We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You don’t have to stay at the resort to joy enjoy a fabulous evening here ***** everybody is welcome!”
Review of PASSA

PASSA
Ranked #11 of 165 Restaurants in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$30
Description: PASSA Restaurant at Khwan Beach Resort is a fine dining restaurant located in Khwan Beach Resort. Fusion and Thai Royal Kitchen and an exclusive wine list will delight your senses. Enjoy a high quality restaurant run in a superb design environment.
Restaurant details
Description: PASSA Restaurant at Khwan Beach Resort is a fine dining restaurant located in Khwan Beach Resort. Fusion and Thai Royal Kitchen and an exclusive wine list will delight your senses. Enjoy a high quality restaurant run in a superb design environment.
Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

Tucked in the Khwan Beach Resort is Passa. This restaurant boasts a pool bar, bring your swimming costume if you fancy a drink on the pool stools before dinner, or simply relax on the chairs around the pool. In the season you need to book, low season the welcome you without a reservation. The owner, Patrick Nouvel, is French so that’s a good start when it comes to a great menu.
Greg(ory) is the restaurant manager, another Frenchman, from Marseille, five years in the area, ask him anything and he will be able to point you in the right direction.
All the staff are welcoming, helpful, nothing is too much trouble.
To start we had the Beef Carpaccio and the Salmon Tartar, light, both well presented and a great lead into the signature main course, the Prawn Tower, and the Angus Beef, both superb. We shared the cheese to complete the evening and resisted the Banana Fritters to leave for another time. The wine is really great value, it is inexpensive, it could probably be priced at 25% more than Patrick’s wine list charges and it would still be good value. House wine is really good value at under 900 THB and there are many around the 1000 THB mark, on upwards to a Sancerre for the connoisseur, again very reasonable but rather more than the 1000 THB!
The resort itself deserves a separate review, but the restaurant is worth experiencing wherever you are staying on the island.
Let’s use the word ‘inexpensive’, that’s a great adjective, indicating good quality at the right price.
Great service too!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank JPC1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2018

The food here was super delicious and super fresh! Enjoyed a few meals here while staying at the resort.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tahirina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KhwanB6, Manager at PASSA, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Thank ou very much for your compliments , we hope too see you next time in our restaurant .
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

I booked this restaurant for my Dad’s birthday while we were here on holiday. It was quiet in the evening, both the waiter and manager were wonderfully attentive. The menu was diverse and very flavourful. We shared a starter and a had a main each - the fish of the day was particularly delicious. A lovely relaxing atmosphere!

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khwan B, Manager at PASSA, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Sir , Madam , Thanks a lot for your compliments , we try to do our best to satisfy you .
We hope to see you next time .
Greg
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

Passa is the onsite restaurant of Khwan resort which we stayed at for 5 nights. On our last night we were tired and did not feel like going out to dinner, so decided to try Passa. It was the best restaurant experience we had during our 2 weeks in Thailand! The food is really well prepared and presented, and the servers are wonderful. I really recommend a visit if you fancy a fine dining meal in a relaxed setting.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kaprifol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khwan B, Manager at PASSA, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Sir , Madam , Thanks a lot for your compliments , we try to do our best to satisfy you . We hope to see you next time .
Greg , Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

Dear Passa.
We have just returned from 16 wonderful days on Koh Samui staying in the Maenam area. Our ONLY disappointing experience (extremely disappointing experience) was courtesy of yourselves.
Let me explain .................... every day myself, my wife and our 8 year old daughter would walk past your restaurant and see the chalkboard sign at the entrance to your establishment advertising "Wave - Pool Sunday Brunch".
My daughter pleaded with me to take her on one of the Sunday's during our stay as a special treat - so we did.
Imagine the disappointment on the face of a young child after being told that whilst we could have brunch (a VERY expensive brunch I would like to add) my daughter would not be allowed to use the pool.
Your staff informed us that we would have to be guests of the Kwan / Miskawan Resort to use the pool. Such a pity that you failed to mention this in your advertising. Perhaps you might consider doing so in the future as it is CLEARLY misleading.

Actually, having said all of that we were quite glad our daughter didn't enter your / Miskawan's pool as it was filthy - full of dead leaves and various bit's of flotsam and jetsam. Perhaps you would like to pass these comments onto the owners.

Dont mis-lead people with false advertising - it really isn't good business practice.

Kind regards.
Andy

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank andyandy2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khwan B, Manager at PASSA, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Dear Andy,
We would like to apologize for a huge misunderstanding. Actually, our resort is "adults only" and during the day we recently open to all the families, including kids obviously. Thank you to help us to point this miscommunication, as our new policy is very new. Hopefully, we will have the chance to welcome you in our pool bar and, if so, we will do all the necessary to please you.

So sorry again

Best Regards
Passa Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed PASSA also viewed

 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to PASSA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing