We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$104
View deal
Expedia.com
US$98
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/05/15
Agoda.com
US$104
US$76
View deal
SAVE US$28
Hotels.comUS$98
PricelineUS$88
eDreamsUS$104
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 315)
Filter reviews
1 315 results
Traveller rating
616
500
162
25
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
616
500
162
25
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the barn micro brewery tsitsikamma village lamb curry oude martha lovely setting national park friendly service a wonderful stay beautiful place south africa irma hunters accommodation diner activities canopy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
514 - 519 of 1 315 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2016

We have been visiting this Hotel over a period of 34 years and every time we have visited it has been really good. This time we met the new owner and we have to admit everything has only improved. The food and presentation was fantastic and so was everything else. Can only speak highly of your staff and a friend we brought with was totally impressed. Please keep it up! As Pensioners now we found your prices very good. We will certainly be back shortly!

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank abdagnin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageInnHotel, Owner at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Hello from the village!

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us in such a lovely review, we are so pleased to hear that your experience at our special place has only improved with time.

We appreciate your special mention of our staff, as great service is something we pride ourselves on :) It always makes us happy to hear that our quality and presentation of the food at our restaurant has made such an impression!

We cannot wait to have you visit again soon, and we hope that you have traveled home safely!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016

Beautifully set around a village green concept, this hotel exudes character like no other. Each "room" is in a unique Cape time period house. The central building, developed around a nineteenth century "hunting box", contains beautiful lounges, restaurants, bars, and terraces. The setting is extraordinary, with mountains behind you, a small village set in a forest around you, and dramatic Storms River mouth coast a short drive (or bike ride) away. Chris is an old world "mein host", happy to move from table to table in the mornings and evenings and give you detailed tips on how to get the most out of your stay in the area. He is filled with energy, zeal, and love for his hotel, micro brewery, diner, and the area in general. A stay here is the ideal antidote to the featureless chain hotels that dominate tourism today.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A2988LCscottt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageInnHotel, Owner at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us in such a lovely review, your kind words about our special place is greatly appreciated!

We are so happy to hear that you have enjoyed every little detail that makes our place unique - this is an experience we work hard to give our guests :) '

Thank you again for your wonderful feedback, and we hope that we will have the pleasure of seeing you again in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the "honeymoon suite" for 3 nights in July. We loved everything about this hotel. Great buffet breakfast - lots of fresh baked goodies and even the coffee is not bad! We had dinner in Hunters Pub all 3 nights and was not disappointed we recommend the lamb curry, lamb chops and marinated chicken.
Our room was really comfortable- electric blankets, heater and a great bath, which was great as we were there during a cold snap.
As this is not a 5 star chain hotel do not expect everything to be perfectly operational. So yes the wifi is glitchy and the credit card machine was broken when we tried to pay. But these things happen in small privately owned hotels. What makes these kinds of properties excellent is the service - genuine, honest, helpful. That is priceless.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DakiniD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageInnHotel, Owner at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Hello from the village!

Thank you so much for taking the tome to review your experience with us, your positive feedback on your stay with us is greatly appreciated! Nothing makes us happier than hearing that our guests have had an enjoyable, memorable stay from check in to check out.

Thank you for making special mention of our service, as this is something we pride ourselves on at the Tsitsikamma Village Inn :)

We hope that you have traveled home safely, and that we will have the pleasure of seeing you again in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

Delightful, beautifully decorated, comfortable room, friendly service and delicious breakfast! Highly recommended. Very reasonably priced, unique collection of cottages in various Cape architectural styles. The electric blankets were a blessing on a cold winter night.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Swartseun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageInnHotel, Owner at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our special place, we are so happy to hear that you have enjoyed the village life experience! The electric blankets are an absolute must on these chilly nights, and we're pleased to hear that your stay has been comfortable and enjoyable regardless of the weather. Thank you again for your kind words and for your recommendation, and we hope that we will have the pleasure of seeing you again in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016

Our family of 4 booked the awesome foursome package which include 2 nights stay with wonderful breakfast in the morning. It also includes a Segway ride through part of the forest which we all enjoyed very much, the boys especially liked the race across the rugby field on the Segways. Also included was ziplining across the Kruis river nearby and a burger at the nearby sixties restaurant. Only complaint was their admin in confirming that we paid a deposit and then they could also not find payment we did on arrival 2 days later. They also did not inform us that restaurant close at 5 on Sunday so we will use our burger voucher on the way back home when we pass by again. Accommodation was basic with double bed, single bed and mattress on floor in one room, but 2 beds have electric blanket. Toiletries, shampoo etc, towels and wifi also provided.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lourensb247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageInnHotel, Owner at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience with us at the diner, we are so happy to hear that you and your family have enjoyed the activities included in the Awesome Foursome package, it is a great experience to have altogether.

Apologies for the miscommunication regarding the times of the diner and your payment made, we hope that this has not tainted your experience with us in the village.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope that we will have the pleasure of seeing you again in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews