We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disapointment, rude staff”
Review of Amarin Samui Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amarin Samui Hotel
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Reviewed 30 March 2015

nice pool on the roof top, pretty nice room, big bed, good wifi. but,
The first problem was: I booked the hotel on expedia, like i do with all the hotels on my trip, when i got there they had no comfirmation of my reservation, so i showed them the email comfirmation expedia sent me, the girl at the reception said she had to call the manager, i had to wait 2 hours in the loby, before they gave me my room,
The second: i booked for two persons but they said i still had to pay 500baht extra PER NIGHT for my girlfriend.. I booked the hotel for 4 nights and left after the 3rd night, with a 500baht extra per nights i figured out it would be cheaper to get another room somewhere else.
The staff was pretty rude, and couldnt speak any english, for the price i really was expecting better.

Room Tip: Be careful if you book in advance, i booked for 2 person but still had to pay 500baht extra per nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nicolas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2015

Really liked how this hotel looked online and booked it for three nights at first, thinking to check it out and then book for the rest of the month if everything works. Room was nice, big bed, enough space to unpack your bags, stylish big bathroom, even some complimentary fruits in the room and no problems with the wi-fi. Pool and gym was also cool. Only the view (dirty wall of the next building) and the horrible aromastone-thing wasn't so nice.

The first night I woke up several times thanks to the aircon (placed outside the building but on the wall 15 cm:s from the bed) making all sorts of different noises (this was the aircon on the next room, mine wasn't even on). Also noise from the traffic. Called the lobby, explained my problem, asked for another room, guy said "OK" and hung up. Nothing happened, so I went to the lobby after 30 mins. The guy was watching football with the security guard. I was really mad and repeated everything I said before, realized the guys don't speak any (or very little) english. After a while he came to look at the aircon and wouldn't understand the problem is outside. I gave up and thought the problem would be solved next morning.

Called to the lobby the next morning and repeated the problem. Again they sent a guy to look at the aircon in the room. I then visited the lobby, explained the aircon- situation but that it was also the traffic that bothered me and asked if I could just change for a more peaceful room. Receptionist (very nice by the way) said she'll have to call the manager. Called back after an hour and said there is nothing they can do. I told her I cannot understand how could that be when I can see there's plenty ( 9 in booking.com) of rooms available. She told she'll call the manager again and get back to me. This time I waited maybe 2 hours until she called back and told me again there is nothing they can do. I didn't know what to say so I just asked to speak to the manager. Again I waited and waited but nothing happened. After using about six hours of my day I decided to go looking for the next place to stay. Never heard of the manager.

Stayed in the hotel for the three days that we had booked but will definitely never go back.

This place surely has the worst management ever. I still cannot understand it's even possible to treat customers this badly especially when the hotel is BASICALLY EMPTY?! Shame on you.

(Later I discovered this "fresh" towel with yellow stains all over it, see picture. Toilet seat also looked as it has never been cleaned properly.)

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Oona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2015 via mobile

Our first impressions of the amarin weren't great it has to be said. However I think this stemmed mainly from the fact the previous hotel we'd stayed in was magnificent and it just couldn't compare in terms of quality. Anyway, it is a 3 star hotel at best. Average food. Decent pool as well. I was going to give it 3 star but decided to go with 4 based on just how helpful and friendly the staff were! Couldn't be any more helpful if they tried!

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golfmadlad88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2015

My partner and I stayed here for a few nights before heading to Koh Tao.

This place could really be a luxury hotel if they just invested a little bit of money into it.

Pros:
Room was beautiful
AC was brilliant
Good wifi
Great pool
Great staff
Great restaurant (in lobby)

Cons:
Quiet location, but if you want to relax its perfect
Upstairs needs some TLC. Was the upstairs bar even in service? It had barely any stock and nobody looking after it.
Pool loungers were very old and mouldy. Just buy some new cushions and it'll look lovely!
Atmosphere...this place felt like a mental institute. I think we were the only people in the hotel and it felt quite strange.

This place has the basics, but if they just spend some money on marketing, lighting in the hallways (felt like a prison), and some attention to the upstairs bar it could really be an incredible hotel.

Although my review doesn't sound great, it really was a lovely hotel and I'd definitely recommend.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Ash B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2015

Ok, I had high hopes for this place based on all of the reviews. I can't begin to tell you of all of the ways that this hotel has failed me, yet I will because right now I'm pissed off that basics are not being covered, and on top of that I am getting horrible customer service. Very uncharacteristic for Thailand!

The first problem I had was that I was put in the wrong room. Then I had to be changed into another room which technically was an upgrade, however, they were both pretty bad.

The rooms are very old. I got a room with stains all over the walls. The bed is NEVER properly made. I don't think they change the sheets every day, and the covers are too small for the bed. Believe me, I am just beginning. From day to day I have missed receiving something. Towels, water, tea, etc. Things are moved from where I keep them too.

Nothing is cleaned properly. I mean basics here. The tub is DIRTY! One of the days I had a mask that I rinsed off in the bath and I didn't clean it all the way, just to see if it would be clean the next day, proof that it was being cleaned daily but NO! Next day the stains from my clay mask were still there.

One time I showered and because the water leaks all over the floor from their bad plumbing, and when I came back it was still there though the room had been cleaned. Some of the towels have been dirty or very worn down, completely not acceptable.

The faucets are dirty, never being properly cleaned. There are water stains from god knows when that can very easily be cleaned, but there is no attention to detail.

It also sucks that the staff at the desk barely speaks English too. It's hard to communicate and ask for what you want here. It's been harder than anywhere else in Thailand. And I mean things like can I please have some utensils? Also, yes, I was refused the damn utensils because they say people steal them so they have policy to not let their clients borrow them? Never heard of this before in any hotel.

Overall, very very veryyyyy unsatisfied. It has made my stay here in Koh Samui not as good while I am in the Hotel. Going outside is my escape from this place that always keeps disapointing me.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sazzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
4.3 km away
Natural Wing Health Spa & Resort
1.1 km away
Baan Fah Resort Samui
Baan Fah Resort Samui
#24 of 30 in Mae Nam
24 reviews
0.9 km away
The Hammock Samui Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Cocooning Hotel
Cocooning Hotel
#77 of 185 in Bophut
204 reviews
0.0 km away
Save House
Save House
#28 of 30 in Mae Nam
17 reviews
1.4 km away
Harry's Bungalows & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarin Samui Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarin Samui Hotel

Address: 12/71 Moo 1, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand (Formerly Amarin Victoria Resort)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Price Range: R311 - R1 202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3,5 star — Amarin Samui Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amarin Samui Hotel is a small yet stylish property, offering spectacular views of Koh Pha-ngan and an easy access to anywhere around the island. Located in Maenam beach, the north of Koh Samui, It is only a few minute walk to Mae Nam beach, convenience shops, 5 minutes drive to Lomprayah Pier/Golf Course and 15 minutes to Samui Airport. With 46 uniquely decorated guestrooms and suites, we offer all the comforts of home with modern amenities for both business and leisure travelers. LCD TV (Deluxe and Junior) and DVD player with Free in-room movies as well as Free- WiFi-internet access are offered as standard room features. Privacy Rooftop Outdoor swimming Pool, Fitness Room and Pool Table are also available among the panoramic view of Coconut Garden View and Pha-ngan Island. At Amarin Samui Hotel, our meetings packages offer some of the finest pleasures and amenities for any event from hosting weddings to social and corporate meetings to private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amarin Samui Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarin Victoria Hotel Koh Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing