We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing, cosy and convenient!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Zebbug, Island of Gozo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
ElinaMcC
Vienna, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing, cosy and convenient!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a few days exploring Gozo and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at il-Forn. The rooftop terrace is just wonderful for dining in the evening, with fantastic views of Zebbug, the sea and the countryside. The weather was still cool when we went, so we didn't use the downstairs area very much, but I imagine that it must be a great respite when the summer heat starts. Il-Forn is equipped with absolutely everything you might need, even for a long stay. Our hosts were warm and welcoming and can tell you a lot about places to go and things to do. Booking a self-catering place is really the best because this way, you can fully enjoy the lovely fresh bread, vegetables and fish available every day, brought by hawkers with their trucks nearly to your doorstep. The owners have obviously put a lot of loving care and thought into renovating this place and have preserved its unique charm and features. I'll be recommending it to all my friends!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Unique features of the old bakery, beautifully preserved and renovated
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2014
Thank you so much for your outstanding review. The place enjoys unspoilt views from the roof terrace especially during the winter months when the valley below is all green, or in spring with the blooming flowers which resemble colourful carpets. Winters here are very mild with temperatures about 13 degrees on average and at night about 10 degrees. This makes it ideal to go for walks in our unique countryside and along the exceptionally beautiful coastline.

Besides being served at you door by the hawkers is a unique experience! You truly live like the locals!

Heartfelt thanks to you and hope to see again soon:))

Always in our hearts
Mary & Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia L
Mainz, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday conditions”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spend 10 sunny and relaxed days at Il Forn.
Everything was comfortable and we especially enjoyed the view from the roof terrace – so every evening after pizza at “Francesco” we had a glass of wine on the terrace.
Mary and Andrew are a very friendly and helpful couple, they organized the transfer from airport Malta to Zebbug-Gozo and a boat trip to Comino – perfect holiday conditions.
Thank you very much!

Claudia and Eva

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: view from roof terrace
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2014
Dear friends, thank you so much for your outstanding review. It is always a pleasure knowing that you achieved what you came for - peace and tranquillity and a relaxing stay!

Hope to meet you again but this time with your larger families - would be a real pleasure for us!

Take Care and wish you luck with your profession!

Mary & Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Reviewed 10 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Oct 2013
Dearest friends we have no words to thank you enough for your exceptional review. You left us speechless!!!!

It is so nice to hear that our lovely guests from the other continent had such a wonderful time at "il-Forn" and on Gozo. Talking to you was so nice and we thank you for all your precious time you shared with us. Both of you are incredibly warm persons and it would be such an honour if we'll have the time to meet you and host you once again here in our tranquil village of Zebbug.

Take Care of yourselves and all the very best of luck:)))

Until we meet again you will always be in our hearts
Mary & Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Denmark
Reviewed 2 October 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Oct 2013
Dearest family from Denmark, it is such a pleasure knowing that you found yourselves comfortable in the house and that you had everything that you needed available for you.

We would really like to thank you for joining us to the BBQ by the beach and we will surely treasure this moment forever. It was so nice talking about our ways of living and it is always so interesting knowing about other cultures.

Give a big hug to all the children and it would be an honour for us to host you all once again here in Zebbug.

Always in our hearts
Mary, Andrew, Davida & Jeremy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kalim0tx0
Graz
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful hosts, an ideal honeymoon”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013

I really should have gotten around to writing this earlier! We spent our honeymoon here in July.

Mary, Andrew and their children were the perfect hosts. From the pick- up at the ferry to the wonderful hints about what to do and where to go (and where to get Pizza) down to help in an emergency, we felt very well taken care of and really pampered.

The house itself is stunning. Mary and Andrew have a great eye for details in decoration and the old stones make this a fantastic place to be even when it's very hot outside. We don't really like turning on the AC so this is important to us. The structure is architecturally and visually very interesting and we were glad that it is being taken care of so well - so many other old houses seem to be crumbling... what a shame!

Thank you again, and we will be back, with friends!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to say, it was all so wonderful. The view from the roof is top notch!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2013
It is such a pleasure receiving such a positive feedback from so special guests like you. No problem you wrote just now, we fully understand that people have so much to do in their everyday life but we thank you for your precious time to share your memories with other travellers.

Yes we do our very best to take good care of our lovely guests to make them have a memorable stay and we are glad that you had the "ideal honemoon" here at "il-Forn" in the rural village of Zebbug.

You and your friends are always welcome to be back and till we meet again TAKE CARE!!!!

Love from us all
Mary & Andrew, Jeremy & Davida
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing