We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aging infrastructure but not expensive...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mombasa Continental Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Shanzu
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I do not recommend this hotel for a romantic couple looking for a romantic destination. The hotel is large, has no charm, is a little run down. Its beach is just in front but a little windy and grassy. But the pool is large and nice, the staff helpful and the food is local (lack of diversity but far from the international cuisine without flavor); all that for a reasonable price (appreciable after a safari).
We were there on New Year's Eve and the hotel had a lot of ways to make the evening very pleasant, including a very nice buffet.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank LaBoi6469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

I have been a regular visitor to this hotel since 2010. Have visited this hotel with
1.ministry of lands and physical planning. Lands reforms transformation units x 3times
2.family trips x3
3.Now the recent trip we had with JUJA FARM water supply society Board members and employees.
I saw something must been done in this hotel . Kindly refurbish the hotel because I could not believe this the hotel I love.
Services are good and the staff are humbled and efficient and effective.
Do something with the compound keep green and tidy.
With WiFi we were not given the password and think it is important to advise those who coming to hotel that service is available at the reception DESK.
I look forward of coming once again and we shall inform your staff of next visit zipporah.
Thank you once again for your hospitality.
Wilson Gitau Kabata
Email Wilson.kabata@gmail.coming
Physical address..Juja farm..Kiambu county.
Ministry of lands and physical planning..Nairobi
Ardhi house.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Wilson k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

i loved everything about this place. all rooms facing the ocean, and r air conditioned, very spacious and have coffee making items. the rooms also had inter connection door for those that travel with children. the food was lovely and fresh. the services was perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 460sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

I stayed there for 3 days, i must say that this is a hell of a place. The entrace looks like a semi-desert. Grass, flowers and BUSHES scream out for attention. Grass is yellow on the inner court, the place where they have the swimming pool. This place looks like it was top in the 80's, because there's still SHARP and SANYO TV's and fridges in the rooms. My toilet was slanted sideways. The AC worked well but the wi-fi was slow in the rooms.

They cannot manage the needs of big groups. During breakfast, lunch and dinner, we missed out on choice bites... which they won't replenish. I remember BEGGING FOR WATER (which i was buying by the way) there was no water ANYWHERE in that place. When you plan to stay here, CARRY YOUR OWN WATER. They have Great staff especially the ladies, but their male supervisor is terrible. He won't listen to customers.

We had a gala on Friday. THE LIVER WAS STALE, tasted like bile. i wonder how someone could serve such food. This place needs to be revamped.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa Contine... R, Manager at Mombasa Continental Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thank you very for taking your valuable time to comment on your stay at Mombasa Continental Resort. True the entrance gardens are dry to due to the fact that the sprinkler we use to water the grounds had gone technical. The coast on the other hand has undergone long periods of time without rain and this has affected most of the vegetation within and without.
Our new addition in the rooms is digital flat screened television mounted on the the wall and the process is ongoing. The hotel during your stay was 100% full and the replenishment of food, i must agree was a challenge but the fact that the liver was stale is the first time we are hearing or reading from you. Thank you for commenting that the AC worked well and we have taken note about the water service in the restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Definitely a once beautiful place. Unfortunately so run down now. Many things almost falling apart in the rooms. Restaurant arrangements nothing to write home about. Food leaves a lot to be desired. It might be very useful to close and do some significant renovations and rebranding

Room Tip: Sea view, although all are in poor state of maintenance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa Contine... R, Manager at Mombasa Continental Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thank you very much for commenting about your stay at Mombasa Continental Resort. It was a wonderful place as you mentioned and we are working round the clock to bring the glory back. We have engaged a company to refurbish the rooms floor by floor, room by room and wing by wing instead of closing down completely. The hotel was fully booked from the 02/02/2017 to 17/02/2017 and the popularity in terms of accommodation food and service is the reason why.
We are looking forward to hosting you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanzu
3.0 km away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#12 of 60 in Mombasa
994 reviews
0.5 km away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
12.4 km away
Hotel EnglishPoint & Spa
Hotel EnglishPoint & Spa
#18 of 60 in Mombasa
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
10.1 km away
Nyali Sun Africa Beach Hotel & Spa
2.4 km away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mombasa Continental Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mombasa Continental Resort

Address: Shanzu Beach Malindi Rd, Shanzu, Mombasa 80101, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Shanzu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Shanzu
Price Range: R1 253 - R3 704 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mombasa Continental Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Mombasa Continental Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mombasa Continental Hotel Bamburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing