We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent location for a family holiday”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Kincraig, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David B
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice house but needs alot to get it up to scratch.”
Reviewed 24 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Mike (the owner) was friendly and helpful. The house is large and at first glance has a wow factor. I love that it has a log burner but wish it was installed in the bigger sitting room and kitchin.

Before arrival we was told we could not go to the house before 4pm as it is being cleaned. Im not so sure it was cleaned, all plates had grease film. As did the cutlery. Some of the drinking glasses was dirty and so before we even got going had to put all we would use during our stay in the dishwasher.

The remote controls for the tv did not work for most of the tvs on arrival.

Spider webs all over the place.

The lodge had alot of the owners personal belongings photos pics and other things you would not expect to see.

Fire doors at the top of the stairs are heavy and an absolute pain. The upstairs seems sonewhat confused as it still resembles a hotel/B&B feel to it.

Carpets are lovely but the decor in some of the rooms needed a good paint and update.

If you dont want strangers to see you in the hit tub dont use this one. I was gobsmacked to see people casually walking past in an area which i initially thought was for our private use. As there are other lets this is not the case.

We had a good time but i think for the price of the rental being asked it needs alot of money spent on it to get it up to scratch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2018
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments.

I am sorry to hear you feel disappointed with your chosen property. Should we have been notified of any issues experienced, we would have loved to address these for you during your stay.
The property is advertised as having a 4pm check in time, due to the size of the property and the time taken to complete the changeover. As the property is noted to be shared with another property, there may be times when other guests may be visible in the grounds.

Should you wish to discuss your experience with us directly, we kindly ask that you contact us directly on 01244 345700.

Kind Regards,
The Customer Service Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jb1273
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not as it Seems!”
Reviewed 20 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
2
people found this review helpful

The location was approximately six miles from Aviemore which was a lovely place to visit. The advertising of the house was slightly misleading; the house itself is lovely, cozy and spacious however its not as secluded as it appears. During the day and in the evening when the pub is open people are often walking past the windows and park outside your front door. There is very little privacy when using the hot tub as other rentals are in the grounds and people walk very close by and can see you clearly; the pub window looks directly into the hot tub. The owner Mike is friendly and helpful however for the price it cost to stay we would have expected the crockery/grill to be clean and the remote controls to work and not having to ask for a replacement DVD player as it did not work either. The property advertises 8 TVs when there is only 7 (one bedroom short). The property advertises Sky when it is actually Preview and WiFi is poor, one living room has a log fire the other is closed off therefore often chilly until the radiators come on at 18:00. We would recommend this property to rent however it is in need of comfort updates and a bit of TLC. The property is in need of up to date advertising as it does not state other rentals are directly in the grounds as the photos are quite misleading; we thought we would be "away from it all" when you actually feel you are in a "fish bowl". Lovely views, friendly owner but disappointed with "home comforts" really needs a tumble dryer and some beds need new mattresses.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2018
Thank you for your comments.

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the privacy of your chosen property. We try to be as transparent as possible when listing properties and have noted that they are properties located within the grounds. The listing notes that there is a small pub located within the grounds, as well as separate property that is also used for lettings.
Please rest assured that the property does offer Sky TV, however we apologise for any issues you may have experienced accessing it. We are always on hand to provide any assistance should it be required.
The mattresses within the property were all replaced within the last 2 years with feather mattress toppers also added, we are sorry to hear they were not to your liking on this occasion.

Should you wish to discuss your comments with us directly, please call us on 01244 345700.

Kind Regards,
The Customer Service Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeLei...
Leigh on Sea
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location for a family holiday”
Reviewed 13 February 2018 for a stay in August 2017

We booked the Suidhe Lodge for a family holiday to celebrate a birthday. We had a fantastic week, the house is in a wonderful location, with a gentle walk down to Loch Insh close by. The owners are really friendly and helpful and let us use their two canoes, which they supplied with oars and life jackets, all free of charge.
The grounds were perfect for the two small children in our group, with the play area and slide an unexpected bonus. We also enjoyed using the hot tub and the outside fireplace as well as the summer house.

The house is beautifully furnished and very well equipped, especially the kitchen which has a dishwasher and a washing machine. We mainly self catered and found all we could possibly need in the kitchen. There is a Tesco in nearby Aviemore which is well stocked.

All the bedrooms were comfortable and en suite. We also really liked the co-located Suie Bar, which was very friendly and had a good selection of ales and beers on and also has a pool table. The Bar has a folk night on once a week, which a few of our group went to and really enjoyed. Despite being so close, we didn't hear any noise from the bar when in the house or gardens. Our only reservation initially we the close proximity to the A9 but in actual fact this did not cause any problems and wasn't even audible.

We went out on many trips both jointly and separately and thoroughly enjoyed walking locally and further afield out in the Cairngorms, which are breathtaking. There are also many parks and attraction nearby, which would suit a wide range of ages. We would wholeheartedly recommend Suidhe Lodge to anyone looking for a group holiday in a fantastic location with all the comforts of a wonderful house and the many extras including a bar on your doorstep.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhonahowi...
Mallaig, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Week-end”
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

A group of friends and I stayed here for a week-end and had a fabulous time. The house was so warm and comfortable with fantastic bedrooms and well equipped kitchen . The hot tub was excellent and well used. I can't wait to visit again.
Thank you so much

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartian...
Burntisland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent weekend”
Reviewed 22 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We booked the Suidhe lodge for a weekend in June and had a great time everything you need and more, the pub attached is also friendly and serves good beer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2017
Thank you for your recent review of Suidhe Lodge in the Scottish Highlands, it is greatly appreciated. We hope you choose to book with Sykes Cottages again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing