We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$229
View deal
Expedia.com
US$229
View deal
Destinia.com
US$235
US$172
View deal
CheapTicketsUS$229
TravelocityUS$229
Trip.comUS$235
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 077)
Filter reviews
1 077 results
Traveller rating
428
396
140
58
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
428
396
140
58
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar boat house dvd player restaurant staff relaxing holiday scuba diving candle light dinner sea view room water sports small hotel hotel management all inclusive package palm trees port louis head chef buffet style ground floor
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 1 077 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2019

Very clean and cosy room but some of the staffs specially waiters are very rude and cold...they take much time in bringing drinks during lunch and dinner. They are not enthusiastic in helping the guests. Any help asked seemed to be disturbing them. Delicious food though it's limited varieties.

Room tip: 1st floor Pool view rooms are great
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roubina786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay S, General Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2019

Dear Roubina786,

We thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa.

It is regrettable to hear that the restaurant service was not to your satisfaction. I sincerely wish that these matters were brought to our attention during your stay as the management of Jalsa Beach loves to get involved and we will always do our best to rectify any situation.
However we are happy to read that you enjoyed the other facilities and the services that the hotel had to offer.
The reviews we receive as well as our guest feedback is shared with all staff members and discussed with the entire team.

It will be pleasure to welcome you back for a better experience.

Kind Regards,

Sanjay Sewocksing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2019

Just returned from 2 weeks at Jalsa Beach and can honestly say it was one of our best, most relaxing holidays ever. We had a ground floor sea view room, with a large patio no more than 20 yards from the beach. Perfect. Plenty of loungers under the palm trees or chill out by the pool. Yes, some of the music was loud, but keeping to the end of the beach near the boat house, you didn’t notice it so much. The lagoon was glorious, shallow and so so warm. A couple of very minor niggles. Replacing our toiletries and towels was a bit hit and miss, but they always arrived when chased. There was no DVD player in the tv, which only seemed To pick up one English-speaking channel anyway - usually football, but we didn’t mind that. No dressing gown and slippers provided. Other than that, we were very happy. A big plus - we had excellent WiFi in our room and at the beach - unexpected but very welcome - and free. We rather liked the birds. Frankly wherever you go, birds are opportunists! We loved the food; a themed menu every night. Restaurant service was excellent. No sooner had you arrived than your drinks order was taken. Reception were very helpful. They even got one of my shoes mended! Thank you Jalsa Beach - we thoroughly enjoyed our stay with you and wouldn’t hesitate to return.

Room tip: Worth choosing one of the upgraded sea view rooms
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay S, General Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2019

Dear Elaine P,

Thank you for sharing your review and be sure that your feedback has been communicated to all our Team members. The management values the team and their contribution to our successes greatly.

It is a tremendous feeling to know that we contributed to a wonderful holiday as experienced by yourself.

We look forward to welcome you again at our resort shortly.

Kind Regards,

Sanjay Sewocksing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2019 via mobile

Where do we begin about this 4* hotel .if you want peace and quiet ,dont go here...its geared up for french guests only.The restaurant is like an aviary as you have to fight for your food with the birds flying everywhere,on plates,cutlery,utensils...we told the management about it but nothing was done about it.The hotel is in need of a total refit..its tired and dated.There are many repairs that need doing such as all the tiles in the pool..There is a club called Club Coralia based at the hotel...they like the music to be loud..we asked the management about that problem too...we asked could it be turned down so we could hear each other speak...The club reps didn't like that..Disappointing place,disappointing holiday.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank lesleysE3992US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay S, General Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2019

Dear lesleysE3992US,

The management and staff thank you for your feedback. All reviews/feedback, positive or negative serves as tool to assist us in determining where to improve our services. This is a never ending task in the service industry.

It appears Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa was not the hotel which suited your specific needs best. With the new technology tools available to travelers we strongly advise that guests do a thorough check on their chosen destination. From our many positive reviews it is clear that most guests are more than satisfied with the Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa end product.
The hotel is well known for calm, serene, peaceful. Perfect for lazing relaxation. However the hotel caters for all nationalities not only French as specified in your feedback and also a variable ageing clientele. We do have a daily entertainment for all clientele and among is the aqua gym from 11h00 to 11h30 which requires music.
As you will be aware at this point that the hotel is located in a close proximity to the protected area which serves as a sanctuary for birds. The hotel is fortunate to have many of these beautiful birds visit the gardens. Regrettably the birds can become a nuisance at meal times. Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa has a number of measures in place to reduce the number of birds at meal times but we insist on using environmentally friendly prevention measures. We have recently increased some of these. We certainly request guests not to feed the birds (mother nature is more than capable of looking after her own).The management has put into place a number a preventative measures to minimize access to the restaurant in such a way as not to harm these animals. Our Health & Safety standards are indeed very high and all routine audits have been passed.
Some of the causes of complaint were isolated incidences which certainly are not the norm at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa and this is reflected in the great number of wonderful reviews we have received from new and repeater guests.

I use this opportunity to encourage any guest at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa to embrace our offer that the management and staff are here to assist our guests in any matter.

We send you our best wishes for the year ahead and hope that we have another opportunity to change your view.

Kind Regards,

Sanjay Sewocksing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2019

Our second visit to Jalsa,an even better experience than the last visit.
The staff were faultless again and the food was much improved (thanks to the new head chef)
We will be returning next year to this sublime location.
Many thanks to you all at Jalsa for your generosity and kindness.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaxanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2019 via mobile

The hotel is on a quieter east side of Mauritius.. If you are looking for a relaxing quiet get away this is the place for you. The hotel itself is on a small private beach with enough sun loungers for everyone. Our room was very clean and large with a big balcony overlooking the sea. Bathroom is large with a big shower plenty of hot water and the water pressure is also very good . All the staff within the hotel, bar and restaurant were extremely helpful, friendly, cheerful and spoke very good English. There is a small shop for souvenirs on site. The spa is small but looked clean and the lady we spoke to was extremely helpful unfortunately we did not have time to have any treatments.
The food in the restaurant was extremely good a different theme each night and if there was nothing that you liked they would cook something for you. The breakfast omelette were amazing. Afternoon Crêpes by the pool were extremely good too.

The Choice of Spirit at the bar is very limited on an all-inclusive basis, But if you wish to pay for international spirits this can be added to a bill which you pay at the end of your stay. The bar also has a limited choice of cigarettes which if you’re a smoker you will find extremely useful as buying tobacco is impossible and finding anywhere that sells cigarettes is extremely difficult.
There is a small boat house where you can get pedalos, kayaks, snorkelling equipment and other water sporting goods. They also do boat trips from here at extremely reasonable prices and again are exceptionally helpful.
There is a bus service that runs directly from outside the gates into Flacq from where you can get almost anywhere or you can hire a car from reception at very reasonable prices.
That evening entertainment is low-key and finishes by 11:30 pm.
I personally would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for that relaxing break and will be going back myself..
There were a few minor painting and decorating issues but this could be as we went at the start of the season.
Thank you very much jalsa beach hotel.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
6  Thank Samxxxlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay S, General Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2019

Dear SamxxxHel ,

We thank you for your positive review. It is a pleasure to have been able to contribute to your holiday experience. As you well noted the staff in every department is a most valuable member and as always your review will be shared with all management and staff alike.

Furthermore we are happy to see that you enjoyed the facilities and services extended at the resort.

On behalf of the team we wish you all the best and hope to see you back at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa again.

Kind Regards,

Sanjay Sewocksing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews