We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
60
4
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
60
4
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews three nights luca suite chef relaxation beach heaven
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2019 via mobile

A wonderful way to relax after safari. We ended our visit to Kenya with a stay at the Ocean Spa Lodge after three days on safari and could not have asked for a better place to relax and recharge before heading home.

It was ideal, a small number of villa. First class accommodations relaxed atmosphere with large bedrooms beautiful decorated with lovely ambience, big luxurious bathrooms and large terraces, large pool offers stunning views of the Ocean.
This is a new lodge managed by Luca and his wife Julia who are Italian. They are really attentive and are supported by a really friendly helpful group of staff. 

The resort sits on a soft sandy stretch of beach our suite overlooked the ocean. The gardens / grounds are perfectly cultivated and beautifully kept and everything in resort is incredibly clean. You can do a great beach walk, or be happy just within the resort grounds, which are beautiful.

The spa has a range of treatments with a massage, facial and pedicure all of which were very enjoyable. The therapists, like all of the staff, are friendly and make you feel relaxed.

The food is amazing and the wine plentiful. The chef came out to see us every evening to see if we had enjoyed her delicious food. One evening the staff asked us if we would like a BBQ on the beach. They organize everything perfectly. We enjoyed a feast of fresh fish, lobster and steak, it was a delightful evening.
Fresh ingredients prepared with skill and imagination and a menu full of variety and everything absolutely delicious. All the staff delightful; every single person from the gardener to the head waiter utterly charming , helpful and courteous 

This is the perfect spot to just relax and restore your mind and spirit. While we were here we also enjoyed jogging and walking together and wading out looking at sea creatures in the warm shallow waters along this beautiful stretch of beach. 

This was literally the best place for us to unwind after our safari adventures. Very well recommend!!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank liviatdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca D, General Manager at The Ocean SPA Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2019

Dear liviatdm,
Thank you very much for all your kind and flattering words and your great review. We are really pleased that you did like your stay with us and we will make sure that The Ocean SPA Lodge Team learns about your great comments, . In the meantime we all hope we will welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Luca & Giulia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2019

Third visit to this wonderful Kenyan coastal hotel. Beautiful rooms - we shared the Coral House for our party of 6 adults and this comprises 4 luxurious suites in their own separate villa in the grounds of the hotel. Luca and Giulia manage the property and are delighful, so attentive and helpful - absolutely nothing is too much trouble. They are charming and have two young children and two lovely dogs that you can play with if you wish. There is an extensive white sandy beach that the hotel shares with one other hotel and you can walk the whole length of it and not see anybody else aside from some local fishermen bringing in their catch early in the morning.
The food is outstanding - local specialities together with a different fresh pasta dish ( the Italian influence) every day and masses of the freshest fish and fruit you can imagine. Without exception the staff are a delight - courteous , friendly and efficient and they make your stay a complete joy. A perfect destination for people looking for informal luxury in a wonderful location. We shall visit again

Room tip: All rooms have beach and ocean views. Coral Villa is a 4 roomed house in the grounds for parties of guests.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alyson N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca D, General Manager at The Ocean SPA Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2019

Dear Alyson N,
We have been truly happy to welcome you at The Ocean SPA Lodge for the third time!
Once again, thank you for sharing such a wonderful and detailed feedback, we really appreciate it. It is amazing to read your very kind comments regarding the lodge and our team, we will make sure we'll pass on to them.
We are pleased to see that you have truly enjoyed your stay, once a again.
We are looking forward to welcoming you next year, the team will be there waiting for you!
Best wishes,
Giulia & Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

We loved it! The sneaky type of love where you can’t tell how you got there but we were swept of our feet. We arrived with very high expectations having read the reviews and expected to be blown away at every turn. But the beauty of it isn’t in the ostentatiousness but with how it all comes together. Charming villas overlooking the ocean with extra large beds. A functioning a/c system and the most powerful showers I’ve encountered anywhere on the Kenyan coast. The hospitality from Giulia and the team who were always ready to assist at every turn. The food which was always superb and served anywhere you wanted. My son playing with Giulia’s son Nicko filled the air with squeals of delight. Beaches as far as the eye can see with nary a soul in sight. You find yourself just unloading all the stress and getting so relaxed that you hardly ever want to leave. Perfect bliss!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Wanderingleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca D, General Manager at The Ocean SPA Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2019

Dear Wanderingleg,
It was a pleasure meeting you and welcoming you at The Ocean SPA Lodge. Thank you for your amazing comments and for sharing your experience with us; we are delighted that you felt pampered by our staff and that you enjoyed our facilities and services. We will be sure to pass them on to everyone!
Once again thank you for personal recommendation and we sincerely look forward to your return visit in a not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Luca & Giulia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

A wonderful way to relax after safari, Spacious apartments overlooking the ocean and pool. Dining both on the beach and in the open sided dining room was great, food was a very good standard and plenty of it. The spa staff offered professional treatments better than some that I've had in the UK. Luca the manager was very friendly and always around to help with any additional requests.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debby h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca D, General Manager at The Ocean SPA Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2019

Dear debby h,
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We are really grateful for your positive feedback on our rooms, food and SPA. We hope we can welcome you back here soon.
Sincerely,
Giulia & Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

We ended our visit to Kenya with a stay at the Ocean Spa Lodge after two+ weeks on safari. It was lovely to have such a beautiful location to rest and relax after our long (but totally enjoyable) safari days. The managers and the staff are wonderful, as was the service and the food. We were blown away by our "villa" which was enormous. We loved that it is located on a secluded and quiet portion of the South Coast. You can do a great beach walk, or be happy just within the resort grounds, which are beautiful. If you are looking for a lot of clubs and nightlife, this may not be for you. For us, it was pure heaven.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank westsear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca D, General Manager at The Ocean SPA Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Dear westsea r,
Thank you for your positive feedback on your stay at The Ocean SPA Lodge. We really appreciate you comments to our location, food and staff. We are very happy that you had a great stay and thank you for your recommendation.

We look forward to welcome you back again soon for another unforgettable holiday!
Best Regards,
Luca and Giulia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews