We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
StayForLong
Snaptravel
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
175
14
6
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
175
14
6
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private villa the owner indian ocean seafood pizza ocean suite main pool main building an amazing place shimba hills beach house an amazing view little piece of paradise small cliff memorable stay blown away world class
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2020

Msambweni Beach House is stunning – I would return without doubt. The setting is beautiful: in African countryside, up on a small cliff overlooking the beach and Indian Ocean. The beach house and villas are surrounded by palm trees, and some steps take you down to the beach where there is seating in the shade plus the massage “hut” which has a mirror under the bed so that you can look out to the ocean whilst being massaged – Bliss! Since there are only a few rooms in the beach house, plus 3 villas, the setting is very peaceful and calm – completely relaxing.
We flew to Mombasa airport and the MBH arranged a transfer for us. The journey took two hours along very bumpy roads but this wasn’t a negative for me, I found it extremely interesting! Upon arrival, a guard opened two sets of security gates to allow our car entry – security is taken seriously here and I didn’t feel unsafe at all.
We received a wonderful welcome including cold refreshing drinks and hot aromatherapy scented towels to refresh ourselves. We were extremely tired so the team arranged for our lunch to be served at our villa, so we didn’t even have to walk to the main building. We stayed in Private Villa 1 and it was wonderful! If you’re looking for a clinical, crisp, standard luxury hotel then this isn’t you, but if you’re more interested in something with a bespoke boutique cultural feel whilst also being very luxurious, then this is perfect! For our final night we stayed in the Ocean Suite which was a great experience – a sort of luxury safari hut on stilts looking out over the ocean.
The whole team were wonderful, catering to our every need and going out of their way to make our stay fantastic. Terry arranged all of our trips for us – we did a boat tour of the mangroves, stopping off on a deserted sandbank for snacks and drinks, which I would highly recommend. We also spent a day diving at Diani, just north of Msambweni, which was great. And finally we visited Shimba Hills National Reserve which was a lovely way to spend a day. We only stayed for a week but these trips made it feel like we did a lot in the week.
My boyfriend and I love good food and MBH really didn’t disappoint! Lots of fish and seafood, lobster, great steak, local curries, salads etc. Presentation and service of the food was spot on, and everything was extremely tasty. Without us asking, on our last day the team even arranged for us to have a lobster and seafood platter on the beach!
MBH has a relaxed but smart feel – guests are well dressed: ladies wear dresses and flat sandals in the evenings, and men wear shorts and shirts. This is a classy and refined hotel where evening aperitifs and amuse bouche are served pre-dinner on the terrace…it really was fantastic. Highly recommended, I cant wait to return.

Room tip: All rooms are stunning, there is no bad option - the villas have their own private pools which is even more luxurious.
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jot280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsambweniBeachHouse, Manager at Msambweni Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2020

Dear Torsten & Hanne,

WOW!!

❤ This review made our day!

Thanks for leaving us such an excellent review.

We are thrilled that you loved your experience; our staff starting with Terry, to the Chef will be humbled to receive your praises and we can already guarantee you a warm-hearted welcome when you return again to Msambweni.

We look forward to seeing you again at our little slice of heaven soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2020

We had a wonderful stay at Msambweni Beach House.

We stayed in Villa 1- it was gorgeous with our own private pool overlooking the ocean.
It was super hot while we were there (35 degrees) so we definitely appreciated the air condition in part of our room- it would have been nice if the air condition was in the bathroom as well as it was very hot getting ready at night.

The staff are wonderful, they really went out of their way to make our stay special. We enjoyed coming to the main area for our meals as it was nice to interact with them- especially drinks at the lounge near the ocean- stunning. The food was outstanding.

We found it very quiet, most parties chose to stay in the villas for the duration of there trip so we didn't really see anyone else while we were there.

We had fun every day visiting the few vendors they allow to come in and sell there merchandise.

Kenya's coastline is beautiful but very rustic. The tide fluctuates every day so swimming can be challenging. We did find some great spots to swim but there is a lot of coral and seaweed. With the hot temperatures, the water was super warm.

Thank you Msambweni for an amazing stay!

Kate and Dan
Canada

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank V7142FMkateh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsambweniBeachHouse, Manager at Msambweni Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2020

Dear Kate and Dan,

It was a pleasure serving you

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and being so open with us.

We are so glad you felt you can relax, unwind and find peace while at Msambweni Beach House.

We hope you'll come and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2020 via mobile

Our second time visiting - once again Great service, clean rooms and pools, attentive. Just wonderful!
Food was fresh and delicious, great variety of the menu
Looking forward to our next time - with our family and friends

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank YardenH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrederikV294, Manager at Msambweni Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2020

Hi @YardenH4,

You are now part of the Msambweni Family

We cannot be grateful enough for the 5 star recommendation!

The third time is a charm and we promise to surprise you on your 3rd visit with us at Msambweni Beach House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2020

Just spent 2 nights at Msambweni Beach House with a group of 10 friends from abroad and the least I can say is that it was a magical experience. Superb rooms, breathtaking views on the ocean, very welcoming staff and excellent food... Have been a Kenyan resident for about 5 years and I can easily say MBH is probably one of the best places along the entire Kenyan coast to enjoy some quality time off with family and/or friends. Couldn't have dreamed of a better place to celebrate my birthday! The owner Fred has thought every single detail through to make this place a truly hidden gem... Highly recommend it and will surely be back soon.

Room tip: Recommend private Villa 1 for couples
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Edouard_Wenseleers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrederikV294, Manager at Msambweni Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2020

Dear Edouard,

Wow

Happy Birthday once more!

Reading your review brings so much joy to the entire MBH team. We really had a blast hosting you and your awesome group of friends for your birthday! We are known for surprises and leaving our guests with unforgettable memories and we are glad to have done that for your.

Thank you for the wonderful compliments and we can guarantee they will go a long way in motivating the staff to go above & beyond in terms of service delivery when it comes to your upcoming trip with us.

Karibu sana and happy travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2020 via mobile


My husband and I spent two nights at this magical place - Msambweni Beach House!
Excellent food, great staff, and a wonderful serene ambience! Our room was beautiful with an amazing view of the beach!
We will surely be back!
Thank you for a special time!
Dayas

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nazlind2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrederikV294, Manager at Msambweni Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2020

Dear Mr & Mrs Daya,

Thank you for the excellent review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Guest is king at Msambweni and the team really enjoyed going above and beyond. Your feedback is an assurance that they are doing it right and will strive to reach even greater heights for you.

Please don't wait too long to come back, there is always a place for you at Msambweni Beach House ❤

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews