We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mombasa Continental Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$275
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$183/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$305
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$240/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$313
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Platinum House Hotel(Shanzu)(Great Value!)
US$38
Jumia Travel
View Deal
US$188
US$131
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Shaza(Mombasa)
US$359
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
US$90
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
16
36
23
14
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
36
23
14
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssports facilitiesbeautiful hotelconference facilitiesindian oceanfamily holidaycoastconfidentlygymbamburisecurity
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2017

i loved everything about this place. all rooms facing the ocean, and r air conditioned, very spacious and have coffee making items. the rooms also had inter connection door for those that travel with children. the food was lovely and fresh. the services was perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 460sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

I stayed there for 3 days, i must say that this is a hell of a place. The entrace looks like a semi-desert. Grass, flowers and BUSHES scream out for attention. Grass is yellow on the inner court, the place where they have the swimming pool. This place looks like it was top in the 80's, because there's still SHARP and SANYO TV's and fridges in the rooms. My toilet was slanted sideways. The AC worked well but the wi-fi was slow in the rooms.

They cannot manage the needs of big groups. During breakfast, lunch and dinner, we missed out on choice bites... which they won't replenish. I remember BEGGING FOR WATER (which i was buying by the way) there was no water ANYWHERE in that place. When you plan to stay here, CARRY YOUR OWN WATER. They have Great staff especially the ladies, but their male supervisor is terrible. He won't listen to customers.

We had a gala on Friday. THE LIVER WAS STALE, tasted like bile. i wonder how someone could serve such food. This place needs to be revamped.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa Contine... R, Manager at Mombasa Continental Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thank you very for taking your valuable time to comment on your stay at Mombasa Continental Resort. True the entrance gardens are dry to due to the fact that the sprinkler we use to water the grounds had gone technical. The coast on the other hand has undergone long periods of time without rain and this has affected most of the vegetation within and without.
Our new addition in the rooms is digital flat screened television mounted on the the wall and the process is ongoing. The hotel during your stay was 100% full and the replenishment of food, i must agree was a challenge but the fact that the liver was stale is the first time we are hearing or reading from you. Thank you for commenting that the AC worked well and we have taken note about the water service in the restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Definitely a once beautiful place. Unfortunately so run down now. Many things almost falling apart in the rooms. Restaurant arrangements nothing to write home about. Food leaves a lot to be desired. It might be very useful to close and do some significant renovations and rebranding

Room Tip: Sea view, although all are in poor state of maintenance
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa Contine... R, Manager at Mombasa Continental Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thank you very much for commenting about your stay at Mombasa Continental Resort. It was a wonderful place as you mentioned and we are working round the clock to bring the glory back. We have engaged a company to refurbish the rooms floor by floor, room by room and wing by wing instead of closing down completely. The hotel was fully booked from the 02/02/2017 to 17/02/2017 and the popularity in terms of accommodation food and service is the reason why.
We are looking forward to hosting you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

I was told the gym opens at 6:30 am but the trainer never showed up so gym never opened till roughly 10;30. The fish on the buffet was some sort of sea fish but no one I asked confidently said what it was one guy even told me it was tilapia but it wasn't

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank japhethwellness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa Contine... R, Manager at Mombasa Continental Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thank you Japhet for your comments. We regret that the gym did not open on time. As for the fish on the buffet, we always write and display the name of the fish . If it is red snapper, tilapia or mutton, chicken etc, we display a small board in front of the chafer dish. Additionally, the same is shown in the menu pinned at the entrance of the restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017

The photos we were shown when booking our holiday were very old and outdated, probably from when the hotel was first built. We had to reject the first "THREE" rooms, due to poor electrical, state & conditions of the rooms, and the fourth was to some levels, acceptable. Please see the comments from the attached photos;

Room Tip: The photos we were shown when booking our holiday were very old and outdated, probably from when the hotel was first built.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank farid7866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews