We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location but some improvements needed”
Review of Belmond Napasai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belmond Napasai
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Overall the hotel is in a beautiful location — nice and secluded with a great pool and beach area. If all you want to do is relax by the pool this is a great place for that!
The Villas— we stayed in an ocean view villa and the rooms were spacious, had a really nice patio to sit on. However—the rooms feel a bit outdated. Our air conditioning broke twice, once in the middle of the night and we had to wait an hour for it to be fixed. the AC is only in the main room so the bathroom are gets very warm.
The gym— this is an important feature of a hotel for me! Overall it was pretty good they had some well maintained spin bikes, an elliptical and a treadmill. I think it would be better if they had two treadmills and two ellipticals . My husband and I both wanted to run inside and couldn’t at the same time.
The food/drinks—overall I enjoyed breakfast there but didn’t really eat much else there. All the drinks and food were overpriced and there are very few other options without taking a taxi to a different location.
Cooking class—If you actually want to learn how to cook the food I wouldn’t take the class. You feel rushed while making the dishes and don’t really learn much about what you are doing. Most of the prep work is done for you which can take some of the fun out of cooking.
Service—overall everyone at the hotel was incredibly friendly and helpful (especially at the front desk). However it felt like the hotel was understaffed—took nearly an hour to get food and drinks by the pool and they got the order wrong.

When you book this hotel just keep in mind you will be taking taxis everywhere (or you need to rent a car or bike) —there is not much near the hotel. The hotel is pretty dead in the evenings but the nearby fisherman’s village is a great place to go with a ton to eat and drink

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (878)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 878 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2017

Great resort with nice view and huge pool. We stayed lots of time near the pool. The beach itself was not nice, the water was murky probably because it was rainy season. Staffs were super.But we will back.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank santianoteresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

Spent a week at this amazing spot on our 2nd visit. Can it get any better? NO! From the moment we were picked up from the airport to our departure, all I can say is WOW! We were provided with cold towels and cold water on pick-up. At check-in, cold towels again with a cooling drink and an upgrade to a sea view villa, right near the pool. Breakfast is one of the best we have encountered on our travels and the staff really get to know you and know what coffee you like and when you want it. Nor should be congratulated over and over again on his selection of staff. Nothing is too much trouble and they are genuinely interested in you and most can speak very good English. We met U, who hadn't been at Napasai very long and he is very good at practising his Aussie slang on Australians and is just a delight to have around. Chud and Lek are the boxing trainers and also work around the pool, providing towels, and taking drink orders etc. They are also a delight to get to know. The pool is big, clean and welcoming after a hot day sitting and reading by the pool. The beach is a short walk away and you can swim safely but we chose to spend our time at the pool. We ate a couple of times in the restaurant, the Thai buffet was amazing. The nights we didn't eat at Napasai we ventured into Fisherman's Village at a cost of 300Baht which is $12 AUS. The resort ordered us a taxi and if you tell the driver a pick-up time, they will come back and collect you. Don't be fooled by taxi drivers trying to charge 500Baht to take you back to Napasai, as they see tourist written all over your forehead and will try to charge you more than 300Baht. Our villa was excellent, comfy bed and pillows and cleaned and stocked well every day with a bowl of different fruit each day. The only gripe we had were the floors were quite slippery and "squeaked" when walking from bedroom to bathroom. We both had a one hr massage included in our package and we opted for the aromatherapy one. So relaxing and beneficial. I could blab on and on about this place, only because everything I have said or would want to say is true. Do yourself a favour and visit, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The 1br sea view villas are great and even if you have a room up the hill staff will take you to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blabbergums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

Second trip to stay here as a family of four. Better than 2 years ago....small details. Superb room, staff are excellent and location spot on. It is a bit remote but hotel taxi service is extremely efficient and hotel organise immediately. Worth paying for taxis to be in such a private spot. Beautifully maintained, well run by the Dutch manager Jeroen, superb breakfast and we couldn't recommend more. In hotel food / drinks/ services remain expensive compared to local options but overall a brilliant place. We really appreciated some staff and management remembering us. Thanks Belmond for another memorable 10 day stay - we'll be back, we just love it here.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CriticalFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

Very nice hotel ,staff and service excellent our one gripe would be the location as it is a bit isolated and there is no shuttle bus and taxis were not cheap. That said we had a very nice holiday. But you have to be reasonably mobile as most bungalows are quite high up.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 862peanuts46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
5,7 km away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
6,2 km away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
14,7 km away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12,4 km away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
16,2 km away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1 462 reviews
6 km away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 185 in Bophut
1 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Napasai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Napasai

Address: 65 / 10 Baan Tai, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range: R3 202 - R8 448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Napasai 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Napasai exudes an irresistible, traditional Thai charm. Stand-alone villas sit within 17 acres of tropical gardens, rich with cashew and coconut trees, hibiscus and bougainvillea. Tempting aromas of fresh local cuisine drift through the air, and staff greet every request with a warm smile. Life is as quiet or as lively as you desire. Spend all day beside the infinity pool or in the relaxing Napasai Spa. Alternatively plunge into the vibrant island scene with our wide range of action-packed resort activities. The resort is a haven for sports, sea and action lovers. Enjoy a number of on-site facilities, from table tennis and badminton to windsurfing and Hobie Cat. Swimming pool nestled in our tropical garden, the infinity-edge freshwater pool. Family friendly features Whether spending quality time together or letting little ones run wild with supervised activities, Belmond Napasai is an ideal choice for a Thailand family holiday. Children can meet our resident animals while touring the secret countryside. They can get involved with different sports and excursions or go for a splash in the dedicated children's pool. They will also receive special menus in our restaurants. Babysitting services can be arranged on request so parents can unwind and savour the romance of the resort. Savour the delights of Thai cuisine at our Lai Thai Restaurant. Our executive chef offers a delicious array of local specialities alongside refined Mediterranean and oriental dishes. Take a seat indoors and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, or eat al fresco on our outdoor balconies. Stunning views across the resort accompany breakfast, lunch and dinner. Dining in Belmond Napasai Beach Dining: Take a seat at our beachside restaurant which offers a mouth-watering variety of barbecued and grilled dishes. Savour the delights of Thai cuisine at our Lai Thai Restaurant. Our executive chef offers a delicious array of local specialities. Take a seat indoors and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, or eat al fresco on our outdoor balconies. Stunning views across the resort accompany breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel offers a variety of villas from Sea view hill to sea view and beach front, One bedroom Villa Suites (beach front or in the Gardens) and Private Pool Residences from 2 to 4 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Napasai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napasai By Orient-Express Hotel Mae Nam
Napasai Koh Samui
Napasai Hotel Koh Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing