of the guests.
Upon booking the villa I specifically asked about the covid protocols that were being followed. I was told rooms were sanitized between guests and left empty for one night between guests. From our stay there it was obvious that guests were occupying rooms immediately after a guest left, there was no day left between guests and I’m sure no sanitization process being followed in the villas. Upon arrival our villa was filthy and we spent the first day and a half of our vacation cleaning the villa. Used utensils and cups are left in the mini bar area for hours and often over night so we would always wake up to an ant
Infested kitchenette/ bar area. The poor design of the villa and old mukuti roofs mean the villa always has insects. On the second night we found a lizard in a bed after turn down, and lizard poo is can be found on everything. Although water dispensers are provided in the rooms there are seldom glasses in the villas so be prepared to wait at least half an hour to drink that water. Any water bottles you order at the beach are chargeable. I was assured that all bed linens and towels would be sanitized and cleaned used hot water. The towels in our villas were stained and even torn. The mosquito nets on the beds were torn and we often woke up with mosquito bites. The a/c was ok and would cool the room down to a relatively bareable temperature, but do not expect cold rooms.
I agree with all the posts that say this place is extremely over priced, we paid $2000 a night to be treated like crap and stay in a glorified tent!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank msk427
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederik Vanderhoeven, General Manager at Msambweni Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2021

Our daily menus are flooded with various sea food options for our guests(included in the meal plan). We at MBH guarantee our guests fresh catch of the day and it is for this reason that when the waters are unfavorable for the fishermen we are unable to get enough seafood, which is why they group could not get at the time they ordered

On the first night of guests arrival, we normally present our special 5-course Signature Crab Menu at no extra charge. Our Crab signature menu comprises of 5 different types of Crab that we prepare for the guests. It being a favorite amongst each guest that comes to MBH, it has been perfected to such a way that it has become our standard way of serving it. The above guests stated they don't want it that way and opted for the ginger crab which did not come served as our Signature Crab Menu.

Our COVID-19 protocols are constantly followed, referred to and updated if need be. All rooms have to be fumigated upon guest check-out, before guest check-in, during the guests stay the rooms are wiped down and sanitized twice a day, common areas and surfaces are wiped down and sanitized twice a day as well, all staff reside on the property, all staff wear masks at the hotel and even in cases where they aren't, social distancing is always maintained.

We are situated in the South Coast, notorious for the heat therefore our rooms and villas have been designed to allow free flow of air. This paired with frequent fumigation of the villas and rooms, the surrounding grass and compound, ensures that they are free of bugs and other insects. We cannot however be 100% insect proof therefore we provide the mosquito nets, bug spray and also the electric mosquito repellants in each room of the hotel.


We are again sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. There is always room for improvement and we have taken note of some valid points and thanks to such experiences, we put our goals higher so as to ALWAYS satisfy each and every guest that walks through our MBH doors.

Kind regards, happy festive season, Frederik.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2020 via mobile

We were a group of 18 people and took over the whole place. On the offset the place is stunning! The views are incredible from everywhere!

The main house - where my room was, and where the lunches and main pool are, was nice and clean and big enough for all of us. We had breakfasts by the pool and candle lit dinners which was stunning.

The other three villas - really nice private areas each with their own pools. We found villa 1 the upstairs room with no AC was very hot and not really a proper room. The AC in villa 3 was not working well and so was also a struggle. The bathrooms were perfect.

My room - master suite 1, id say the best room was really big, with a massive bath tip and a view to die for! Everything was great in this room!

The ocean villa - while a great concept, the room wasn’t the best. Built with canvas the room got very hot at night and again the AC wasn’t working well. The view is amazing and it’s romantic but If I wanted a tent I’d go to the mara.

The staff/service - the staff were amazing trying to keep us happy and meeting all our requests. They set up a stunning bonfire dinner beach party, and a beach lunch and threw a pool party for us. They really were amazing people. We did find though that while the people were friendly and helpful the service was lacking, maybe because we were too many people or they had to keep running back to the main house, we found it slow and many times orders were forgotten. For all the amazing events they threw for us we found the decors great but main food elements forgotten about which made it frustrating to have to keep calling the wait staff. We also found many a time where there were no staff to be found. Quite frustrating. Peter and Elphus specifically were very helpful and great!

Food - honestly not impressed. We had a mix of veg and non veg, but never really enjoyed the food made. The chefs did try his best but was a bit of a let down. The pizza party idea was great fun and perfect as the taste was good! The breakfast was really nice, the avo on toast, the pancakes etc.

Beach - the beach is nice, unfortunately it was full of sea weed, so much so we couldn’t swim in the ocean at all. I think this is seasonal though as others have had great beach experiences.

Overall, great holiday with some issues but we still have fun - thank you.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Maralover91
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederik Vanderhoeven, General Manager at Msambweni Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2020

Dear guest,

We would like to start off by thanking @TripAdvisor for providing the platform for hotels and travelers.

It was such an honor being able to host your entire group at Msambweni Beach House . We strive to provide the best luxury boutique hotel experience for all our guests that come and where we lack to do so, we compensate by ensuring that all concerns are met and dealt with immediately.

For starters, we have added another chef specifically to cater for the vegan & vegetarian menus therefore we guarantee the next time you stay with us, the meals will be of a higher level The AC in the villa was replaced and fully functional as of now.

We can't forget to say thank you for all the compliments and kind praises you showered on us for all the excellent moments you and the family got to experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Msambweni Beach House

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews