We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just the ticket... and a bit more”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of TA RENA

A private tranquil pool terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A private tranquil pool terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
A private tranquil pool terrace
Welcome to Ta' Rena! Come into our stunning limestone entrance.
A day by the pool
View of the sun set from Ta Rena's balcony
The road to Nadur and view from Ta Rena
Outside view of pool balcony and roof top terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Nadur, Island of Gozo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
356Sarah2...
Canada
1 review
“Just the ticket... and a bit more”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I can only write good things about Ta' Rena, Julia and Peter who helped us with the booking and arrival/settling in, respectively. If you are thinking of going to Gozo, Ta' Rena is a brilliant property.

As a home, Ta' Rena is welcoming. We found the property clean and well maintained. Everything was in working order. It is a place that is clearly looked after and cherished. And so it should be! The view from the terraces is unbelievable and the evening breezes cooling and refreshing. The view of the night time sky is beautiful (I did look for and see shooting stars). The location, on the edge of Nadur, is minutes away from the town centre and has the double advantage of equally being in a peaceful setting (did I mention the view - we also saw some firework displays during village festas).

We stayed for a week, which was a good amount of time to gently go about being tourists and exploring Gozo and to not necessarily need to rush. There are visitors books in Ta' Rena which are a treasure trove of comments and knowledge; Peter, who welcomed us to the property, had many helpful suggestions and it was apparent that he enjoys helping others explore the islands.

It was lovely to drive down to Ramla late in the evening, to watch the waves as the sun set. We highly recommend It-Tmun at Mgarr and the Boathouse in Xlendi for fish (fresh and very well cooked). If you have a chance go to the Ta' Mena farm which is located on the way from Rabat to Marsalforn; you can sample and purchase local fare (we brought olive oil and the tomato paste home with us!); the red wine was very good too. I adore Mgarr ix-Xini as a bay (not the lido part) and our daughter (6) had great fun in the sea. The pool meant we could also take it easy and relax at home :)

Do take time to read about Gozo and Malta. Small islands with deep and rich histories. There is lots to do.... if you are willing to! And don't be too frightened by the stories about driving. Take it easy, if you miss your turning Gozo is so small you'll never get properly lost. We found some lovely spots this way! If lost head to the nearest large church = village centre.

If you are thinking of Gozo, look no further. Ta' Rena is an incredible find and exceptional value for money. Enjoy your holiday there!

PS my husband was sorry when it was time to leave. It was one of his all-time favourite holidays.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property was excellent, clean, everything worked and the location (and view) excellent
Liked least: Leaving?!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxedst...
edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blissed out relaxation”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 for a stay in May 2013

I have stayed here 3 years in a row now perfect for recharging well appointed spacious and cool interior perfect for when heat one of terraces gets too much although the pool is perfect for cooling down.open unobsructed views perfect for relaxing and getting all over tan .Square is within walking distance and great fresh pizza shop was pretty good.Cant fault it at all excellent service and home from home.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger C
Broxburn
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Well furnished accommodation with fabulous views and very professional backup service”
Reviewed 13 February 2014 for a stay in October 2013

We found Ta Rena relaxing and peaceful The house had all we needed, the kitchen was well equipped and the lounge dining area very comfortable. We used the double bedroom with en suite on the first floor, very comfortable with a king size bed. There were 2 twin / double bedrooms and a bathroom on the ground floor, and whilst we did not use these, they all were clean and well furnished. Our weather was very good for Oct ( @ 23C) so we welcomed the air conditioning and of course use of the pool outside the lounge. Marvellous with plenty of loungers and a great BBQ which we used on several evenings.
We hired a car and it was very easy to get around, plenty to see, beaches, churches, good supermarkets etc. And all this was made very easy by Peter who continually called to see we were ok, helped us with directions to places to visit and above all arranged our smooth transfer from Malta Airport to Ta Rena and back. Nothing was too much trouble for him.
All in all we had a great break and I can throughly recommend this farmhouse as an ideal place to stay. I will definitely return. June Foster

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilities, the peace and quiet and the views
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah R
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house with wonderful views!”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Ta Rena is a wonderful place to stay. On arrival the house surpassed our expectations and we were happy to call it home for our stay. The house is well equipped, clean and spacious and the air conditioning in the bedrooms helped us all sleep soundly! The pool area is lovely and we enjoyed many evening dips watching the sunset and the magnificent views from both the pool and the upper terrace. It's a prime location during Festa time and we saw many firework displays from the terrace. Julia was fantastic at answering any queries we had from the UK and Peter has all the local knowlege for Gozo - even which area of Ramla beach has the fewest pebbles (the right hand side), nothing is a problem for them. Through Julia, we arranged transfers from the Airport and car hire from the villa and that took any stress out of the journey. I cannot recommend both Ta Rena and Gozo highly enough for a family holiday. The swimming is fantastic, driving round the island is easy and everyone we met was so friendly. See you next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sunset from the top terrace and evening swims
Liked least: Can't fault a thing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger B
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant winter break”
Reviewed 30 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Just returned from a relaxing few weeks at Ta Rena. As noted in other reviews, the accomodation is comfortable and quiet. Nights can be chilly at this time of the year, but extra heating was provided and Peter, the local 'manager' was always on hand to make sure we were settled in OK.
The number of tourists is quite small at this time of the year, but many restaurants are open out of season and all the usual facilities (shops etc.) available. As we wanted to completely 'chill', instead of hiring a car we used the local bus service which is efficient and cheap (12 euros for a weekly pass). A great antidote to the British winter - highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Feb 2013
Good Afternoon Roger

I very much appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience and share your feedback. I was at the house just before you arrived for the same reason - to get away from the climate here. I did feel the house was cool and although we had heating in the rooms, I felt we needed an extra boost. Hence the gas heater. I hope we may welcome more guests for winter breaks as Gozo has a lot to offer out of season.

Peter is a gem and I keep in touch regularly especially whilst guests are staying to check every thing is OK. I know we had a problem with the kettle triping the electrics but believe its fine now.

I really hope we can welcome you back in the winter or summer months and thank you for choosing to stay at Ta Rena.

Hope we'll see you again in the near future and that you will bring many more fiends!

Kind regards

Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing