We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Trip.com
US$185
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/08
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
FindHotelUS$244
View all 18 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 415)
Filter reviews
1 415 results
Traveller rating
1 067
248
59
31
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 067
248
59
31
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tasting beautiful hotel indoor pool main restaurant grounds are lovely restored convent old building highlight of our trip tour of the property alentejo region stayed longer convento chapel history evora century countryside
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1 415 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2020

A beautiful building and setting awaits. Fabulous gardens and open spaces with good facilities, especially the outdoor pool and surrounding lawn areas.Spacious well proportioned room with beautiful views across the gardens and surrounding farmland. Breakfast was managed well given the current social distancing and other restrictions. All staff were very aware and were extremely quick in politely reminding guests of the need for masks when leaving the dining table in between courses. Restaurant staff were all good, as we have come to expect from fabulous Portuguese hospitality, but every now and then we come across the exceptional and on this occasion that recognition goes to Susana D. Such a lovely, genuinely warm, helpful young lady with the ability to seemingly smile through her eyes (mandatory mask). A real credit to the team at the Convento . The complimentary wine tasting and tour of the Convent were a bonus as was the culinary event that took place during our visit - a truly unforgettable gastronomical experience that just happened to coincide with my wife’s birthday - huge thanks also for the surprise bottle of sparkling wine. Negatives? Very few, the cumbersome ridiculously heavy, awkward patio door in the room. Oh and the door card entry system is utter pants, during our seven night stay our key cards had to be replaced on at least three separate occasions and if you are ever fortunate enough to visit this fabulous establishment you’ll understand why it was so frustrating (distance to reception!) . We hope to return whenever the opportunity arises. Thank you for a great stay.

Room tip: Executive Design rooms very good, first floor to fully appreciate views
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rawstylus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filipa Oliveira, Other at Convento do Espinheiro, Historic Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2021

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro and for your absolutely wonderful review which has made us so proud. We have made sure also to share your kind words with Susana, who was delighted :-)
We truly hope that we may have the chance to welcome you back to Évora.
With our best wishes,
Filipa oliveira
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2020 via mobile

The hotel is wonderful very well preserved. The pool area is amazing. Staffs were friendly and helpful. The rooms are very beautiful and comfortable. Food was very good also the breakfast. For sure we will come back with family and spend more time there

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank faby424
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 September 2020

Stayed for two nights, and wished i could have stayed longer. Beautiful place, with a wonderful pool area, and very friendly staff. Located about 5 minutes drive from Evora. The room was very nice, clean, with comfortable beds and a nice balcony with a garden view. Hand sanitizer available throughout the hotel and one had to wear masks indoors (the usual measures due to the pandemic). Assisted buffet breakfast (again, due to the current situation), with plenty to choose from. Had a couple of meals at the pool bar, all good quality. Also ate at the Italian restaurant and was pretty happy with the meal.
Overall, would like to congratulate the staff for going above and beyond in making their guests feel welcome and comfortable (a special mention to Carlos, at the front desk - very friendly and helpful). Do visit this place if you get the chance. It´s the perfect place to relax.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mariana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 August 2020 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel. It is full of history and charm. They even gave us a tour and winetasting, but this was right before covid came out.
Breakfast was fabulous and service too!
We even saw bunnies on grounds which was so cool.
I loved the chapel they restored.
It is a perfect couples place!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank TH_Richmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filipa Oliveira, Outro at Convento do Espinheiro, Historic Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2020

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro and for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the chance of welcoming you back soon.
Kindest regards,
Filipa Oliveira
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2020

We have stayed at the Convento before for just one night and decided to treat ourselves to a two night weekend stay following it's re-opening after the Covid-19 lock down.
The hotel is beautiful, and the perfect place for a relaxing stay, but we did find a few small "problems" not the fault of the hotel itself but brought on by changes necessitated to comply with Covid-19 safety issues.
Apart from guests having to use masks in all public areas and of course staff masked all the time making understanding speech difficult, there is the need to limit numbers of guests at breakfast by insisting on specific timed reservations. Thus when we checked in on Friday afternoon we were asked for our chosen time for breakfast on Saturday and Sunday morning which could be inconvenient.
The hotel continues with a buffet type breakfast as before but that now is a served buffet which is simply not workable in our experience as each guest has their chosen breakfast choices served by one or two staff behind the buffet. This leads to queues and delays as guests wait to be attended. We do not know the answer to this as it seems a table d'hote type breakfast service was tried but was not liked by guests. It is clear that the "new normal" following the virus outbreak is causing big problems in the hotel industry!

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 356nigelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filipa Oliveira, Other at Convento do Espinheiro, Historic Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2020

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for returning to Convento do Espinheiro and for taking the time to share your valuable feedback. We regret that all the measure that we have had to take are affecting your experience and we understand your point of view. At the moment, although these measures must be maintained, we promise that we shall do our very best to come up with a solution to lessen their impact, for example, during breakfast.
Thank you again for your constructive feedback an dwe would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Filipa Oliveira
Operations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews