We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Snaptravel
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
176
14
6
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
176
14
6
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private villa the owner indian ocean seafood pizza ocean suite main pool main building an amazing place shimba hills beach house an amazing view little piece of paradise small cliff memorable stay blown away world class
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2019

I actually can't gather enough words to describe this place, calling it paradise might be the best superlative honestly. We had one of the best beach holidays at The Msambweni Beach house, starting with the views, the service, the food everything about this place is just top notch. Edith, Chef Ali, Albert and all the MBH team you guys know hospitality to its very core. Thank You So much and we can't wait to plan another beach holiday with you guys in the near future. Private Villa 1 is the real deal :-) The owner Mr.Fredrick and his Father were very welcoming as well.

Room tip: PRIVATE VILLA 1 has amazing views
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HusVnTv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsambweniBeachHouse, Manager at Msambweni Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2019

Dear Hus,

We cannot begin to thank you for your 5-star review and also for giving us the opportunity to enjoy the good vibes you and your family brought to the hotel. The staff adorned catering to you and am sure they will remember the smiles you left on our faces.

Please do come again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2019

Awesome is an understatement. From the time we arrived at the hotel to the day we left we had an awesome experience. Staff members were courteous, clean, and knew their job. I loved my Villa and the privacy. Meal time was wonderful. The food was cooked and prepared to perfection including the plating. My kids had so much fun they remind me every other day to go back for another holiday. Kudos Msambweni Beach House and private villas team. I will definitely be back!.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lizndungu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrederikV294, Manager at Msambweni Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2019

Dear Liz and Family,

We are completely blown away by your kind and wonderful words of praise and are so happy that we met all your expectations, thank you so much. You were such a pleasure to host here and we will wait and look forward to your next visit!

Warmest regards from your other home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2019

Experience perfection & top-notch attention to every detail. Booking is full-board, all meals and water included. You order your breakfast, lunch and dinner the day before, so it is especially made for you, a bespoke gourmet experience, which I hope will be the first in Kenya to earn a Michelin Star. I hope you read this, Michelin Guide. And the wine is not expensive, fairly priced. Interior and exterior design is simple, ecologically inspired and modern. Every Villa (there are 3 Villas) or Master Room (there are 2) offers full privacy, with your private swimming pool. You feel at home, as if you own the place. It’s yours. You own it! Staff are super trained to respect privacy while always at your service, offering impeccable services. It's class. You can see and feel the staff are well paid, respected and happy. Most have been there since the start, or for the last 10 years. There's a meeting every Wednesday between the owners and the staff at 12.00 hours, to discuss how things were the last week, how to improve, and discuss last week’s guests’ experiences. It's a real boutique experience. The owners live there, so this is their home. They are welcoming you to their home, where you experience how they live, their little heaven. You can either have private dining or drinks by your private pool or balcony, or join the owners. Many of the owners’ family members & friends come there for holiday. You can join them, or dine or drink privately by the pool or garden in your private villa, or by the private beach, under a starry African night, soothed by the sounds of Indian Ocean waves. Here, you experience heaven on earth! And you want to come back again and again, or move here completely.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ExuvianceKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Msambweni, Manager at Msambweni Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2019

Dear Dr. Mercy,

Reading your review is part of the reason why we love our job!

We had such a blast hosting you so the pleasure is all ours. Your hearty laughter and radiant smile truly lit up the ambiance in the hotel!

We can't wait to have you over again now that you have become part of the Msambweni Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2019

If you are looking for total relaxation with only a handful of guests, a beautiful swimming pool either to yourself if staying in a villa or a pool nearly all to yourself if staying in the house, then you will love this place. Food is great and rooms are beautiful which have views of a deserted beach that you can have all to yourself. You will escape everything for a truly relaxing time.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank leoeleph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Msambweni, Manager at Msambweni Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2019

Dear @Leoeleph,

First off we would like to thank you for choosing Msambweni Beach House as your Kenyan Coastal getaway!

The fact that you were able to join us and get an escape as well as also relax, is the highlight of our day

You are most welcome back for new memorable moments on our lovely pristine beach of Msambweni.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2019

As you arrive you are greeted with hot towels & refreshing drink. You then walk through the entrance to a spectacular view....infinity pool that pours out onto the Indian Ocean.
We were a party of 5 and had the 3 units in the main building. Was a little taken aback as there was no room key. aka as there were no locks on the doors but I quickly relaxed when we settled in & understood no need for concern.
The food and the service was first class! You select your meals ahead of time, there is a good assortment & tables are all have an amazing view.
This is not a place to go if you are looking for excitement or entertainment. This is a total relax & enjoy the moment. If you need it, wifi is good.
The rooms are beautiful & we had an amazing spacious balcony to relax & enjoy the view. We even a monkey surprise us as they romped through balcony as we enjoyed our morning coffee.
We hopefuly can have the opportunity to return one day!

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Msambweni, Manager at Msambweni Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2019

Dear Lynne,

Thanks so much for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are thrilled that you loved your experience; our staff will definitely be happy to read what you wrote. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day. So thanks for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews