We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Hotels.com
US$175
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/09/30
Expedia.com
US$175
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/09/30
Destinia.com
US$97
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/09/30
Booking.comUS$194
TravelocityUS$175
eDreamsUS$194
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 077)
Filter reviews
1 077 results
Traveller rating
428
396
140
58
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
428
396
140
58
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar boat house dvd player restaurant staff relaxing holiday scuba diving candle light dinner sea view room water sports small hotel hotel management all inclusive package palm trees port louis head chef buffet style ground floor
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1 077 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2020

Very good food, activities and service. We enjoyed our end of year party. We got activities like kayak, pedalo and Spa/ Hammam. The food was buffet and really consistent. We had lots of fun and hope to go there again. Thanks

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
Thank darsani
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay Sewocksing, General Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2020

Dear darsani,

Thank you for sharing your review and be sure that your feedback has been communicated to all our Team members. The management values the team and their contribution to our successes greatly.

It is a tremendous feeling to know that we contributed to a wonderful holiday as experienced by yourself.

We look forward to welcome you again at our resort.

The Team members and the Management seize this opportunity to wish you and your dear ones a Merry Xmas and a happy New Year 2021.


Kind Regards,

Sanjay Sewocksing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2020

Pleasant stay in October 2020 … Thanks to the sweet lady Vanessa Moonien for attending us, check-in of 24 persons was done in 15mins, our requests was taken into consideration. Though hotel was at 90%, she managed to get us extra pillows. Spacious and clean garden / pool / sea view rooms.
Thanks to Varoon for attending our table… Food served was delicious (buffet style), we even receive a complimentary birthday cake … Yummy desserts …
Full wifi coverage whether in room, yard and even restaurant ….
Lack of activities, no water activities and at the boat hut, the guy have an excuse each time we go to inquire… we were told that the glass bottom boat can do only 1 trip per day, depending on the weather condition …
Leakage of water from fridge in room 114 (was reported). Noisy bed (room 111).
Elevator out of order, thus climbing of stairs for second floor was tiring (room 308).
Suggest for an additional staff at the bar for the towels, unhygienic to serve drinks and handle the towels at the same time…
Overall nice time spent with families … Room: 111, 112, 114, 115, 211, 214, 215 & 308…

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank zabbine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay Sewocksing, General Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2020

Dear zabbine,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and with the TripAdvisor community.
I am glad that your overall impressions were positive and that our facilities and services met your expectations.
However due to the bad and windy weather prevailing over the island the last weekend we were unable to practice the water activities.

We much appreciate your feedback and we will look into for further improvements!

We look forward to welcoming you again at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa.

Kind Regards,

Sanjay Sewocksing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2020

The welcome was not warm and late check in upon arrival but the receptionist grant late check out to compensate,not bad.
Average food quality and not enough varities in buffet!
Did not appreciate the tea time, since the cakes were not fresh and need to wait for cold cakes served but the restaurant is a nice place to enjoy.

Room tip: Book room far from bar area if you are looking for a rest
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Drafatadin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay Sewocksing, General Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2020

Dear Drafatadin,

Thank you for your feedback of your short stay among us.
We apologies for the inconvenience that you experienced upon check-in as we had many arrivals and departures at the same time due to this long weekend .
We appreciate the time taken to share your comment, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Sanjay Sewocksing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2020 via mobile

Spent the day there with friends. Had a nice welcome by smiling and friendly staff. The hotel was clean and cosy too while the large pool was great.

At the restaurant, a large variety of food was available for the buffet lunch. And the taste was not that bad. Really appreciated the local dishes.

At tea time, expect some hot samossas, pastries and pancakes together with coffee or tea.

I would recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank norbertaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay Sewocksing, General Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2020

Dear norbertaug,

The management and and the entire team would like to thank you for your review and feedback shared on the net. You can be assured that your feedback has been shared with the staff members alike.

We are pleased to hear that you have appreciated all the services and the facilities of the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back again soon for another memorable experience.

Kind Regards,

Sanjay Sewocksing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2020

Arriving at the hotel were greeted warmly by the reception staff and showed to our room by the bellboy who wouldn't take a tip as it was 'part of his job'!. Our room was on the third floor with a beautiful sea view and large balcony. The room was roomy and clean and the bathroom was large with a lovely shower and separate toilet. I didn't realise until we got back home that we had paid for an upgrade and should have had bathrobes and slippers which we didn't. It's not a large hotel with only one restaurant. For the first few days the food was really good. Fresh grilled meats and fish but the salad bar was very disappointing with very few basic ingredients like lettuce or tomatoes. Birds were also flying all over the place landing on the bread but as it was an open restaurant that wasn't something the hotel could avoid. On saying that there could have been a better way of protecting the food that was out. I think Chef's clothes could also do with having a good was as they didn't look as though they had been washed for some time. That being said we always found something to eat. The pool was extremely disappointing and absolutely filthy. There were tiles missing, broken tiles and a large tarpaulin at the bottom of the pool to cover , I imagine, more broken/missing tiles. There was only one bar at the hotel and only one person serving so you could have to wait sometimes but again drinks were OK. The only entertainment at the hotel was geared towards the french guests and once they left it was left to ourselves to amuse ourselves. Due to the location of the hotel there is no chance of going out and finding a nearby bar or restaurant so you literally are 'stuck' there. The beach was OK but there is no chance of swimming in the bay as the water never goes above waist height. Unfortunately while we were there the Maurutian government implemented a lockdown so we couldn't leave the hotel even if we wanted to so we didn't get to see anything of the island. As the number of guests dwindled so did the choice of foods and the last couple of days we were given a menu to choose what we wanted at the next meal. As there was no shop on site (the gift shop was shut while we were there) you had to eat something or starve until the next mealtime. The spa was also closed. The bar also closed at 9:30 and we had to be in our rooms by 10! We were also asked by the hotel to arrange early flights home as they were closing the hotel. That being said the pandemic was beyond the control of the hotel. Would I come back to this hotel? No. This is certainly not a 4 star or even 3

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanju64, General Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2020

Dear Kate G,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.
I have passed on your appreciation to all the Team Members who went the extra way to offer you our best Mauritian hospitality though we were under the lock down of the COVID-19. However I am surprise and saddened to read your negative part report as we did our utmost while you were among us.
While it is too late to change your experience at this point, I hope that we may address some of your concerns below.
For future travellers, please note that Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa is classified as a 3* Superior resort.
We wish to inform that you could have ask to meet the Duty Manager to assist you with any issue you had while being among us. Unfortunately, no reports were ever made. Management strongly believe in constructive upgrading of the services of the hotel and that the reason we constantly work in improvement to highlight our facilities, services and standards.
Indeed the All Inclusive packages at Jalsa Beach are applicable as from 11:00 to 23:00 as explained upon arrival, but due to the lock down we had a reduced service in all the departments concerned and a memo as well of this pandemic situation were sent to your room. I personally had a meeting with you to explain the situation of the lock down in Mauritius. No deliveries for fresh vegetables and any deliveries were being made at by suppliers at this particular period. All meals times were however respected. As you were on All Inclusive breakfast, lunch, tea time/pancake, dinner and and selected drinks were included in your package. Specifically on that period we have a reduced staffing at the hotel and social distancing were to be respected for which we asked guests to order their drinks at one person at a time. For specific reason of the confinement entertainment and other services were restricted. We did mentioned to guests for their safety to enquire about the return flight and that we will extend our services till our last guests’ check-out which we did.
As explained in my meeting that under the lock down no guests were allowed to leave the hotel premises in any circumstances or to venture on the beach or in lagoon. I did also mentioned that no gathering should performed but never asked guests to resume to their room after the services.
I was under impression that you had the perfect message while we were having that discussion meeting as it seem that every guests had no other complaints as such.

I do hope to welcome you again in the future, for a chance to deliver the great experience usually afforded to all our guests.
Kind Regards,

Sanjay Sewocksing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews