We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best Villa on Samui! A 5 STAR VILLA”
other travellers have booked this property
Villa and Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa and Pool
Pool with Jacuzzi Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Villa and Pool
Pool with Jacuzzi
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Toilet and Rain-Shower
Living and Chill Area
Pool Table
Huge 8 Seat Dining Table
Fully equipped,modern kitchen
Garden Sala
Garden Sala
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bophut, Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Amalie A
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Villa on Samui! A 5 STAR VILLA”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014
6
people found this review helpful

We come to Samui for many years now. We stayed in many many Villas. But Villa Blackbeard is simply the best! The Design, cleanliness, fittings and high end professional service (Villa Manager and Maid) made our stay unforgettable. It´s a truely romantic and peaceful place. The Villa is located in the Bophut Hills close to the golf course. Beautiful views to Chaweng Beach and the Bophut Valley.
You need a car because the Villa is located in the Bophut Hills. The Villa manager organized a very good new car for a very cheap price. The car was brought and picked up from the Villa so we did not have to arrange anything. In any way you will need a car on the island to explore and get to the best beaches which are all around the island.
Don´t miss the Sunset on the West Cost! Incredible beautiful and romantic. We suggest to have a Sun Downer @ famous Beach Club Nikki Beach! A 100% cool and hip place.
We already plan our next trip and stay in Villa Blackbeard. THX THX THX!

Travelling group: Freunden
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gcs1875
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bad end to our Honeymoon”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
9
people found this review helpful

First and foremost I would like to say that the villa from outside is very appealing and does look like pure luxury. We did enjoy our stay but worked round the omissions, the flaws with the villa and did spend most of our time out of the villa with our wedding guests. We booked this thinking it would be perfect for our wedding and honeymoon. Far from it.

I would also like to admit we did lose a key and due to window being open a lampshade was damaged.

In terms of complaints re the rental and owners, I have listed below.

1. Nobody picked us up at airport. Advised that their Apple Mac did not display correct times. We had to pay taxi to villa and take a chance that somebody was around. After an hour in the baking heat, I found the temporary manager. We then had access.

2. The villa does not have all that is advertised on their website or Facebook page.

- No Sky/Cable
- No minibar
- No bathrobes
- No jacuzzi bath tub
- No microwave

There is no dishwasher, agreed it's not advertised but a rental of this cost should. I have since found that it is advertised on Trip Advisor.

3. The villa has 3 safes. One is locked and cannot be used. One is not fixed but valuables can be stored! The other proved problematic and we were a able to gain access to all our money, passports, all valuables!!!

4. The upper area in the villa is almost unusable due to no aircon and is essentially a sauna. This was only used in the morning to have breakfast and never used at night.

5. The villa needs a good clean, paint and substantial overhaul to merit the money being charged.

6. Electricity is charged above the rental and we were shocked when asked for a further 200 euro. Energy prices in Thailand appear to be more expensive than Europe and Australia. We were charged 10 baht (20 pence/33 Aus cent) per unit which appears to be all most 3 times the rate inclusive of VAT. The average rate appears to be 3.75 baht per unit.

7. We were asked to pay 300 euro to replace 3 lampshades, as one had been damaged by the wind and then cut by the cleaner! We were advised that these were costly shades from Bali and new!! Then the other owning party advises they were 6 years old. We were happy to pay but these costs are ridiculous.

8. The villa is advertised as a 6 person villa but two of the bedrooms adjoin making it slightly uncomfortable for two couples. I would suggest it's only a 2 couple and 2 kids rental.

9. Sunbathing only accommodates 2 people, as only two sun beds.

10. Given the location of the villa and the greenery, it's very hard to sunbath and is not ideal if you plan to try and get a tan.

11. The pool was murky and rather unpleasant to swim in. This was advised but brown water is really not appealing to swim in.

12. Rubbish has to be removed and transported to ring road, as no bins to store or removal by maid. This is down to you.

13. On our final day we expected to pay for the misplaced key/new lock cleaning, electricity and the single lampshade. The temporary villa manger under instruction from owner in Budapest advised that if we didn't agree they would keep full deposit. My wife was party to these rather unpleasant emails/texts between Thai villa manager and owner. We were not happy with the costs which essentially retained our 1000 euros.

I want to make it clear that we offered to pay and my wife's parents are witnesses to this but payment or a fair agreed position other than full retention was not forthcoming. These owners are not to he trusted and deem themselves to be business people. I can assure you that they only have one thing in mind which is to con and retain your deposit up and above the rental. My advice is steer clear of this villa and villa Barbossa.

I fully expect a response from the owners, contradicting the picture I have painted. However I have 28 wedding guests who visited over our stay, who will verify and substantiate my review. There are other reviews which are of a similar vain and I suggest you need to make your own call. I am well travelled and have never encountered such a bad experience as this.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2014
Hello i´m the owner and herby i tell my side of the story with a real and fair feedback on this issue.

First off all I have to say that i was not on the island and my villa manager took care about the guests. Some days after the guests checked in i was informed by the villa manager that the guests lost the key from the villa main entrance door. Second, shortly later i was informed by the pool guy, the gardener and the villa manager that there was a big party in the villa and many broken glass, bottles etc. was everywhere in the pool and in the garden. Third, again shortly later i was informed that the guests broke furniture/items in the Villa.

I guess everybody can understand from an owner point of view that such guests are not the most favorite guests you can have in your villa. But as i own many villas on samui and many properties all over the world i tried to handle the issues in a professional fair and easy way for both sides. I guess it´s clear for everybody if you damage or break something you rent that you have to pay for it.

Sorry that i have to write! But unfortunately my Villa Manager told me that it was nearly impossible to talk in a normal way to the guests as he/they have been drunk all the time.

At Check out the guests refused to pay the real costs for electricity, final cleaning fee, broken lamps and the lost key. They only offered to pay a total sum of 10.000 THB (appr. 250 Euro) and if we won´t accept this they will post a bad review about us and the villa. After that statement threat the villa manager (which was in contact via Line with us during that time) and we decided not to give back any deposit. First because of the threat statement and second as the open amounts were nearly the amount of the kept deposit: Appr. 250 Euro (Electricity), 130 Euro (New Lock), 149 Euro Cleaning Fee, 300 Euro to replace the new lamp(s). So hardly any money was left from the deposit. Then the guests became violent against our villa manager and they took her bag. After they went back in the villa, locked all doors of all rooms, turned on the aircon in every room and left the Villa with the car of their parents with all the villa keys, from the safe and the housemaid keys. Due to their violent act agains our villa manager and all the keys they took with them we now have much higher costs as any left deposit. This is the real picture.

Regarding the mentioned points in the review:

1. The guests gave us wrong arrival details. This was not our fault.

2.
- There is a big media movie database in the Villa and there is s SMART TV so you can nearly watch all movies in the world you want to watch via SMART TV

- Minibar is available but Guests did not check the wardrobe where the minibar is

- No Bathrobes after this guests left oh yeah because the took it (stole it)

- The Jacuzzi is in the pool but the guests did not ask the pool guy how to turn it on

- Microwave is available but the guest did not check it

- There is no dishwasher because the maid is washing all the dishes for you!

3. Because the guests have been drunk all the time they were not able to understand how the safe system is working! NO other guests had any problems with the safe.

4. The upper level is a loft style bali open living concept with 3 big fans. This is the style of this villa and till now every guest enjoyed it. I never heard something that it is too hot, too cold or something like that?

5. The villa is in very good high end luxury condition. You can easy read all other positive reviews about the villa. Nobody wrote something like that.

6. Of course electricity is charged by real consumption. This is clearly written in the property description. If you use the aircons in a normal way and not 24/7 when you are not in the villa the electricity is appr. 10 USD/Day. But this guests let it run 24/7 even if they are not in the villa. We only charge the same rate as also we have to pay which is 10 THB per unit. The information that in Thailand the electricity unit is only 3.75 THB is simply wrong as this is the government rate for thai people and only directly on the main road! Private villas have their own lines, transformator etc. and have to pay appr. 10 THB/unit. This is the rate which usually every villa owner on the island is charging the guests. We also offer a flat rate electricity per day to the guests.

7. The broken lamp was one lamp of three in a row above the dinner table. So we told them if we are not able to find the same lamp we have to buy and replace 3 new ones and of course they have to pay for the lamps and the work. As this lamps are imported from bali the costs for buying and replacing would be around 300 Euro. This are the real costs and not any overcharge!

8. The villa is a fully 3 bedroom villa. All rooms are separate.

9. Yes there are 2 sunbeds in the garden. There are many other possibilities around the pool to lie down and relax. Just have a look at the pool pictures.

10. Till 3 p.m. you will find many sunny places to get tanned in the garden and pool. It´s up to you if you want to get tanned or not.

11. Yes the pool was not clear because of the big pool party with all the beer and alcohol inside from the guests own party. An impudence to write something like that because we had to change all the pool water due to the pool party excess.

12. Yes the rubbish must be brought to the main street. But if you don´t have a car the maid will do it for you of course. I never heard from any guests that it was a problem…

13. All is written at the beginning of my feedback about point no. 13 on check out of this guests!

Important: From now we don´t ask for any more Cash Deposit Payment to show that we are 100% serious and not looking to try to withheld any deposit. From now Holidaylettings will keep the Deposit directly when you book. So if there are any troubles all can be handled in a fair and easy way via Holidaylettings as the third party trusted service provider.

Usually 99% from the guests never damaged anything in the Villa! And if then it was only a glass etc. for which of course we will not charge anything. Please read our other reviews and you can make your own picture who is right and who is wrong in that case.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A NICE AND BIG HIGH END LUXURY PLACE”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
9
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Villa Blackbeard for 3 nights this month. Location: TOP, Nearby Beaches: TOP, Villa: Outstanding! This is probably the most beautiful Villa we have ever been in Thailand! The price performance ratio is unbeatable. When we arrived we couldn´t believe that all this is ours for our stay. Villa Blackbeard is a big luxury designer Villa with a lush tropical garden, a big pool and a loft style living area from where you have a very nice Seaview to Chaweng Beach. The villa was very clean and in perfect condition. If you love luxury and style this is the place you should stay on Samui. I can recommend without any doubt to anybody!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary F
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ROMANTIC, SEAVIEW and close to the best beaches - The perfect island Getaway”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
7
people found this review helpful

I´m and expat working for a big company in Bangkok. I and my girlfriend stayed in Villa Blackbeard 4 nights for a longer weekend. The Villa is the perfect Island Getaway. Secluded in the rainforest and coconut hills of Bophut but still close to everything you can enjoy fully privacy and a very romantic villa with very nice seaview. We got daily maid service inclusive a very good and lovely made breakfast. A big thank to Kylee, the villa manager! She really took care about us and arranged everything for a more then perfect stay! 150% Satisfaction! See ya soon because it´s only a 1 hour flight from BKK ;-)...

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marko L
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Incredibly beautiful sea view Villa with a gorgeous pool and light”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 for a stay in January 2014
8
people found this review helpful

Another great holiday in Samui. The right place and the perfect villa. Seaview, close to everything and a very lovely and peacful place. The lightning and the pool of this villa are gorgeous!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing