We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We had a really special time in this delightful...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kincraig, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
judyrougi...
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
“We had a really special time in this delightful family house.”
Reviewed 11 October 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The Cairngorms and the Loch Insh Watersports are very near Morven : something
for all sporting tastes and sensational scenery.
The house is warm and welcoming.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripandy
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 3 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Booked to celebrate large family birthday party.We all had a great time in this old, large, rambling building. Clean beds and loads of character we loved it but it's not for you if you're looking for luxury accommodation or can't enjoy the fun of a slightly tired, could use some TLC, quirky building. Sure it could be better maintained but we enjoyed the feeling that we were not living in a show house and were unlikely to do any harm. We loved it and our young grandchildren revelled in exploring its many books and crannies.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dickiehar...
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Idyllic and restful family home”
Reviewed 10 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a fabulous place! It was like a home away from home. I don't think the reviewer below could have stayed in the same place!
We loved the fact that this is obviously a much loved family home and that the owners coats and hiking boots were by the front door. We were two families staying plus one friend and a granny so ten of us altogether and we never felt like we were on top of each other as the house and rooms are so spacious. We saw plenty of wildlife (outside of the house!) - red squirrels, foxes, rabbits etc. We loved it.
The owners were great - good communication!
After hiking, biking and stand-up paddleboarding on the lochs and mountains all day, Morven was the perfect house to come back to. We had great fun with board games - Pictionary, Scrabble, Boggle (and the list goes on) every evening helped along with a good bottle of wine or two.
I had some work I had to get on with so the study was the ideal place to sit and work in silence whilst looking out over the mountains from the desk by the window.
The kids and dog loved the secluded garden (4 children aged between 6 and 10), exploring the nooks and crannies and finding secret dens amongst the pines and hedges that run alongside the perimeter.
A short walk down the hill from the house took us to a great vantage point to view the nesting ospreys on the island on Loch Insh. My brother's family hired canadian canoes from the watersports centre and we all swam in the loch.
There's a beautiful walk up to Feshiebridge where we swam in the glen and ate wild raspberries and bilberries.
Morven is the perfect place for exploring the Cairngorms and all they have to offer. We travelled from all over the place - Northamptonshire, London, Wales and Cornwall and at the end of the holiday all agreed to come to Morven again in the very near future. We shall be back!!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReviewerJ...
St Andrews, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, but that's the only positive.”
Reviewed 16 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

House full of other peoples belongings: Boot room cupboard crammed full of old shoes and boots, kitchen cupboards full of condiments, teabags etc. (who knows how long they've been there for). As a result, here was hardly any room for us to put our food. Shopping lists, notes left in drawers. Tatty old board games you couldn't play as pieces were missing. Underwear found under the bed, etc.

The garden: It should have been stated in the description of the property that the garden is unsuitable for small children. My toddler could've easily stepped off the garden and fallen at height on to a road below (there is no wall in parts). Also, it looked like the grass hadn't been cut for several weeks (however, it was eventually cut towards the end of our holiday).

Creatures: Mice (and their droppings) were seen in the kitchen on numerous occasions. Very worrying when you have a toddler that picks up small things on floors and puts them in her mouth! There was also a mouse running about my husband and 4 month old babies room a few nights (my husband had to eventually open the door to let it out). A few of our bags were also chewed through too.

4 bats were seen in the house while we were there. 2 were on the floor and thankfully none of the children tried to pick them up (as far as we know). I like bats but would rather not live with them, thank you! I don't know how long they'd been in there for but we never left external doors open – my dog would've escaped!!

We had a blue bottle infestation one day. They were all over our food and food had to be thrown away. One of our family members decided to keep his food in the car for the duration of the holiday because of it. They were also found in the bathroom upstairs so I had to sterilise my toddlers toothbrush as a precaution. After raising the issue with the key holder/ cleaner, a man came round the next day with fly spray which got rid of most of them (along with keeping the boot room door shut, which seemed to be where most of them were coming from).

The rooms in the attic had no blinds – my poor niece and nephew struggled to sleep!

Once home, we tried to contact the owners through the email address supplied on their website to raise our issues, but we had no reply. We booked the accommodation through Sykes so complained through them. Sykes were truly awful in dealing with our complaint (but that's for another day) and we have only just received the owners response from them which they've had for more than a week. But, it seems that most of our issues raised have fallen on deaf ears. Absolutely no apology, zero customer service. Very, very disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irenegard...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage for a walking weekend”
Reviewed 17 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The location was perfect for all our walking needs, whether it was a munroe, Corbett or forest walk in the Cairngorms and it wasn't far from the other 6 girls who were based at Loch Insch water sports, where we had a meal. Although Loch Insch is only about a mile away the restaurant put on a bus for us there and back as there is no lighting on the road (At no cost). The food and hospitality there was wonderful and would recommend the area

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;