We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
30
1
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
30
1
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indian ocean local fishermen peacocks walks village chef beach
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2011

We had been recommended by the owner of Kaskazi Beach House to first go for a Safari at Northern Kenya - Samburu Kalama,
This became, for us, something special.
At Kaskazi Beach House we were taken very much care of by the staff and the management.
The owner willingly shared his knowledge with us about Africa and Kenya in special - Thanks!
We also attended a trip to a local school which had received school desks for the children, this also gave us unforgettable memories.
The hotel itself is small (few guests) and this gives the staff time for top service. The staff was always smiling and did their best - all the time.
At Kaskazi Beach House we were met by three big dogs (very friendly) and a lot of different birds in the garden. Nice!
Our days at Kaskazi Beach House were mostly spent at the great swimming pool - with cold drinks and the lovely breeze from Indian Ocean.
All meals was served outdoor in the beautiful garden.

Due to the fact that this was in the "hot season" we missed the air condition - only fans in the room.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TogB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

A great place to stay, and they helped us organize a lot of excursions and day-trips. The rooms are all decorated with east-african artifacts and furniture, and they all have fans (a must in this area, because of the heat and mosquitos).
The food is freshly prepared everyday, and it is all locally made/grown. The homemade soups are excellent!
There's a lovely pool in the garden, which is perfect at low tide (swimming in the ocean is highly recomended at high tide!). In the garden you will also meet the "long-term lodgers", ie the different birds from the backyard (geese, pearl hens, ducks, peacocks, etc).
If you want to enjoy the nightlife in Diani Beach, they help you to arrange transport and accomodation (if you want to stay overnight).

Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MetteKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

I had only seen a few picture of the place before arriving and the it did not do the place justice. We came from Zanzibar and after a bit of "african massage" we arrived at Kaskazi Beach House. We were warmly welcomed by the friendly staff with drinks and cool towels.

This place is nothing like the typical tourist places at Diani and has a unique charm, like a home away from home. It is located right by the beach and has a lovely pool where you can work on your tan and enjoy drinks. The place enjoys a nice breeze that cools you down in the evening and keeps the mosquito away. The food was very nice as well as the staff.

There are plenty of birds that wanders the place freely which can on occasions end up on your plate. Goose, duck or chicken, apart from that there are some parrots and peacocks who will not end in your belly :)

It is not a typical party place, if that is your goal some resort at Diani will probably suit your purpose better. Still it's not far away, 45 minutes or so. The staff can be very useful for planning different activities like safari's, golfing, fishing, mangrove trips etc. And the owners are also very involved with the local community, helping the schools and more. Basically supporting the local population.

To me this place was a little paradise, but some may find it lacking in a couple of areas:

* it does not have air condition yet, only fans
* the showers lacks a bit pressure
* no wifi

If those things does not bother you like me, I can highly recommend it.

Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ingarh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2020
Google Translation

Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2020
Google Translation

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews