We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
59
68
12
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
68
12
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect location buffet meals variety mare beach
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

This hotel has a perfect location since it's very close by the beautiful beach of Principina a Mare. The rooms have been recently renovated, are nicely furnished and have air conditioning. They are clean have a balcony to the exterior.
There is also free wifi available through the whole hotel which is a must have when traveling with teenagers. They have a nice varied breakfast and the meals are varied, tasty and very nicely presented.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grifone1, Responsabile reception at Grifone, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Thank you Patricia for your nice words about us. We wait for you in the future again in Principina a Mare as our Guest with your nice family!
Best regards from the entire Staff of Hotel Grifone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

Really good value for money and the food was very good and plentiful. Service very quick and accomadating all with a smile! Big chose of buffet for the starter and then a chose of various dishes for the main course with wine included. The sea is very near and offers a bar and restaurant and private pool for children.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank mandiPistoia_Italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We did not have particularly high expectations for this hotel and were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is clean with modern and comfortable rooms. The meals were excellent with an impressive variety in the buffet. Everything seemed to be very freshly prepared. The hotel is family friendly. Location is good with easy walk to the beach.

Date of stay: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chief1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We should have known according to the very strong repellent-like smell at the desk that this hotel suffered from bugs invasion. After we signaled the presence of ants in our room, an employee came 15 min later with a broom and some repellent, and accused us of "having eaten some food in our room". No apologies of any kind. By the next day, (and having seen other bugs in our room) we decided to leave that hotel and it is only then that we were offered another room. We left anyway. And guess what? For one euro less, We found a very nice four star hotel next door, with very kind service, a luxurious swimming pool, and no ants or bugs whatsoever....

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelchap27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grifone1, Direttore at Grifone, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2010

Ref. this message , we have to make clear what happened:

The Guest received his room 19.07.10 at 15.45 in the afternoon , the room was clean and without bugs and ants, no matter; he said us he had ants only at 23.00, and we founded them in the terrace, where we founded also some food on the table , clearly brought and let there by him .
We offered on 20.07 other rooms as alternative, a bigger room, with a brighter balcon, but he didn't accept it, and decided to leave and to pay only 1 night - instead of the 8 booked days.
So he did not respect the contract of the booking made with us.
We had to accepte it, we also had no other chance . The facts are that he let our Hotel without to pay the only night he had spent here, because the pre-payment he said was made did not arrived (and our Bank said us it was not in the european transfer-circuit).
We care the cleaning of our house and of our room, and we are known for this; we have a lot of forms ( written by our guests in the last years), everyone can read them , and we would be glad to show to everyone our rooms, our house, our cleaning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

This hotel was just fine for the price we paid. It had a feeling of a retirement home. My air conditioning didn't work which was a major problem when at 4:30am I needed to turn it on. The guy at the desk gave me a hard time about it but I insisted on getting a different room. The rooms were ok; everything was a little out of date and 1970's feeling. It is a 5-10 min walk to the beach. I would have liked to be on the beach or at least able to see the beach. The internet service was overpriced and didn't work well at all.

Date of stay: September 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 242alissah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grifone1, RESPONSABILE at Grifone, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2009

Dear Customer,
just some precisations. We are a specialized family hotel, for that we have always a lot of children. Families with small children, as known, go to bed early, is it for that reason that you describe us as "a retirement home"?
The air conditioning works wery well, you had just to close the window; we have a sensor for energy saving. The hall porter wanted to show you how to use it, but you did not wont it and demand to change the room. However the use of the 2° room was not put on your bill.
Every rooms, windows, restaurant and the facade have been renewed in June 2009.
Internet costs only Euro 1,50 and works very well. Maybe your computer had some problems of compatibility. When we gave you our you could see the difference.
We are located in one of Italy's lushest expanses of pine forest on the border of the Natural park of Maremma, and if you could not see the beach from the second floor, the view, as all our customers say, is wonderful.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews