We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
30
1
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
30
1
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indian ocean local fishermen peacocks walks village chef beach
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My family and I (4 persons) stayed at Kaskazi house 4 days this summer. After experiencing 6 days of safari in Masai Mara, it was lovely to finally relax in this beautiful hotel. Beautiful rooms, lovely garden and a nice swimmingpool, and best of all a very friendly and service minded staff. The days were filled with sailing, snorkeling and getting to know the local community by visits to the local school and market. In the evening we could enjoy an excellent meal by the fireplace in the garden with the view of the ocean. The food was the best we had in Kenya, no fuzz, just the best ingredients (lovely seafood) prepared in a very good manner. This hotel, located a little outside the main tourist track, provides an excellent opportunity to get to see a bit of the real Kenya, we absolutely loved it.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank issibelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

What a treat! Our expectationes were high and we were not disappointed. From the very first moment when we were welcomed by owners and staff, we felt like"special" guests, but also like friends. Our room nr.1 was beautiful and spacious. The food was excellent and always served outside with a magnificent view of garden,pool,beach and ocean.The morning swim in the ocean and in the pool , the following pre-breakfast coffee in the shade-heaven on earth! We very much appriciated the owners and staffs introduction to local, Kenyan and African culture . The visits to school,village,Sunday marked etc.is something that will stay in our mind for a long time.The visit to the slave-cave was also a learning experience. We also spent 4 nights at Saruni Lodge in Masai Mara -fantastic! Then back to Kaskazi for another great week. After a winter-week in Norway we are surely longing back!

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our family of four stayed at Kaskazi Boutique Beach House for 11 days during Christmas and New Year 2013/2014 and we had a fantastic time. This is a truly unique place. The location is superb if you want to discover Kenya outside the busy tourist places. It is a small, authentic and beautifully decorated hotel with a large, wonderful garden, with palm threes, peacocks, a relaxing pool area and a stunning view of the Indian Ocean. In addition, what really makes this hotel special is the wonderful staff. They did everything in their power to make our stay a great experience. The food was delicious and the service was excellent. The owners of the hotel, Harriet and Eilif, gladly share their extensive knowledge about Africa and are available to ensure that the guests have a wonderful time. We really appreciated their hospitality and their advice on how to get the most out of the stay. Among the best experiences of our trip to Kenya, apart from a fantastic visit to Masai Mara, was the bicycle trip with the Kaskazi manager Omari to the near by village and our visit to the local school, organised by Kaskazi. The staff also prepared at fantastic New Years celebration for the guests, with a nice outdoor dinner followed by champagne and bonfire at the beach. A stay at the Kaskazi Boutique Beach House is really good value for money and something we are very happy that we got the chance to experience. Thank you Kaskazi for a wonderful stay!

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

For Christmas 2013 we spent 2 weeks in Kenya, and 1 of the weeks in this resort. Overall, we had a fantastic vacation experience in a beautiful country, and specifically through our stay at Kaskazi Boutique Beach House. The premises of the hotel were excellent, with a satisfactory combination of luxury, personality and vast possibilities for adventures. The majority of our time was spent doing sightseeing, sailing, snorkling, cave walking, bicycling or other ways of enjoying our stay. The food was excellent and the service was unquestionable. Our hosts were magnificent and we become good friends. We sincerely recommend Kaskazi Boutique Beach House as a must-visit in Kenya.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristopherParmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This is a hidden jewel away from the tourist track and with a personal atmosphere that we appreciated very much. The staff, the manager and the owners were all there to make our stay perfect, and eager to introduce us to the culture, the community and to the interesting history of the spot.

We did not quite know what to expect when arriving Kaskazi, but had this been an international high class resort not identifying the personality and the African nature, we would have been disappointed. We felt the exclusiveness of almost being personal guests in this astonishing garden... of Eden, just by the sea. Beautiful art, beautiful flowers, fantastic food, drinks and service and last but not the least - the friendliest and smiliest staff. This hotel must be experienced!

Room tip: The rooms all have an excellent location with a garden/sea view.
Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jannikke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews