We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mombasa Continental Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$267
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$289
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$316
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
US$155
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
    The Shaza(Mombasa)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    Reviews (104)
    Filter reviews
    104 results
    Traveller rating
    16
    36
    23
    14
    15
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    16
    36
    23
    14
    15
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewssports facilitiesrooms are spaciousbeautiful hotelconference facilitiesindian oceanrecommend this hotelbreakfast and dinnerfamily holidaycoastgymconfidentlysecuritybamburi
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    7 - 12 of 104 reviews
    Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

    I have been a regular visitor to this hotel since 2010. Have visited this hotel with
    1.ministry of lands and physical planning. Lands reforms transformation units x 3times
    2.family trips x3
    3.Now the recent trip we had with JUJA FARM water supply society Board members and employees.
    I saw something must been done in this hotel . Kindly refurbish the hotel because I could not believe this the hotel I love.
    Services are good and the staff are humbled and efficient and effective.
    Do something with the compound keep green and tidy.
    With WiFi we were not given the password and think it is important to advise those who coming to hotel that service is available at the reception DESK.
    I look forward of coming once again and we shall inform your staff of next visit zipporah.
    Thank you once again for your hospitality.
    Wilson Gitau Kabata
    Email Wilson.kabata@gmail.coming
    Physical address..Juja farm..Kiambu county.
    Ministry of lands and physical planning..Nairobi
    Ardhi house.

    Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    2  Thank Wilson k
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 April 2017

    i loved everything about this place. all rooms facing the ocean, and r air conditioned, very spacious and have coffee making items. the rooms also had inter connection door for those that travel with children. the food was lovely and fresh. the services was perfect.

    • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank 460sharon
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 February 2017

    I stayed there for 3 days, i must say that this is a hell of a place. The entrace looks like a semi-desert. Grass, flowers and BUSHES scream out for attention. Grass is yellow on the inner court, the place where they have the swimming pool. This place looks like it was top in the 80's, because there's still SHARP and SANYO TV's and fridges in the rooms. My toilet was slanted sideways. The AC worked well but the wi-fi was slow in the rooms.

    They cannot manage the needs of big groups. During breakfast, lunch and dinner, we missed out on choice bites... which they won't replenish. I remember BEGGING FOR WATER (which i was buying by the way) there was no water ANYWHERE in that place. When you plan to stay here, CARRY YOUR OWN WATER. They have Great staff especially the ladies, but their male supervisor is terrible. He won't listen to customers.

    We had a gala on Friday. THE LIVER WAS STALE, tasted like bile. i wonder how someone could serve such food. This place needs to be revamped.

    • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank Kenneth G
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Mombasa Contine... R, Manager at Mombasa Continental Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

    Thank you very for taking your valuable time to comment on your stay at Mombasa Continental Resort. True the entrance gardens are dry to due to the fact that the sprinkler we use to water the grounds had gone technical. The coast on the other hand has undergone long periods of time without rain and this has affected most of the vegetation within and without.
    Our new addition in the rooms is digital flat screened television mounted on the the wall and the process is ongoing. The hotel during your stay was 100% full and the replenishment of food, i must agree was a challenge but the fact that the liver was stale is the first time we are hearing or reading from you. Thank you for commenting that the AC worked well and we have taken note about the water service in the restaurant.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 February 2017

    Definitely a once beautiful place. Unfortunately so run down now. Many things almost falling apart in the rooms. Restaurant arrangements nothing to write home about. Food leaves a lot to be desired. It might be very useful to close and do some significant renovations and rebranding

    Room Tip: Sea view, although all are in poor state of maintenance
    • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Elly N
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Mombasa Contine... R, Manager at Mombasa Continental Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

    Thank you very much for commenting about your stay at Mombasa Continental Resort. It was a wonderful place as you mentioned and we are working round the clock to bring the glory back. We have engaged a company to refurbish the rooms floor by floor, room by room and wing by wing instead of closing down completely. The hotel was fully booked from the 02/02/2017 to 17/02/2017 and the popularity in terms of accommodation food and service is the reason why.
    We are looking forward to hosting you in the near future.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 February 2017

    I was told the gym opens at 6:30 am but the trainer never showed up so gym never opened till roughly 10;30. The fish on the buffet was some sort of sea fish but no one I asked confidently said what it was one guy even told me it was tilapia but it wasn't

    • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank japhethwellness
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Mombasa Contine... R, Manager at Mombasa Continental Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

    Thank you Japhet for your comments. We regret that the gym did not open on time. As for the fish on the buffet, we always write and display the name of the fish . If it is red snapper, tilapia or mutton, chicken etc, we display a small board in front of the chafer dish. Additionally, the same is shown in the menu pinned at the entrance of the restaurant.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews